Thread: Fixtures (fianlly) out

427 Posts

Fixtures (fianlly) out

The Premier League fixtures have finally being released, opening day highlight is without doubt the Dublin derby, Bohs V Shams in Dalymount.
    let the fun begin...

other first round fixtures - Dundalk V Derry City
    Cork V Shels
    Finn harps V Sligo
    St pats Ath V Waterford.

welcome back football !!!
    Last edited by marinobohs; 20/12/2019 at 2:57 PM.

360 Posts
    Would Bohs not look into installing a temp / perm stand behind the phibs end, same as Pats have at the Inchicore end? They could easily sell this game out twice, then again I think I heard its the H+S access into that area that's the problem - pity. That type of stand would also look perfect behind our town goal.

On the fixtures, couple of classic 'random computer' ones for the Monday nights, Cork travelling to Dundalk on Mon 24/02, then a repeat of the fixture in Cork on Mon 20/04 are two standouts.

Sensible though by the league to move all 4 Euro teams from w/e 10/07 to Monday 25/05, and amazingly all 4 involved in the 2 games !
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Would Bohs not look into installing a temp / perm stand behind the phibs end, some like what Pats have at the Inchicore end? They could easily sell this game out twice, then again I think I heard is the H+S access into that area that's the problem - pity. That type of stand would also look perfect behind our town goal.

On the fixtures, couple of classic 'random computer' ones for the Monday nights, Cork travelling to Dundalk on Mon 24/04, then a repeat of the fixture in Cork on Mon 20/04 are two standouts.

Sensible though by the league to move all 4 Euro teams from w/e 10/07 to Monday 25/05, and amazingly all 4 involved in the 2 games !
    Apart from the ownership issue about the shopping centre end, it has become dangerous after many years of lack of use and therefore H&S would almost certainly preclude any such structure.There would be the added issue of access, as currently it would have to be accessed via the Jodi Stand so couldn't be used for 'away' supporters.

the biggest stumbling block is that the owners Dublin City Council are very unlikely to do anything with the ground apart from the basic maintenance required, so no, there is unlikely to be any increase in seating availability.

yes, the dreaded Monday night fixtures remain with us and no thought given to travelling fans, I suspect it is no accident that the European teams are playing each other in the 'euro window'. Why the same effort couldn't be put in to minimising travel on the Monday fixtures....

28 Posts
    Usual mad scrap for tickets have to get that aul printing press back out, hoping it would of been shels away as we would of got twice the amount of tickets.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingswood Rover View Post
    Usual mad scrap for tickets have to get that aul printing press back out, hoping it would of been shels away as we would of got twice the amount of tickets.
    Expect you will get about 900 (subject to AGS) for Des Kelly stand. Some talk AGS may limit to less after flares etc thrown at Talbot in semi but I suspect it will be the full DK Stand. Bohs will have the Jodi but with increased number of members and season tickets I would expect a limited number go on general sale
    Will definately sell out very quickly. What a way to start the season !

28 Posts
    yep with lots of fans unable to get in

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingswood Rover View Post
    yep with lots of fans unable to get in
    Both clubs members should be ok (rightly) after that its a lottery.
    Good complaint to have.

221 Posts
    The problem with Monday night games is that in theory you want to minimise travel but we all know that attendances will be down 25-50% on a Monday, so the last thing you want really is a derby on a Monday night. Harps v Derry on a Monday would be grand for travel but would easily knock 20K off the gate.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seand View Post
    The problem with Monday night games is that in theory you want to minimise travel but we all know that attendances will be down 25-50% on a Monday, so the last thing you want really is a derby on a Monday night. Harps v Derry on a Monday would be grand for travel but would easily knock 20K off the gate.
    The truth is there are no 'good' games for Monday night (unless possibly bank holidays), I agree that local matches mean the host club will take a hit, but from a fans perspective again you finish work/college/school get home just about the only criteria in deciding to attend a game is if you can make it !

I appreciate the added costs etc but wonder have the clubs been canvassed about the idea of extending the season to lessen (or better still do away with) Monday games ? with cup replays etc the odd one may be necessary but I think all agreed they are les than helpful.

637 Posts
    Bohs v Rovers moved to 2pm on Saturday the 15th , due to An Garda concerns

2,337 Posts
    Cabo v Bray
    Wexford v UCD
    Galway v Athlone
    Longford v Shamrock Deux
    Cobh v Drogheda

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Bohs v Rovers moved to 2pm on Saturday the 15th , due to An Garda concerns
    ffs cant police a crowd of 37 hundred garda concerns may be "lads i am concerned that we are not getting the boys time and a half on Fridays lets move this to a Saturday"

105 Posts
    Never ceases to confuse me how there's such a stress when it comes to policing a crowd of less than 4,000 people, god help them when the Euros comes into town and Lansdowne might actually get a game with a sizable number at it. As if they won't encounter the same potential issues at 2pm on a Saturday?

54 Posts
    Well, the FAI currently owes them a pretty penny.
    Let's the league isn't going to get the run around as a result...
    ...Schwanholz, Herisau: a little bit of heaven...

3,197 Posts
    So UCD have -

5 away games in a row, over a space of two months (i.e. no home game in that time)
    Then 4 home games in the next 3 weeks
    Then 2 games - home or away - in the next five weeks

This must be the daftest set of fixtures yet.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Donie Forde View Post
    Well, the FAI currently owes them a pretty penny.
    Let's the league isn't going to get the run around as a result...
    Gonna owe them more if its time and a half

870 Posts
    So UCD have -

5 away games in a row, over a space of two months (i.e. no home game in that time)

Ye'd have to wonder who does the fixture list up!! Good job they dont have a load of international TV companies, Emergency Services, Refs and player reps all negotiating game slots on a fixture committee. How hard can it be to set the dates and then have a computer generate the fixtures with parameters like not having a team play x games home/away per month, with some degree of common sense fixtures eg 'Derby Day' across the league or not havind Derry v Cork on a Tuesday!?

3,197 Posts
    Saw elsewhere that Euro 2020 may be an issue if some clubs (UCD?) have given up their grounds for a while as a training base for the national sides in the Euros. That would explain it, if it's true of course.

Be a decent little fundraiser.

870 Posts
    Saw elsewhere that Euro 2020 may be an issue if some clubs (UCD?) have given up their grounds for a while as a training base for the national sides in the Euros. That would explain it, if it's true of course.

Be a decent little fundraiser.
    It would explain 2 maybe 3 weeks unless a team is spending a full month in one training camp base in Ireland and I dunno why they'd do that. They could surelay reverse fixture 1 and maybe 5 during the 2 months. Training pitches used will have to be top notch I suppose which might account for no use of a picth for such a long spell - there will be benefit there for a host club.

812 Posts
    So UCD have -

This is the point I raised about not letting rovers B in and having a 9 team league. Imagine you end up with a run of fixtures like that and then have your bye week. Unbelievable strain would be put on clubs. I wouldn't say I'm in favour of letting rovers B in but it's definitely a better proposal than the 9 team league. I can see why clubs are against it though, especially now the likes of Dundalk are looking in for a B team.