Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Australia to leave OFC for Asian federation

Australia to leave OFC for Asian federation

The Asian Football Confederation has approved allowing Australia as a member of the AFC and participant in Asia Cup tournaments and Asian WC qualifiers. Australia thereby hopes to escape the rather weak opposition in Oceania by countries such as New Zealand, Tonga, Cook Islands, Western Samoa, Vanuatu and Fiji.

However, we are far from there. Both FIFA and OFC (Oceanian Football Confederence) still have to approve the move, and very likely New Zealand is going to put their veto against the move.

I think it's a disgrace. Since when is Australia in Asia ?!! What do they want exactly... To make the Oceanian zone a joke where Vanuatu first qualifies for a WC playoff versus Asia's number 5, then to get hammered 20-0 ??
    This is simply ridiculising Oceanian football.

Also, this is all the fault of Sepp Blatter. He promised Oceania a direct qualification spot for the World Cup to gain votes from their members necessary for his re-election as FIFA president. Nice promises such as "football is a mondial sport and Oceania should have a direct qualifier" proved to be empty words which were only intended to gain votes. It's normal that Australia ran out of patience after those empty words...

The ONLY right solution for this is in my opinion to give Oceania what it deserves: a direct spot on the World Cup. It is a continent, and at a World Cup they deserve to have a representant. I know Tonga or Papua New Guinea would only ridiculise themselves when playing Brazil or Italy on a World Cup, but Australia has a decent side worth of participating, and even New Zealand could be a positive surprise. But if the FIFA keeps on treating this continent like midgets, sooner or later New Zealand and Australia will both run off and leave only Fiji, Vanuatu, Tahiti, Cook Islands, Papua NG, Tonga and other tiny isles in the Oceanian competition. Imagine then the winner of that zone losing 20-0 in a World Cup qualifyer playoff versus Korea or the Arab Emirates...

I can only hope New Zealand puts its veto, or it will kill Oceanian football...
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

and we can take in the USA... Bushism: "We have responsabilities towards NATO, we are part of NATO. We have responsabilities towards Europe, we are part of Europe..."

I was kinda attracted to a Kiwi girl, nothing happened though... From what I hear from her, it's all rugby down there, so probably not many people care what the All-Whites do in soccer...

Khazakhstan joining UEFA makes more or less sense in terms of geography, they have more percentual territory in Europe than Turkey (only 3% of the country in Europe), and if you don't count Cyprus and Israel in as being part of Europe they even have 0% territory in Europe. (taking in Israel could be justified though as they were abandonned by both the Asian and African federations because of political reasons)

Australia in Asia is a joke IMO. It is clearly not Asia, and it will do the domestic football scene in Oceania only harm. If they really don't want to give Oceania a spot on the WC, then let OFC and AFC merge and create an Asian/Oceanian zone, if only to spare countries like Tonga the humiliation of getting hammered in a WC qualifyer playoff versus an Asian country...

But as I said: the only right decision here is to give Oceania a direct spot for the World Cup, which could be a boost for the whole continent, promote football in countries where rugby is the main sport (like Fiji or even Tonga).

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    and we can take in the USA... Bushism: "We have responsabilities towards NATO, we are part of NATO. We have responsabilities towards Europe, we are part of Europe..."

I was kinda attracted to a Kiwi girl, nothing happened though... From what I hear from her, it's all rugby down there, so probably not many people care what the All-Whites do in soccer...

Khazakhstan joining UEFA makes more or less sense in terms of geography, they have more percentual territory in Europe than Turkey (only 3% of the country in Europe), and if you don't count Cyprus and Israel in as being part of Europe they even have 0% territory in Europe. (taking in Israel could be justified though as they were abandonned by both the Asian and African federations because of political reasons)

Australia in Asia is a joke IMO. It is clearly not Asia, and it will do the domestic football scene in Oceania only harm. If they really don't want to give Oceania a spot on the WC, then let OFC and AFC merge and create an Asian/Oceanian zone, if only to spare countries like Tonga the humiliation of getting hammered in a WC qualifyer playoff versus an Asian country...

But as I said: the only right decision here is to give Oceania a direct spot for the World Cup, which could be a boost for the whole continent, promote football in countries where rugby is the main sport (like Fiji or even Tonga).
    Just a comment on football in NZ, recent Guardian or Observer report stated that many "European" kids are taking to football since Maori kids are bigger physically and better prospects for eggball. In fact, I believe that football is the favourite sport of under 14s in general in NZ.
    Also, an u-17 World Cup in NZ a few years ago, attracted an average attendance of 8,000 per game, probably bigger than any other country could manage even in football countries. The NZ games attracted even bigger than the average.
    The Final, I think Australia and Brazil were imvolved, attracted a crowd in the region of 25,000.
    It makes sense, New Zealanders will soon cop on that achievements by the country in international football will attract bigger TV audiences in the country simply because football is THE world game and rugby, despite all the hype, is small beer in international terms.

average crowd in new zealand league afaik is about 300.
    new zealand should qualify for world cup if australia leave.so its beneficial for new zealand.
    dont blame australia for getting sick of oceania.
    kazakhstan has no territory in europe gerrit. its only a short distance from mongolia.and it borders china!
    afaik australia can leave oceania simply by resigning.then its an AFC matter whether they join the AFC. doubt new zealand get a right to block the move.
    australia leaving oceania is the best thing for aussie football,so cant blame them for leaving

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit

Khazakhstan joining UEFA makes more or less sense in terms of geography, they have more percentual territory in Europe than Turkey (only 3% of the country in Europe),
    Kazakhstan's Western most border is in line with Eastern most Turkey and Iraq! I have never been able to find for the life of me why they were admitted to UEFA. I think culturally it is kind of European. There are over half a million German speakers there and a few million Slavs though a bit over half the country are Asians and a little under a half are muslim. I know they are also quite a sporting country, you see them competing in quite a few events in the Olympics. However their footballing standards are poor and I don't think any club made the UEFA licence in the first year of it. Anyone know what they are doing in UEFA?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Anyone know what they are doing in UEFA?
    Originally the plan was for UEFA to perform a swap with the AFC, switching Kazakhstan for Azerbaijan. The Azeris weren't keen to leave, however. I think the rationale involved may have something to do with bloc-voting (i.e., UEFA gains an extra vote.)
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

How come Kazakhstan has 500000 German speakers ?!

I have studies maps and read travel guides most of my spare time as a kid, but focussed mainly on the Far North and Far South, so could be wrong but: Kazakhstan would have a very slight piece of territory west of the Ural, thus in Europe. I think 12% or so I have once read, however I have not shown enough interest in the region back in my geography days to know if it is completely true.

Australian fans are quite enthousiast on the move: www.bigsoccer.com boards, Oceanian section...

I think it's still not right. Country football is not about getting higher and higher and making money. It's not economics, unlike club football. It's about love for the game and honour. Having a better team does not give the Australians the right to tell a Vanuatu citizen he should not play his favourite sport or participate in international football. No matter if the Aussies like it or not, islands like Vanuatu, Tonga and Western Samoa are countries, so they have the right to enter. I think it's quite insulting if Australia feels to good to play them, especially since if the whole Oceanian zone isn't merged with Asia the problems will just grow bigger for the remaining countries in the Oceanian federation. Australia leaving is a solution for one member that feels arrogant enough to let the others down, if they really want a solution for every Oceanian nation: either merge the Oceanian and Asian federations entirely, either give Oceania a direct World Cup ticket as Blatter promised.

And no Aussie will care, but my respect for Australia has at one day fallen from relatively high to almost zero. I have much more respect for Western Samoa entering a competition out of love for the game (despite losing 31-0) than for a country feeling too good for the others and running off.

oceania isnt a real continent is it though

either polynesia forms a combined team & they, australia, PNG & NZ join asia, or it stays the way it is.

asia confederation is too big as it is. from jerusalem to japan? i reckon they should be split, an eastern section and a western section. in this case, the eastern section could include australasia.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fenabhoy
    That's more halves than yer average double .............
    In case you are genuinely confused one was referring to the ethnicity of the country and the other the religion. If not, you cheeky git.

All you ever wanted to know about Kazakhstan http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/...k/geos/kz.html

2.4% of the population German...

71 Posts
    I think the German settlers came in the 1800's invited by the Tsar, or maybe even Tsarina. With bizarre German citizen ship laws on repatriotation they by tracing their German lineage would find it easier to get citizenship than immigrant Turkish workers in Germany. As far as I know the Germans are struggling to get linguistic rights since Kazak independence and their numbers are declining.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I think the German settlers came in the 1800's invited by the Tsar, or maybe even Tsarina. With bizarre German citizen ship laws on repatriotation they by tracing their German lineage would find it easier to get citizenship than immigrant Turkish workers in Germany. As far as I know the Germans are struggling to get linguistic rights since Kazak independence and their numbers are declining.
    The Germans were first invited to Russia back in the 1700's by Catherine the Great, who herself was a German princess who had married the Czar Peter. She believed that the German farmers would have a positive influence on Russian farming practices which were quite backward at the time.
    There are still a few million of their descendants scattered throughout the old Russian Empire... Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Kazakstan etc.

