Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast

Thread: Will Smallbone M Southampton b.2000

207 Posts
    He's a decent player; I just wonder if he's a bit lightweight for a mid that tends to go missing. That's not good fault of course, but it might make him a luxury until we have someone who he can play alongside

Think he had a little spell out of the Southampton team during the season but seems to be doing well since getting back in, and a couple of big goals in recent weeks. Be interesting to see how he does if they do go up. Big gap as we saw with Burnley, especially if Southampton keep trying to dominate possession a level up
    Maybe some of our players are better than they appeared to be when playing under Kenny?

3,255 Posts
    We can certainly hope so!

783 Posts
    That's probably the biggest frustration of the last few years for me, the almost non-stop talking down of the standard of players we have. We all know we don't have the same level of players we had in the late 80s and early 90s, but we're nowhere near as bad as we're being made out to be in some quarters.
    Keane O'Shea Given Best Smallbone

3,255 Posts
    In fairness, I think most of the time people have been too guilty of talking fairly average players up to be honest.

783 Posts
    I think there's a bit of both - a bad habit of talking up every 16 year old who gets a run out in the league of Ireland and every 18 year old who gets a few garbage minutes in the Premier League. But then it seems to jump the other way by the time lads are 23 and aren't the next Kevin De Bruyne or Virgil Van Dijk, lads are getting written off far too soon.

2,646 Posts
    I don't see talking up. I see excitement and optimism/hope which are both the exact emotions every football fan lives for. If you don't get that, then you're probably best off with some other pastime (and possibly also no fun at parties).

3,255 Posts
    In Smallbone's case, probably not.

But let's be honest - there's been plenty of players on here who've been talked up way beyond what's reasonable. There's optimism/hope and there's just being daft, and too often it swings the wrong way.

94 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    That's probably the biggest frustration of the last few years for me, the almost non-stop talking down of the standard of players we have. We all know we don't have the same level of players we had in the late 80s and early 90s, but we're nowhere near as bad as we're being made out to be in some quarters.
    The reality is that a lot of the players from the 80s and even the 90s would be playing at a lower level in England today if they were still around - given the massive money and level of competition for top players in the PL.

2,353 Posts
    Lovely assist for Smallbone as Southampton go one up on Leeds in playoff final.

783 Posts
    He's playing well again, things seemed to click for him during his loan to Stoke last season and he's been playing really well for about 18 months now at Championship level. Offers a really useful set piece option from an Irish point of view as well.

A long way to go in this, Southampton's goal came against the run of play at the time, though they've finished the half strongly. Would be great to see Smallbone back in the Premier League next year, he may have options to go up even if Southampton don't win today.

1,102 Posts
    And he's up. Congrats Smallbone. Will be a good player for us when things settle down.

567 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    And he's up. Congrats Smallbone. Will be a good player for us when things settle down.
    My gut feeling was that Leeds would be winning this ~ ~ Better for us that Southampton have gone up.

783 Posts
    Southampton promotion definitely the best outcome for us from the playoffs, in that we have a real shortage of midfielders playing top level football and Smallbone is likely good enough and important enough to Southampton to stay heavily involved for them in the Premier League, even if he's not a nailed on starter every week.

It may not be as positive an outcome for Bazunu or Manning but Southampton are a club that usually have a few Irish players involved so it's good to see them going straight back up. An almost complete absence of Irish players at Leeds these days so it was very easy to support Southampton today.

3,255 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    Really came good at the business end of the season. Will be a tough year next year but it's where you want to be.

Suspect Manning might find himself sent out on loan unfortunately. 30 starts but it felt like he was drifting out of favour towards the end of the season. Could be wrong about that though

94 Posts
    Southampton promotion definitely the best outcome for us from the playoffs, in that we have a real shortage of midfielders playing top level football and Smallbone is likely good enough and important enough to Southampton to stay heavily involved for them in the Premier League, even if he's not a nailed on starter every week.

