Thread: The Great Green Bobble Hat Thread

3,491 Posts

The Great Green Bobble Hat Thread

Seeing as these are more difficult to come by than you'd imagine, going to start a thread for people to post up where they've been seen so others can get them. Probably one of the more bizarre threads here in a while, but sure nuts to it!

They're in Carrolls as a set with a scarf - think it's E12 or something. Celtic hats are there, but for reasons which have been gone into umpteen times before here, I think Ireland hats would be better... Nothing in Read's or Trinity Sweaters on Nassau Street bar a hat which is way too small. I picked up four in Grafton Crafts on Grafton Street - E5.95 each, two for a tenner. They have the IRFU crest on them as well, but sure, can't have everything! I had one myself all along too, so I have two over, so I'll bring them along and try and flog them (at cost (E5), obviously).

There's plenty of dark green ones, which is a bit annoying. Think the bright (jersey colour) green is much better.

89 Posts
    http://www.toffs.com/Products/Miscel...arves/8503.htm

Old skool!!!!!

Ask and thou shall receive
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

I have found my old Ireland bobble hat, its being packed first.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

I am going a major search for a bobble hat or 10. Gonna check out Berwick street market at lunch. Will also see what i can get at the weekend in Glasgow. I will get as many as I can. 2 weeks today, bring it on

I've also got a nice Dart Vader mask which goes well with the bobble hat.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by sylvo
    I've also got a nice Dart Vader mask which goes well with the bobble hat.
    And a tri colour scream mask.

30 Posts
    If whoever is getting them can get me 1
    I will sort ye out with the cash whenever

3,491 Posts
    You're heading via Gatwick on the Sunday, aren't you? Can sort you out then if you want - on the same flight.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    You're heading via Gatwick on the Sunday, aren't you? Can sort you out then if you want - on the same flight.
    have you one or two of the irfu hats goin spare?
    if you have another I would happily take it off your hands, as had no luck here over the weekend

Pete

3,491 Posts
    Would have one more spare, yep.

Just realised looking at the link Maribor posted that the hats I have technically don't have bobbles, but apart from that minor technicality, they're grand...!

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    Great stuff lads . . . but before this turns into one of the greatest Irish away support stories ever . . . I'd just like to claim the credit for posting this idea up four months ago. See ye in Torshavn very very soon . . . for sure ya!!!!
    Cheers - I'd forgotten who exactly had come up with the idea in the first place!

For the newbies (or the confused!), this is to honour the long-serving Faroese keeper who always wears a bobble hat playing games. It'll look cool if we pull it off! Plus it'll increase our chances of getting on telly!

Just realised looking at the link Maribor posted that the hats I have technically don't have bobbles, but apart from that minor technicality, they're grand...!
    OK, I will take that one off your hands,

and I will try and source some bobbles. IIRC my ma can make them, may get her to throw a bundle into an envelope. how the hell we get them onto the hats is another thing but "have bobbles will travel" sounds like a plan to me

Pete

Im keeping my fingers crossed for getting a couple at the weekend. Either at Celtic, or at a market (el cheapo ones will do)

Oh and for anyone who might be interested, i shall be travelling with the obligatory green white and orange face paints. Worked wonders in Paris. Had a queue going in Corcorons for fellas getting tri colours on their foreheads, great fun
    They are there for anyone who wants them

An incredibly generous and thoughtful person sent me a bobble hat in the post today. It's the dogs undercarriage!
    From Toffs and it does have a bobble.
    Thank you, Mrs. Clause!

89 Posts

Look at the pic again- they do!

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    I know they do - mine don't, though!

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    I have one in my hand, they definitely do.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I have one in my hand, they definitely do.
    You should take a picture of you in your lovely new hat and show us!!
    You can be our model

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    You should take a picture of you in your lovely new hat
    Don't have a camera.
    There's a picture on the website.
    One of the guys has a link a few posts up.
    All the info on the hats is there.

89 Posts
    http://www.spreadshirt.net/shop.php?...id=1211591#top

I can do bobble hats in this new shop

We can customise the text for the venture?