Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: fridays latest

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Lads, seriously, take of your bohs tinted glasses ! they were bang out of order. Storming the pitch twice was bad enough but to then start throwing stuff at out players (golf balls, money, bottles), p*ss in the seats, and actually they did try start fights with some of the stewards.
    I wouldn't give this guy the time of day, as that is an out and out lie!! and I think he should be banned from this form. You can't just go making up stuff as serious as golf ball throwing, that could kill someone.
    btw are you a 14 yr old??

The 1st pitch invasion by the Bohs fans was about 50 lads at most & completely out of order. No disrespect to score an equaliser after an hour against Bray is not quite that big an achievement.

The second one was more a case of relief where Bohs had basically laid siege to the Bray goal & having created & failed to take so many chances you just couldnt see Bohs scoring. I thought Bohs fans merely celebrated amongst themselves & didn't see what Steve claims happend. Not saying it didnt happen by the way.

Did Steve see Devlin kick the ball into the stand in injury time to try & kill a few seconds that might be why some fan might have went over to the Bray side of the ground.

Also I think its Bohs get fined not Bray.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    Bucko if you had been there on Friday you would have understood!

Come down to block G and say hello on Friday,

AD.
    As I said Donlon I'm only going from what I've been told by other fans!

You always were a bit of a bowzie anyways!
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

I wouldn't give this guy the time of day, as that is an out and out lie!! and I think he should be banned from this form. You can't just go making up stuff as serious as golf ball throwing, that could kill someone.
    Roo is a mod and wouldn't make up lies like that, he knows the rules more than any on here. He is also a club rep and knows what goes on behind the scene. Sorry BohsFans but your a newcomer here and you haven't made the best of starts on this forum, cop on.

Plus can i add that i apologise for calling BOHS FANS scum, when there were alot of decent fans over there who respected the goal in a respectable way. It's just the guys who ran on the pitch who were well out of order, and i mean well out of order. Stewards were punched and kicked and i DO believe there was a golfball and bottles thrown.... Just not right at all! C'mon the league is constintly put down for alot of things, lets not bring it's name down anymore....
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Thank you, you just answered my question exactly as I thought you would!
    What are ya on about... You know what happened, OR DO YOU????????

Quote Originally Posted by Stevo Da Gull
    The 2 incidences involving the fans that stick in my mind are
    1. The `fan` that ran across the pitch to the Bray fans waving the fingers and shouting stuff (after 2nd goal).

2. The `fan` who went right up to Keith Long (I think it was Longer) and started shouting abuse at him right in his ear, luckily Longer kept the lid on and did'nt deck the pr*ck (after 1st goal).
    Maurice Farrell's a Bohs fan now?

Quote Originally Posted by tarzan1
    Roo is a mod and wouldn't make up lies like that, he knows the rules more than any on here. He is also a club rep and knows what goes on behind the scene. Sorry BohsFans but your a newcomer here and you haven't made the best of starts on this forum, cop on.

Plus can i add that i apologise for calling BOHS FANS scum, when there were alot of decent fans over there who respected the goal in a respectable way. It's just the guys who ran on the pitch who were well out of order, and i mean well out of order. Stewards were punched and kicked and i DO believe there was a golfball and bottles thrown.... Just not right at all! C'mon the league is constintly put down for alot of things, lets not bring it's name down anymore....
    Apology accepted.
    But I'm sorry. I simply do not believe that you can honestly make those allegations of assault if you were at the same event on Friday as I was. I was sat between two Bray supporters, one of them a friend of mine, and no one observed that.

Maybe something about it on EL weekly.... But it's going to be Harsh if we are punished for a silly thing Bohs fans did, and there was no need to for it.... Ah it's all history though, but another thing that will go down in the books of hatred towards bohs fans.

From the footage on EL Weekly, seemed to be 1 or 2 people on the pitch alright after our winner on Friday night

Firstly, I'm far from new here, have been reading this board for ages, only a new poster.
    Secondly your a lier full stop. No steward was punched and kicked, typical Bray fan dreaming up this crap just because you hate Bohs.
    Ball balls and bottles me ******!! that's like me coming on here and saying a Bohs fan in a wheelchair was punched and abused by Bray fans. You've shown yourself to be the idiot you are and your claims were defo not backed up by el weekly!!
    Fair play to Noel King of course its a big conspiracy theory against Bray, get a life tarzan

Actually, BohsFans, did you see the footage on EL weekly? It certainly looked like at least one of the stewards on the pitch got flung right out of the way by the on rushing crowd and knocked to the ground...

There were tonnes of people on the pitch, I hope Bray don't get fined for this, nothign they could do. To be fair, they were probably just trying to rob the chipper van on the opposite side
    God

Firstly, I'm far from new here, have been reading this board for ages, only a new poster.
    Secondly your a lier full stop. No steward was punched and kicked, typical Bray fan dreaming up this crap just because you hate Bohs.
    Ball balls and bottles me ******!! that's like me coming on here and saying a Bohs fan in a wheelchair was punched and abused by Bray fans. You've shown yourself to be the idiot you are and your claims were defo not backed up by el weekly!!
    Fair play to Noel King of course its a big conspiracy theory against Bray, get a life tarzan
    See it through your Bohs eyes.......

Why would i make something up like that ? i'm 27 and have no need to lie what so ever and as Tarzan said i work for thye club and we were appaled by the scenes last Friday night.

The stewards picked up the proof after the match, actually some of the players found coins in there warm down as well. I was talking to a few of them the next day and they couldnt believe the behaviour of some of the Bohs fans, this is not to say all Bohs fans are like that, but there was quite a few who were there to act the spa.

Several of the stewards were threatened as well, or what about the female steward that was knocked over when the Bohs fans invaded the pitch ? i suppose that ok as well.

After watching it on eL weekly again last night it made me even angrier the way King and the others were saying it was great to see such passion etc...... are they for real ? i can just imagine if that had of been Rovers fans, every single person involved in the eL would be on lashing them out of it for there behaviour !

Another thing is that we spent a hell of a lot of money a few seasons back putting in a sprinkler and drianage systems, we dont need thugs trying to ruin it on us by dancing all over it !

71 Posts
    I was surprised. We only played Bohs a few weeks ago and their fans were well behaved. The scenes were appalling. They score an equaliser in the middle of the match and they invade the pitch? It looked dangerous, some people looked to be bundled over in the frenzy at the end. I was watching it with my brother a non-eL fan and it was embarrassing. Then King said something to the effect of it showing at least people bother going to games.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    After watching it on eL weekly again last night it made me even angrier the way King and the others were saying it was great to see such passion etc...... are they for real ? i can just imagine if that had of been Rovers fans, every single person involved in the eL would be on lashing them out of it for there behaviour !
    Noel King is the biggest W+anker ever.... I can't believe they were laughin about it The scenes last friday don't need to be seen in the EL, ever. Lets hope it doesn't happen again. You'd wonder why the F-uck they had to celebrate on the pitch anyway

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I was surprised. We only played Bohs a few weeks ago and their fans were well behaved. The scenes were appalling. They score an equaliser in the middle of the match and they invade the pitch? It looked dangerous, some people looked to be bundled over in the frenzy at the end. I was watching it with my brother a non-eL fan and it was embarrassing. Then King said something to the effect of it showing at least people bother going to games.
    You sound almost as condescending as your super-posh stadium announcer.

I like getting the sea air in Bray, but there's a strong whiff of hypocrisy here.

This matter has been inflated beyond proportion, to the point where it is getting more board time than real violence against Linfield fans at the weekend or the deeply offensive racist and sectarian chants indulged in by some, and certainly not all, of the northern support at the Setanta final.

In another thread on this board, Bray fans also contributing to this discussion have been able to recognise, quite rightly, that the majority of Linfield people conducted themselves with maturity and dignity as well as putting on an impressively passionate display. That despite the seriously offensive nature of the idiot rump of their support.

Why the double standard? Why not the same distinction applied to a pitch invasion? Why the need for feeble and unsubstantiated allegations of assault and missile throwing?

In earlier threads on this board, I have seen contributors from other clubs nominate Carlisle as the worst ground for that most annoying of EL phenomena, feral kids on the loose. I agree with our embarrassed student friend (does his brother endorse pitch invasions in EP or rugby?) that this is one of the most off-putting features colouring the experience of EL football, either live or on television, and that clubs and stewards should do more to control it.

Similarly, I do not agree with King and Scully's smirking approval of the pitch invasion: it shouldn't have happened, other Bohs supporters demanded that they get back to their seats, and Bohemian players also asked them to go back. But I do think you need to get things in perspective, and you cannot ignore home factors such as the provocative and irresponsible actions of your manager in kicking away the match ball to waste time and the woefully inadequate stewarding.

If you can't treat this matter consistently and in proportion, it might just be that, as suggested elsewhere, you have another agenda.

71 Posts
    Condescending? Why? Because I reckon invading a pitch in an away game with significant enough numbers during a match for an equaliser was dangerous and made the league look crap? I pointed out your supporters were well behaved when they came to us. I am not trying to tar your club.

Noel King is the biggest W+anker ever.... I can't believe they were laughin about it The scenes last friday don't need to be seen in the EL, ever. Lets hope it doesn't happen again. You'd wonder why the F-uck they had to celebrate on the pitch anyway
    Couldn't agree more. It was absolutely cringeworthy the way he said that "at least they're going to the games" What an absolute idiot!

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Couldn't agree more. It was absolutely cringeworthy the way he said that "at least they're going to the games" What an absolute idiot!
    Éanna "at least" no one was watching him.

Btw Boh you do have a point. Never been to the Carisle myself, but from reading things the stewarding is poor as indeed emphasised by such an invasion.

Didn't see any of the footage but I'm interested in why the stewarding is being blamed for a pitch invasion? Do you blame the guards if you get mugged? If the fans behaved themselves then you wouldn't need any stewards.

It seems to me that it's the same as every other crowd incident in the EL, and you can check that thread on Dan Connor for my thoughts on it. Slapping a couple of hundred euro fine on a club isn't going to make a blind bit of difference except to convince supporters of that club that they're victims of a conspiracy (when everyone knows that they're all out to get Waterford ).

If the EL is serious about stopping this behaviour then the fans have to be punished with bans from games. Unfortunately the EL isn't serious about it so I don't think anything will change.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast