Thread: Shels statement

Shels statement

Shels release statement

May 23, 2005

"On behalf of all Shelbourne supporters the Official Shelbourne Supporters Club wishes to make clear that absolutely none of our members or other supporters of our club were involved in any clashes with any Linfield supporters, before during or after last Saturday's Setanta Cup Final inTolka Park.

Shelbourne supporters have a long and proud tradition of exemplary behavior at all matches both at home and in our travels throughout Ireland and across Europe. We deeply resent and reject reports carried by some elements of the media that any Shelbourne supporters took part in any of the confrontations or violent attacks on Linfield supporters.

We have received numerous reports from many of our supporters who witnessed these attacks on the Linfield fans, by thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC.

Shelbourne supporters have always gone out of their way to foster good relationships with supporters of other clubs particularly those from outside our own league or from Europe. Before last Saturdays final, we invited about forty Linfield supporters into our club bar to watch the English FA Cup Final on TV with us. This was a huge success and we have received invitations to join them and avail of their hospitality, the next time we return to play in Windsor Park."

This is a whole new low, even by Olly's standards, and what's worse a large section of the media will swallow it (going by this mornings Indo they already have). Any decent minded Shels fan should see just what a pathetic little man he really is, and should be ashamed that somebody like this could be in charge of their club. Ironic that a club which always tries to attract the support of other eircom league clubs when they are in Europe are now doing their best to become to most despised club among those same people.

Shame on you Olly, and anyone else who condones this statement.
    Ireland: Discovered!

Quote Originally Posted by manic da hoop
    This is a whole new low, even by Olly's standards, and what's worse a large section of the media will swallow it (going by this mornings Indo they already have). Any decent minded Shels fan should see just what a pathetic little man he really is, and should be ashamed that somebody like this could be in charge of their club. Ironic that a club which always tries to attract the support of other eircom league clubs when they are in Europe are now doing their best to become to most despised club among those same people.

I'd echo that. It's pathetic, it really is

Anyone see what might have happened before the game? I parked near the Linfield entrance of Richmond Road and didn't see anything, but I was late and there was a huge Garda presence around.

"by thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC. "

which is it oily? get your facts straight before throwing accusations about.

this is why he is trying to have us thrown out of senior football completly!!!

very few us us have seen the inside of a cell ollie

well i arrived about 5pm and parked just down the road beside the garage, and walked up to the ground, and there was only a few (4-5 max) of the garda around, but they were more than friendly in talking to us, telling us about where everything was within the ground, and as shels fans filtered down to tolka, they also were more than welcoming and stood and talked to us outside at the big double red gates beside the entrance to the riverside stand where we were.

there was a couple (no more than 3-4) rovers fans also walked past, and i had a little chat with them (over lee feeney etc), and a linfield idiot was walking down the road andshouted something like"what you wearing that F****n celtic shirt for?" and he openly turned round and showed it was a rovers shirt and the linfield fan apologised, and the garda quickly asked them to move on as they didnt seem to fond of having someone in a "celtic look a like shirt" hanging around our end. but there was no trouble i seen outside. i was made to feel more than welcome by shels and them few rovers fans.

and the difference between the shirts you can see a mile away. am i right in saying celtic shirts have the hoops on the sleeves and rovers ones have plain white sleeves?
    Inagural Setanta Cup Winners 2005

No One Likes Us... We Dont Care...

Quote Originally Posted by Blue_Daz
    and the difference between the shirts you can see a mile away. am i right in saying celtic shirts have the hoops on the sleeves and rovers ones have plain white sleeves?
    if you can see it a mile away why do you have to ask?

http://www.dafc.net/pictures/picture..._shamrock2.jpg

http://www2.raisport.rai.it/news/spo...icLarsson3.jpg
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

i was just making sure.... thats all
    Inagural Setanta Cup Winners 2005

No One Likes Us... We Dont Care...

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac
    if you can see it a mile away why do you have to ask?

http://www.dafc.net/pictures/picture..._shamrock2.jpg
    Well that's so out of date it's of no use in telling the difference. Unless Richie Byrne has re-signed for us.

Anyway, the point is that Fintan Cassidy and Ollie Byrne have gone too far with this staement and there will be (legal) retribution. You're not dealing with patsys like Maguire anymore.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Well that's so out of date it's of no use in telling the difference. Unless Richie Byrne has re-signed for us.
    you all have bright shiney new jersies yeah?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by manic da hoop
    Shels release statement

May 23, 2005

"On behalf of all Shelbourne supporters the Official Shelbourne Supporters Club wishes to make clear that absolutely none of our members or other supporters of our club were involved in any clashes with any Linfield supporters, before during or after last Saturday's Setanta Cup Final inTolka Park.

Shelbourne supporters have a long and proud tradition of exemplary behavior at all matches both at home and in our travels throughout Ireland and across Europe. We deeply resent and reject reports carried by some elements of the media that any Shelbourne supporters took part in any of the confrontations or violent attacks on Linfield supporters.

We have received numerous reports from many of our supporters who witnessed these attacks on the Linfield fans, by thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC.

Shelbourne supporters have always gone out of their way to foster good relationships with supporters of other clubs particularly those from outside our own league or from Europe. Before last Saturdays final, we invited about forty Linfield supporters into our club bar to watch the English FA Cup Final on TV with us. This was a huge success and we have received invitations to join them and avail of their hospitality, the next time we return to play in Windsor Park."

This will probably do EVERYONE (incl Shels) more damage than good.

It draws the media's attention to what appear to have been minor and isolated incidents of trouble. The media love football violence and football clubs rowing, and Shels have given them a combination of both.

I'm surprised he didn't put out a release to clarify that it wasn't Shelbourne fans making rascist chants at their own player !

Well done Olly....

Tell ye now lads, that pond life Byrne is after that ground in Tallaght. I'd be highly amazed if he hasn't already had talks with the SDCC about it. And in the meantime he'll do all he can to blacken Rovers name and do his best within the FAI to do more damage, making Rovers look to the SDCC as the worst thing that could happen to the Tallaght stadium.

The media have been writing pathetic stories about Linfield and Shelbourne fans getting involved in trouble, he was right to say that was wrong. It WAS eejits in Celtic jersies, I saw that with my own eyes, and there's many claims from Linfield fans of Rovers fans attacking them with a glass bottle before the match. If that's true he's right on both counts. He being whoever released that statement on behalf of the supporters club, ie very unlikely it's Olly Byrne but sure do you need a reason now to be outraged over him?

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac
    you all have bright shiney new jersies yeah?
    Sure do - http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/images/...2005_large.jpg

The one you posted is 2 jersies ago. Again, the point is that no matter what Slash/ED or anyone else says, you can't go around defaming people for the sake of it. If you stand over that statement you should be ashamed.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Sure do - http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/images/...2005_large.jpg

The one you posted is 2 jersies ago. Again, the point is that no matter what Slash/ED or anyone else says, you can't go around defaming people for the sake of it. If you stand over that statement you should be ashamed.

The statement says "Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC" It defamed "Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC" not all Rovers fans, not all Celtic fans, just those "Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC". It doesn't even say they were Rovers or Celtic fans, it just says "Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC". Which is completley spot on.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    The statement says "Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC" It defamed "Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC" not all Rovers fans, not all Celtic fans, just those "Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC". It doesn't even say they were Rovers or Celtic fans, it just says "Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC". Which is completley spot on.
    If thats the case could it of been Yeovil Town or Sporting L too ??

If they fool who wrote the piece doesn't even know if it was Rovers or Celtic then why name either in the first place. Who was the nameless person who made a fool out of himself with that ??

Quote Originally Posted by joeraki
    If thats the case could it of been Yeovil Town or Sporting L too ??

If they fool who wrote the piece doesn't even know if it was Rovers or Celtic then why name either in the first place. Who was the nameless person who made a fool out of himself with that ??
    Yeovil Town and Sporting L wear jersies with Rovers crests spnsored by Woodies do they?

He does know, it was both of them, it was just poorly worded. It wasn't one or the other it was both.

Yeovil Town and Sporting L wear jersies with Rovers crests spnsored by Woodies do they?

He does know, it was both of them, it was just poorly worded. It wasn't one or the other it was both.
    First your on here defending him saying he's blaming neither, they you reply back saying he knew it was both. Thats not poorly worded, thats just written from someone who hasn't a clue. Ollie's lapdogs

Quote Originally Posted by joeraki
    First your on here defending him saying he's blaming neither, they you reply back saying he knew it was both. Thats not poorly worded, thats just written from someone who hasn't a clue. Ollie's lapdogs
    What in the name of jaysus are you whittering on about?

I said he (Not Ollie btw, but carry on being outraged over something he hasn't said it's a good laugh) said it was Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC that caused the trouble, not every Rovers or Celtic fan is a thug, just that Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC were there to cause trouble and guess what? Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC were there to cause trouble. The statement clearly means it was both, not one or the other they aren't sure, it's just poorly worded. And believe me, Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC were there to cause trouble, that is beyond dispute, both during and before the match.

What in the name of jaysus are you whittering on about?

I said he (Not Ollie btw, but carry on being outraged over something he hasn't said it's a good laugh) said it was Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC that caused the trouble, not every Rovers or Celtic fan is a thug, just that Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC were there to cause trouble and guess what? Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC were there to cause trouble. The statement clearly means it was both, not one or the other they aren't sure, it's just poorly worded. And believe me, .
    I'm not outraged just having a laugh at the incompetence that runs the Shels SC. If they can't even word a simple statement, then they haven't really a got a clue have they. Never said it was Ollie. I did say nameless bloke

Or means: uncertainty, indefiniteness, alternatives. The person quite rightly was uncertain of who it was so covered all bases.

Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC were there to cause trouble, that is beyond dispute, both during and before the match
    I thought colours of that sort where banned at the gate going into the ground as I've seen on various sites and the papers ?? I think your just making this up as you go along

I'm to admit I bought Daily Mail/Ireland on Sunday yesterday. Most of news page given to row in Berties pub. Compare that to the size of match report. Tiny three column affair with small photo beside it. Again, deadlines for match report not an excuse as, obviously, row was after game and almost a full page given to it.
    Emphasise the negative on football. I'm so sick of it and will not buy that paper ever again, especially with wnaker's like Donal Keenan in it.
    Sorry if this is off thread a bit.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast