Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: The foot.ie community FAQ

Haven't met anyone off here yet!!

Don't think I really want to reading the storys from the meet ups..... There are a few odd and very scary characters about here as well

I think I'll be keeping my real Identity a secret for a while anyway!!

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    other Shels fans here may know me...
    Only by your hair...

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Hey Gerrit, there used to be a bloke in Athlone back in 80s who wore a massive amount of make up - he wasn't a Goth though, I never saw anyone in my life to score with the ladies like he did.
    Ah, now that's what I call giving me hope

Why did he have the make-up if it wasn't for goth reasons ? Just esthetical preference ?
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    Haven't met anyone off here yet!!

Don't think I really want to reading the storys from the meet ups..... There are a few odd and very scary characters about here as well

I think I'll be keeping my real Identity a secret for a while anyway!!
    we'll find you Eire06, we'll find you.......

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    As we know there's a pretty strong community on here with dicussions, meet-ups etc. so I was just wondering some things-feel free to add question; i'll start it off.....

>Has anybody ever met their girlfriend/boyfriend through foot.ie?

>What was the biggest ever meet up off foot.ie memebers?

>Has anyone ever spoken to someone on here they knew in real life but did not realise?

And here is another. What do people think are the reasons why the number of people online rises to a very high number at certain times? For example, the most users ever online was 680, on May 10th this year at 12:46 am. Can anybody suggest why this was such a busy time? I am stumped.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Met some of the old 451 lads (and know they were asked to point me out to some of the Corkies I'd annoyed back in the good ol' days )

Met most of the Longford fans at some stage

Got a cheap rail ticket off Schumi after a question on here (think he was happy he off loaded a one way ticket to Longford for a tenner as well )

Met some of the homeless folk through Nightdub

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    Ah, now that's what I call giving me hope

Why did he have the make-up if it wasn't for goth reasons ? Just esthetical preference ?
    I honestly don't know Gerrit, Bowie fan maybe, Ziggy Stardust? Nah, that was 1970s. He was very popular though with everybody and was a normal everyday bloke - just liked the bit of eyeliner, lipstick etc. Good luck to him. Maybe he was a Bauhaus fan, weren't they the first real Goth group and gigging in the early 80s????

Hope? Why shouldn't any bloke wear make up if they want. I believe there's a huge surge in sales of all types of male cosmetics, make up etc these days. Not in my case though, a younger face or body transplant would be nice/

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    was introduced to schumi by martinho 11 at the town v ucd game.
    Definitely Marty's most annoying trait is calling people by their web handle the whole time. Doesn't bother me, as it's my nickname, but know it's annoyed others that would prefer to keep a lower profile in real life

Met quite a few off here at various times, but a lot in the JW's message board days - the old message board matches used to be a good night. Would've known more from those times, where I was Canny-esque in the amount of matches I'd go to (then I got a life, got a bird, got married, have no life ). Mind you, I think Cosmo is the new JC...

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    As we know there's a pretty strong community on here with dicussions, meet-ups etc. so I was just wondering some things-feel free to add question; i'll start it off.....

>Has anybody ever met their girlfriend/boyfriend through foot.ie?

>What was the biggest ever meet up off foot.ie memebers?

>Has anyone ever spoken to someone on here they knew in real life but did not realise?
    Has anyone had a serious argument when they met?
    Who really didn't get on?

I'm getting mentioned here a disturbing number of times! Met a good few of the Cork and Longford guys and one or two Derry guys as well as people mentioned here already.

there was a guy with schumi drinking a giant carton of pineapple juice who must be pineapple stu
    Hadn't noticed that he had any (although I was a little tipsy!) but I don't think anyone else would have!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Got a cheap rail ticket off Schumi after a question on here (think he was happy he off loaded a one way ticket to Longford for a tenner as well )
    Yeah, couldn't believe my luck when you posted that up about a week after I'd ****ed up my travel plans by losing my bus ticket in Longford (and then finding it too late ).

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi

Hadn't noticed that he had any (although I was a little tipsy!) but I don't think anyone else would have!

yeah you guys looked decidedly 2nd hand = totaly banjaxed

kudos for the noise generated

yeah you guys looked decidedly 2nd hand = totaly banjaxed
    It had the helpful side-effect that I don't remember too much about the game.

Ive introduced myself to people by saying "My names troy McClure, you may remember me from such internet sites as foot.ie" It usually gets a laugh & how are ya troy, Im such and such.

Gerret & Sir H, if it was the 80's maybe the guy was into The Cure (if it was just eyeliner). Im sure that would explain his popularity with the lady-folk.

Ive met a few from Cork, who I would have happily ignored otherwise and the odd one or two elsewhere. I think I would have known the UCD guys (or atleast Aberdeen Stu & Schumi) anyway, so maybe that fits in with the "Oh, I didnt know you were on foot.ie too" question.

We had 10 ish at the irish fanzine meeting a few weeks ago and will hopefully have another meeting in the next week or 2 so maybe we will beat that number
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

89 Posts
    Peader accosted me in Hampden at the friendly against Scotland a few years back with the words

"A Derry fan in Hampden, you wouldn't be Maribor would ye?"

I have met a few posters from each club at some stage or another, like Macy met more when I was living in Dublin and inhabiting JW's site
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Peader accosted me in Hampden at the friendly against Scotland a few years back with the words

"A Derry fan in Hampden, you wouldn't be Maribor would ye?"
    Gees everyone seems to have met Peadar!!
    He gets around does he?

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    when I was living in Dublin and inhabiting JW's site
    Yeah, about 5 years ago when eircomleague.net was big.
    Myself and Philo were working in Amsterdam and used to spend the evening shift winding each other and others up.
    Then we started meeting people in real life and had to explain that we were only joking. Actually met a load of people at the Ireland U21 game in Nijmegen.

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    He gets around does he?
    You make it sound like something sinister!
    Last edited by Peadar; 24/05/2005 at 10:37 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    You make it sound like something sinister!
    I'm only joking with ya

yeah have met quite a few of the old board.

Students, Cork and the Pats lads. Couple of Bohs and Rovers heads.

Vetern of one MB game and BillyG completely done me... never forget it.

Probably know more of the others than I do the Town fans these days. It helps them stay down and behave the way they do...

I'm probably the one who hates Marty calling me by my web handle more than anyone.

And just to add, just so she doesn't give grief .... I'm going out with Sinead and I'm sure it isn't me she taught how to kiss....

Started off as an addict but I'm much more calmer now, only let loose when ****ed (off).....

Bring back the message board game.

Users I most like to meet are SLK, Colm and Aface. Just to put a person behind the name. Oh and Macy to odd time for a home game!
    Last edited by Xlex; 24/05/2005 at 12:43 PM.
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Quote Originally Posted by Don Vito
    I remember being in Paris under the Eifel Tower on the day of the Ireland France game at the big foot.ie meet up trying to spot various members,
    I was there and seen that guy aswell... Im the Rooney lad!!!!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Quote Originally Posted by Xlex
    I'm probably the one who hates Marty calling me but my web handle more that anyone.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast