Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Sligo Rovers vs lack of atmosphere

Its a grand day so i guess we'll be on the terrace behind the goals.

So where was everyone

...should have went to the back of the stand

Friday June 3rd

yee can see how its done when we arrive in our droves to the showgrounds,we'll have drums flags songs etc so if yee got a group of people together and tried to make it sound like yere the home team there would be some atmosphere.Of course we'll be the loudest!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Hoping for a good atmosphere for the League Cup game too lads!

Hope ye get a good gang of singers together to make some noise. we'll have a big crowd with us as well. Has the makings of a great tie
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

ya really lookin forward to both matches especially haprs in cup. It could be a friendly and it still will be class atmosphere. id proberly rather knock harps out of the league cup then win it.

Quote Originally Posted by harpskid
    Hoping for a good atmosphere for the League Cup game too lads!
    Well if the shed is opened, you will, and if it's not, you wont!

Thumbs up DCFC: Dream Catchers Football Club

Quote Originally Posted by Derek
    Where do away fans sit?

Apparently Dublin have put on four coaches and have sold ALL tickets(200 approx). So Sligo watch out!

What was that? the alarm clock. Time to get up out of bed, that was a lovely dream.
    Dont build up my dreams like that Der!
    Last edited by blueviking1980; 22/05/2005 at 11:32 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    yee can see how its done when we arrive in our droves to the showgrounds,we'll have drums flags songs etc so if yee got a group of people together and tried to make it sound like yere the home team there would be some atmosphere.Of course we'll be the loudest!
    Do they ever stop. The shed will be open for the Galway game, so no doubt we'll be keeping ye Galway fans quite.

does anyone remeber when some oposition fans ran into the shed as the crowd who usually sing in the shed went to stand behind the goals. once they seen them in the shed, the opposition fans ran like f**k!!!!!
    Indeed...........

They werent wareing purple all over with matching handbags and some lovely 6 inch stelleto heels.

Quote Originally Posted by beatmasterbody
    does anyone remeber when some oposition fans ran into the shed as the crowd who usually sing in the shed went to stand behind the goals. once they seen them in the shed, the opposition fans ran like f**k!!!!!
    That was against Cobh. Good Game!

Atmosphere in the Showgrounds is all well and good, but do we really want the type of noise excrement which graced the railway side of the west stand at the dublin city game. I was down there, and am up for supporting the team as good as anyone else, but there was about 5-10 individuals standing at the back of the stand which had no business in the showgrounds let alone in the shed.(and they were supposedly rovers supporters) There's chanting and then there was the crap coming out of there mouths, and all they were there for was either to abuse the opposition, (fair enough - but not the stupid & ridiculous abuse that was dished out to Dermot Keely and his team.)paul deering & the ref (fair enough - they made v bad decisions), but then started on the rovers players, to be fair rovers played badly in the second half, but rovers players should not be singled out for abuse in that manner.
    I would love to see the shed reopened, but I would rather see it knocked down if that sort of chanting continues in the showgrounds. This has no place in the showgrounds or in any arena for that matter.
    Who put the ball in the Derry net.......Theres only one Gerry Carr.

FAI CUP 1994

20 Posts
    jstuff was that you I saw with the prawn sandwiches
    Misfits

So you have to be roaring stupid abuse at the referee, linesmen, paul deering and every body else who does something wrong (including shouting abuse at rovers players) to aid rovers cause? I am missing something here.

FAI CUP 1994

20 Posts
    I don't know why you are so shocked refs, away fans and away players have been getting abuse in the Showgrounds for years . The songs they where sing can be heard at most Eircom league grounds and before you start having a go at me I wasn't up there.
    Misfits

1st of all, I wasn;t having a go at anyone in particular, I was replying to your comment. If you were up there, you would have had the same opinions as me, i would consider myself a reasonably good supporter of the team,and I am all into creating an intimidating atmosphere at the showgrounds, however, I don't buy into the sort of crap that was being hurled onto the pitch on saturday night. (qualifying that if I may, by a tiny minority of supporters). However, is this the correct way to be generating an atmosphere in the showgrounds? I think my view is pretty clear on this.

FAI CUP 1994

Cant wait for the shed to open again,if it ever does? pointless having one side open and the other shut!

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover
    I noticed the flares on tifo aswell, they mighten be a bad addition when the shed opens up.
    I wouldn't recommend the flares on tifo - they tend to spray hot stuff everywhere - you're better off rolling about in a fish shop and then going to your local marine store and buy some flares in there!!!

As for creating an atmosphere it's difficult to get the majority of the crowd involved - most people are as passionless as your average GAA fan.
    Playing in the All-Ireland you might hear the odd chant of "Galway, Galway" (Sligo-Sligo would be too far-fetched for an All Ireland!) but that's it, which is pretty typical of Terryland.

Everyone joins in after a goal but no-one joins in during boring 0-0 games to try and lift the team!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

jstuff,what exactly were they singing?

Quote Originally Posted by jstuff
    So you have to be roaring stupid abuse at the referee, linesmen, paul deering and every body else who does something wrong (including shouting abuse at rovers players) to aid rovers cause? I am missing something here.
    We werent at a ballet class and this isnt cricket. I heard what they were saying, so what, they were the only people that could of given a bollax and actually sang and of course hurled abuse at Keely and Deering. You got to agree that some of the stuff they were saying was funny and if you think they were so offensive have a look at what the rest of the irish fans do be chanting, its on a thread in the eircom league forum. That will make them look like alter boys.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast