I have to say I'm very surprised you've played so badly lot more of the ball in the 2nd half but no real penatration. Not at the game??Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
Referee is shocking. He just encouraging a dangerous tackle.
Mostly shels now. Linfield could catch them on the break though.
I have to say I'm very surprised you've played so badly lot more of the ball in the 2nd half but no real penatration. Not at the game??Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
Byrne off for an off the ball incident, Moore of for dissent Crazy!!!!
Rhona Daly again ???
Fulltime 2-0. Fully deserved. Shels barely had shot on target in the 2nd half.
5 minutes of injury time.
shels down to 9 Men!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jason Byrne got yellow for something said to ref & then Rhona Daly saw him elbowing Linfield player for 2nd yellow. Moore got straight red card for something!
Shels really are bitchy team when they lose. No one likes a good loser but should be able to lose to dignity.
Dissapointed and surprised to see an IL team win this still think the EL is stronger though. City and Cork really have a chance this year, $hels don't seem to have the consistency of last season.
"The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker
Different tonight was Linfield learned how to defend & really didn'y give Shels much of a chance. Jason Byrne is going backwards & when they lost Baker were missing their main goal threat. Moore is disinterested & Hawkins not the quality of old. Clearly a huge mistake for Fenlon to play Brennan at right back as he wasn't in the game at all.
In 2 horse league race i think shels would win. Important to more than just 1 City challenging.
I think Setanta Cup has shown the potential for an All-Ireland league & this was just year 1.
Nice to see Linfield fans embrassing a united Ireland with their "One team in Ireland" chant![]()
If Shels play like that in the CL qualifiers they'll be lucky to get past the 1st round. Big gamble having such a large well paid full time squad. Already lost €70,000 not winning the final, Fail to get past a round in the CL it could be financial disaster.
i dont think Shels really took this Setanta cup very serious TBF. Its not that important anyways. Dont worry, we will be all sorted for the CL qualifieers
Ah look, they're telling us that they don't care now! If they'd won the damn thing we'd have been listening to them gloating for the next yearOriginally Posted by thejollyrodger
Typical!
Finn Harps Dot Com
www.finnharps.com
Classic, only a Shels fan could come out with a cup final worth €150k is not important. A bit like your players, sore losersOriginally Posted by thejollyrodger
Not like we didn't know before hand but Shels are the worst supported club in Dublin by a country mile. A home game for a cup final against fcukin Linfield and thats all ye could attract, pathetic really and if the CL goes belly up you're in trouble.
Atrocious performance from the "referee". Rhona didn't get a chance to fcuk up today.
Linfield really are not that good. I thought I was back at Turners Cross again watching a Norhternt eam who couldn't belive they were winning put 11 men behind the ball and just hoof.
Blame for this result lies squarely with Fenlon, who decided to field his European formation (you know, the one that's designed to give the opposition a two-goal start.) Fenlon uses Crawford as a kind of comfort blanket, he feels safer with him in the team but there's no discernible rational basis for this belief. Holding midfielder? He holds f*ck all. Selecting Blind Alley Cahill was another gargantuan blunder, as was the introduction of Ryan for Baker (should have brought on Ndo.) And Moore playing up-front?Heary's absence was possibly the single most crucial factor in the entire game (Brennan had a 'mare), but this at least was entirely beyond Fenlon's control.
I know Jammer will give me hell for this, but there's only one word for Jason Byrne, and that word is "bottler." He can rack up as many goals as he likes against relegation fodder, when faced with a serious, tight-marking defence he disappears from the game.
Linfield were terrific, two polished finishes, a staunch rearguard action which denied Shels even the most fleeting glimpse of their net and magnificient support. Sadly, their fans blotted their collective copybook in a big way with some disgusting racial abuse of Ndo, which was clearly audible on TV.
As for the ref - the English lexicon does not harbour any word which could be applied to his performance. Did his level best to ruin what was otherwise by far the more entertaining of the day's televised finals.
A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.
Have $hels fans or officials ever been graceful in defeat. When we drew with them we had Fenlon blaming their bad preformances on "bad pitches" throughout the league. And they wonder why some didn't support them in Europe last year.
"The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker
Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
Post of the Month !!!![]()
That is a classic !!![]()
Pat Fenlon will be even more of a Legend up north now ...
"Here you go boys ..... have €70,000 for yourselves there, make sure i am on you christmas card list !!"
The stadium had to be equally split. The two Shels sections (New Stand/Richmond) were packed.
Both teams were poor. But the better of the two poor teams won, fair do's to them. Baffled by some of Shelbournes play, but I'm too lazy to copy and paste my rant from the Shels board.
None of the rest of you made the final, so sshh![]()
God
E150,000 is very important considering your wage bill.youd be singing a different tune had yous won. jeffries the linfield manager seemed to take it very seriously..but maybe its cause they won it.unlike shels?Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
We didn't even deserve the 80,000 we got for getting to the final, one decent performance the entire competition (Away to Portadown).
Fenlon tactics and team selection were logic defying, Sheridans beaten me to it really, everything he said about selection and subs is spot on.
The ref was sh*t but that's no excuse, fair play to Linfield. As ever a minority of fans lets them down but their team fully deserved the win. They approached the game in a professional manner and were the better team on the night, no two ways of looking at it. I wonder how much 150,000e will mean to them, will they consider looking at full time football even?
The game was well policed, and as far as I know there was no trouble at all other than a few idiots (on both sides to be fair) singing a few songs, nothing they could do about that. I see no reason why we couldn't be having matches like this every week in an all Ireland league.
Hope you dont mind a LFC view of the proceedings.Rushed home from work to catch the game on telly.Thought Shells would have been the better prepared of the two sides,thought the fitness of the fulltime club to be a big factor.In both of these points i find myself to be incorrect(except for Linfield getting a little leg weary late on).Dont need to tell you how delighted i am at the result,but am equally delighted that the game went off without any trouble.
On the whole i think this has been a victory for football on both sides of the border.