It may not be as positive an outcome for Bazunu or Manning but Southampton are a club that usually have a few Irish players involved so it's good to see them going straight back up. An almost complete absence of Irish players at Leeds these days so it was very easy to support Southampton today.
    Unless Martin changes his approach to defending Southampton will be torn apart in the PL.

783 Posts
    It's going to depend on how well they recruit in the summer. Leicester look the best positioned of the three promoted teams at this point, but that can change. Ipswich without McKenna will be everyone's favourites to go down. Southampton previously have shown an ability to finish mid table despite shipping a few heavy beatings during a season. If they can bring in three or four quality players they might have a chance.

3,255 Posts
    I think Southampton's biggest issue is that they try to dominate possession against teams, a bit Man City-like. They can do it very well at times, and they're one team you wouldn't write off from 2-0 or 3-1 down - but it's a big step up to trying the same thing in the Premier. It'll be Russell Martin's debut Premier League season and he may need to be more pragmatic.

Leicester may yet have a points deduction to contend with for breaching FFP rules and also have to replace Vardy, who was their top scorer this season with 20 but probably his legs are gone at Premier level; only three league goals last year was a big part of their struggles. Ipswich - well anyone getting two promotions in a row has to be early relegation favourites.

Wouldn't surprise me to see the three promoted teams adrift like this year's were, but football can be strange. And of course if they all go straight back down but our guys get a move out of it, that's a result too.

94 Posts
    It's going to depend on how well they recruit in the summer. Leicester look the best positioned of the three promoted teams at this point, but that can change. Ipswich without McKenna will be everyone's favourites to go down. Southampton previously have shown an ability to finish mid table despite shipping a few heavy beatings during a season. If they can bring in three or four quality players they might have a chance.
    The problem that they have is that four loan players were key to their success this season, Downes, Harwood-Balles, Fraser and Brooks, plus they are losing Che Adams who scored 16 goals to free agency and Bazunu is out for months - that is six key players that they have to replace before they can think about upgrading. Now some of those they bring in might be an upgrade over some players from this season - but they need more than a minor upgrade in my opinion. They will need more than 3/4 quality players to survive - and quality players do not like signing for teams that have just been promoted, because they know they can go straight back down.

94 Posts
    I think Southampton's biggest issue is that they try to dominate possession against teams, a bit Man City-like. They can do it very well at times, and they're one team you wouldn't write off from 2-0 or 3-1 down - but it's a big step up to trying the same thing in the Premier. It'll be Russell Martin's debut Premier League season and he may need to be more pragmatic.

Leicester may yet have a points deduction to contend with for breaching FFP rules and also have to replace Vardy, who was their top scorer this season with 20 but probably his legs are gone at Premier level; only three league goals last year was a big part of their struggles. Ipswich - well anyone getting two promotions in a row has to be early relegation favourites.

Wouldn't surprise me to see the three promoted teams adrift like this year's were, but football can be strange. And of course if they all go straight back down but our guys get a move out of it, that's a result too.
    Southampton will not be able to dominate possession as they did in the Championship - in a lot of games they will struggle to hold the ball.

The gap between the PL and the Championship is massive and is growing all the time. IMO a promoted team surviving in the PL for a couple of seasons will become a major rarity. The reality is that the PL will become more like American sports with the existing PL teams will not really have to worry about relegation unless they compelely f*ck things up.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    862 Posts
    Is it just me or is the general tone of everything on this forum lately just misery. There's been a bit of success by a few players towards the end of the season but everything is discussed in a negative way.

Smallbone has very good season and is instrumental in them getting through playoffs. Instantly the talk is "they won't make it in Premiership"

Idah gets winner in cup final and the chat is about him only getting 15 mins a game.

Szmodics top goalscorer in league, gets linked to move to Galatasary and the reaction is negative to a super potential move, because it's not the Premiership.

There's others too. Every thread is misery. Some of ye need to find a bit of joy in yer lives lads ffs
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast