Thread: The Minister For Racial Harmony

Talking The Minister For Racial Harmony

What's your thoughts on Conor Lenihan's "kebabs" remarks to Joe Higgins in the Dail on Wednesday with regards to the Turkish workers? Would be like the Turkish foreign minister calling Dermot Ahern a Thick Mick. Surely Conor Lenihan can be our new Minister For Racial Harmony!

Yeah Thunderblaster. Lenihan is supposed to be one of the more intelligent TDs and should have enough cop on not to make that remark. He's a fcuking disgrace.

FF TDs never have the dignity to resign. Have to be thrown out kicking & screaming.

He's an idiot. Loves himself and loves the spotlight...

Wouldn't be as bad if he wasn't a Minister for overseas aid...

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    FF TDs never have the dignity to resign. Have to be thrown out kicking & screaming.
    Since when has FF/Bertie ever dropped anyone either. Sure he apologised, thats the end of the matter...

Far from be it from me to defend any FFer, but there is probably a simple reason for him making that remark.

If that reason is true of course, he should never have been appointed to any sort of government post however.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Far from be it from me to defend any FFer, but there is probably a simple reason for him making that remark.

If that reason is true of course, he should never have been appointed to any sort of government post however.
    Well I think Joe Higgins was annoying the feck out of him and he kind of snapped, however hardly an excuse for a man of his position and profile to make sure a gaffe.Nothing will happen to him, nothing ever does happen to FFers.

I work in an admin position and if I made a remark like that in any kind of public forum I'd be suspended and subsequently fired.

If he won't resign I seriously think it's a bring down the government issue.
    The PDs actually have to have the balls to go to bertie and demand his removal on the grounds that he's tainted his mandate, the dail and the country. If Bertie wont sack him the PDs should withdraw from the government.

We have to take the bull by the horns on this one -if this country is going to work then we have to have standards for these guys -he's a politician -he knows the rules of the game.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Well I think Joe Higgins was annoying the feck out of him and he kind of snapped, however hardly an excuse for a man of his position and profile to make sure a gaffe.Nothing will happen to him, nothing ever does happen to FFers.
    Thats not the possible reason I mentioned.....

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    If he won't resign I seriously think it's a bring down the government issue.
    The PDs actually have to have the balls to go to bertie and demand his removal on the grounds that he's tainted his mandate, the dail and the country. If Bertie wont sack him the PDs should withdraw from the government.
    What, while McDowell was expressing similar sentiments in a committee room? They can hardly take the moral high ground when it comes to these issues - probably too busy deporting school kids and mothers without their children to notice...

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    As is being alluded to on this thread - the fact he said such a comment is hardly here or there, the fact that a minister was thinking it is worse imo.

521 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    the PDs should withdraw from the government.
    That venerable publication The Phoenix reckons the PD's are just looking for an excuse to get out of Government with FF, so maybe this is it.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta
    That venerable publication The Phoenix reckons the PD's are just looking for an excuse to get out of Government with FF, so maybe this is it.

Hmmm, surely they would've walked over terminal 2 though? I mean, that was a programme of Government issue....

521 Posts
    Sorry Macy, the PD's are like another species to me, I could never claim to understand their logic.

Must get back into buying the Pheonix to keep myself up to date. Kinda fallen out of the habit...

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Must get back into buying the Pheonix to keep myself up to date. Kinda fallen out of the habit...
    Love reading it myself. It's nice to get a good old cynical exposé of whats going on

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Love reading it myself. It's nice to get a good old cynical exposé of whats going on
    And perfect for a visit to the "reading room" - an article for every length of visit

Wat too much information. We don't that filth on foot.ie

What, while McDowell was expressing similar sentiments in a committee room? They can hardly take the moral high ground when it comes to these issues - probably too busy deporting school kids and mothers without their children to notice...
    That's horse**** macy and you know it is.

McDowell expressed no "similar sentiments" and if he had he should be fired too. McDowell expressed an opinion based on information presented to him and we can disagree with him on his opinions and conclusions. however he called no one a gollywog, a coon, a spear chucker or a jungle bunny.

Those are the equivalents of lenihans vile reference to those Turkish lads -who we as a country have screwed by proxy and now aren't sticking up for them.

If those workers weren't Turks but were -for example travellers -and this gob****e said something like "stick to the tinkers" or even veiled the reference to "gate-sellers", "carpet-hawkers", "Shania Twain CD bootlegers" or anything else he'd be on a bonfire by now and rightly so.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

200 Posts
    A bad thing to say at any time, but it was a particularly stupid thing to say given he works in the Department of Foreign Affairs and will probably have to have dealings with Turkish MPs via the EU etc... it will present an akward situation to say the least.