Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

Thread: Potential ramifications for LOI after todays FAI accounts debacle.

Gerry McAnaney by 88 to 40

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDMRooney View Post
    Gerry McAnaney by 88 to 40
    pity wanted Heraghty to get it. any opinions on new president lads?

Ex defence forces if that’s worth anything more concerning is the idea hinted at in Dan McDonnells piece is that it was a block vote by junior ranks agin to prominent a role for the national league

870 Posts
    I thought it would be a tough nut to craic for Heraghty with the way non LoI clubs tend to not vote for LoI candidates. New president or not wasnt this guy on the council board of management in the past. Too close to the old guard for me!

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    I thought it would be a tough nut to craic for Heraghty with the way non LoI clubs tend to not vote for LoI candidates. New president or not wasnt this guy on the council board of management in the past. Too close to the old guard for me!
    Yeah read the interview with McEleney in Sun today. He said that he was part of the council BOM in the past but was against the way FAI was run,

177 Posts
    Disappointed that Martin Heraghty didnt get in. It definitely would have been Rovers loss but the LOI's gain thats for sure. Whether McAnaney will be any good awaits to be seen but it is too close to the old guard for my liking.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

74 Posts
    Yeah read the interview with McEleney in Sun today. He said that he was part of the council BOM in the past but was against the way FAI was run,
    Never saw anything about him speaking out once in his 20 yrs on council.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

270 Posts

535 Posts
    I wonder is this the reason why Brian Kerr is linked with a move back to the FAI to pacify the LOI contingent considering hes pally with McElaney for years. Didnt realise Kerr is 66/67 now! Where have the years gone?

114 Posts
    I wonder is this the reason why Brian Kerr is linked with a move back to the FAI to pacify the LOI contingent considering hes pally with McElaney for years. Didnt realise Kerr is 66/67 now! Where have the years gone?
    Not that I'm against Brian being back involved, in fact I'm the opposite and have wanted him to be back in some form for years but it would be moreso down to the fact that now Quinn and his 2 cohorts from the "Visionary Group" have basically completed a de facto coup of the FAI, BK will no doubt get back in either at board level or as the final independent director with him being part of that group too.

Personally I'm more worried about the level of ****e at committee level that's floating back to the top after getting flushed but the fact that the "Visionary Group" were light on actual ideas and plans outside of soundbites and platitudes and heavy on the silent backing from Red Strike still gives me cause for concern too.

637 Posts
    New FAI Management team have persuaded Ross and the Government to "bail out " the FAI, details being announced this afternoon apparently.
    We will be expected to be grateful for this when the Government just gave 20m too Conought rugby and spent 33m renovating the Curragh racecourse not to mention 16m for Greyhounds.
    Fair play to the new team but they are really playing uphill with the wind against them to change decades of football being ignored.
    Its a start

Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    New FAI Management team have persuaded Ross and the Government to "bail out " the FAI, details being announced this afternoon apparently.
    We will be expected to be grateful for this when the Government just gave 20m too Conought rugby and spent 33m renovating the Curragh racecourse not to mention 16m for Greyhounds.
    Fair play to the new team but they are really playing uphill with the wind against them to change decades of football being ignored.
    Its a start
    It's not a gift they funded a particular project and our league could do well to have some of the quality of management that Connacht Rugby has. Going from the point where the IRFU were prepared to shutter it to being a competitive side in any sense of the word. I admire what they done there

637 Posts
    I'm not against the rugger boys getting the money , when you consider the 2m they spent on a printer that the staff wont use in the Dail there is plenty of cash to go around and sport is a good place to spend money.
    I just hate the narrative about the football community being "bailed out" we haven't been funded properly or fairly for years.
    Hopefully with some professional people at the top now we might get a fairer slice of the cake

54 Posts
    A figure of €800,000 is to go towards the development of Men's & Women's domestic National Leagues as part of the details being announced in the Government bailout!

870 Posts
    If that figure was annual it might have looked like a serous effort!

637 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    If that figure was annual it might have looked like a serous effort!

My read of it is that it is annual, 5.8m in funding in total per year with 800k for LOI.
    depends how you read it

21. Thanks From:

33 Posts
    Shane Ross just 'bought' a new seat in the next Dáil.

637 Posts
    Part of the conditions to get the cash from govt is council members with 10 years service have to retire and all former board members are not eligible for fai committees. This is a fantastic initiative...starting to really think the new fai mangt know what they are doing

637 Posts
    Also a review to decide of the role IF ANY of the council .
    The council is going to become a talking shop with no influence.

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678