Quite a few of these Ruso-Germans emigrated to the US, but esp Canada in the late 1800s and early 1900s. If you ever visit the Canadian plains states you'll encounter quite of lot them.
    But probably the most bizarre place I've ever run into them is in Chihuahua in northern Mexico. Outside the city of Cuauhtemoc there is a large settlement of German speaking Mennonites, they wear the traditional garb still speak an old archaic dialect of German. Their ancestors emigrated from Germany to the Ukraine in the 1700s, in the late 1800s they moved on to Canada. Then when WW1 broke out they refused to serve in the Canadian military, being pacifists, and many were imprisioned..... anyways they said fvck this for a barrel of monkeys and headed south to Mexico with the promise of free land from the Mexican government.
    They'll still there today. I'm telling you it's really strange to be driving across northern Mexico and come across a load of tall blond haired fellas in black clothes speaking German.
    If you're ever down that way, check out their cheese...... mighty stuff, and you can buy a big old wheel of it for just s few pesos.

71 Posts
    Thanks for adding accuracy to my info. That's actually a very interesting and bizarre story.

Quote Originally Posted by fenabhoy
    At risk of going 'off-topic'..... worldwide,surely the most bizarre settlers/ 'planters' are the native Welsh speakers in Patagonia,Argentina.
    There's a surprisely large Irish population in Argentina. Even Irish speakers...

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    There's a surprisely large Irish population in Argentina. Even Irish speakers...

http://www.hurling-club.com.ar/

Check out this pic......
    http://www.hurling-club.com.ar/fahyboys1931.html

200 Posts
    Some of the Russian-Germans have moved back from the former USSR to Germany. A lot of them live in Falkenberg and Marzahn, NE Berlin - as a group they were treated very badly after WWII (even though they had no involvement in it) and moved from the Northern Volga (where they'd lived for 150-200 years to work-camps deep inside the Soviet Union (including places like Kazakstan, Siberia).

An good article on the Oz story from respected Australia TV pundit Les Murray

http://www3.sbs.com.au/opinions/index.php3?id=56055

I reckon Antartica should get a spot too. That's a continent!!!

Australia is pretty messed up to be honest in terms of qualifying. They are unlucky to be so isolated. They are a country that has invested a huge amount of money into sports and they have succeeded in most. They are in the top 10 of pretty much any sport you can name bar soccer. I reckon they could become a major power if they qualified for a few world cups.

How do they decide who plays who in WC playoffs though? I remember australia played some asian team one year, then uruguay 4 years previous, Ireland played Iran last time, idoes it change every time or what?
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Quote Originally Posted by shedite
    I reckon Antartica should get a spot too. That's a continent!!!

Australia is pretty messed up to be honest in terms of qualifying. They are unlucky to be so isolated. They are a country that has invested a huge amount of money into sports and they have succeeded in most. They are in the top 10 of pretty much any sport you can name bar soccer. I reckon they could become a major power if they qualified for a few world cups.

How do they decide who plays who in WC playoffs though? I remember australia played some asian team one year, then uruguay 4 years previous, Ireland played Iran last time, idoes it change every time or what?
    Wasn't that Iran when Terry Venables was Aussie manager. They really blew that one after a good away result they did a Celtic and gave away the home leg to sucker punch goal. That could have been some breakthrough if Australia had played in 1998 in France.

Yeah, Iran was 8 years ago. Oz 2 up going into the last few minutes. A pitch invader pulled down one of the nets,it took 10 mins to put it back up & Australia lost the impetus, conceded two & lost on away goals.

Lost to Uruguay away last time around (Kevin Muscat scored from the spot at home giving Australia the lead going into the away leg).

Shedite has hit the nail on the head- A nation that invests heavily in sport, win at just about everything they do apart from football. The qualifying (half a spot to Oceania) is inherently unfair on Oz because the walk through the qualifiers without having to break a sweat & then must face the battle-hardened fifth best South American team.

Oz switching to Asia is a good compromise for everyone. Sepp Blatter did a backflip after offering Oceania a full place to get himself re-elected.

Apart from more meaningful Internationals, switching to the Asian federation will also offer the newly formed A-League (Oz national league) a place in the lucrative Asian Chamions league.

It all isn't rosy for Australia however. They look likely to make the South American playoff again this November but I believe they will struggle once again. I have seen the Australian national team play in two friendlies in recent times- Vs Iraq (the football powerhouse ) & Oz struggled to win 2-1. And Vs Turkey (this time last year when the Turks were on an end of season tour) & Oz lost 3-1. They have only played 8 friendlies against decent oppostion (and I use the term 'decent' in its broadest term...) over the last two years (England, Ireland, Jamaica, Norway, Turkey X 2, South Africa X 2. W3 D2 L3. 10 other friendlies & Conferderation Cup qualifiers were against lesser footballing countries (yes, lesser than even Norway & Jamaica- generally against Oceania opposition). That is 26 months of games. Hardly ideal preparation for WC qualifying Vs the South Americans.

As an Australian football (soccer) fan I say roll on Asia. This is another make or break moment for the Australian Football family. Hopefully not another false dawn...

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast