Thread: IrelandFans (FAI Supporters Club)

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    That is bad! Total slap in the beak!
    yeah pretty bad alright. If I'm honest, it not the 'not' getting the pack that annoyed me - sure at that stage i didn't want the god damn thing but why would someone try and go out of their way to offer it (i didn't ask for them to do this) and then not bother.

I never really expected the thing to arrive but had it done it might have restored what little faith I had previously in the organisation (or those operating on their behalf)
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    There was rumour going around about six months ago that the FAI were not running IrelandFans themselves at all but had contracted it out to an outside company to whom they were paying an arm and a leg. Allegedly, the contract was given out by Fran Rooney. Dont know if this is true but if it is it is difficult to see what was in it for the FAI and why it was launched.
    Not 100% true - the handling was given to an outside fulfiilment house as is the norm for such undertakings.

As for the contract I can say that it was not given out by Rooney but htne again don't let the misinformation highway get in the way of transparency and truth
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc
    Not 100% true - the handling was given to an outside fulfiilment house as is the norm for such undertakings.

As for the contract I can say that it was not given out by Rooney but htne again don't let the misinformation highway get in the way of transparency and truth
    You obviously know a lot more about it than the 'rumour', perhaps you would like to enlighten us with the full SP.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Absolute crapology! I feel for ye rodoman and cheers for the story...It should be known to all who support our National Team what these morons get up to with our money. My advise is to have as little to do with them as possible...its not worth bringin ye down....We will soldier on regardless!

Just a matter of interest, what were you supposed to get for your €30

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Just a matter of interest, what were you supposed to get for your €30
    Finally at last, the pack came today

Membership identity card - didn't get, that they told me it's in the post, (so is my death, wonder which one will come first haha).FAI pen - got that.Keyring - got that, Baseball hat, got that.
    supposed to get a limited edition fan's pin, never got that, one fo the reasons that I joined as I collect soccer badges.
    also the following is a copy from the Ireland Fans section:
    Other privileges will include: - 10% Discounts on Official Merchandise in FAI Online Shop
    • Exclusive draws for match merchandise
    • Online Fan's Forum - Opportunity to put the questions to the Manager - can't find the forum in the section
    • Access to Fan's chat room on website - no chat room in section
    • Discount on Sponsor Products - Priority Ticket alert
    • A possibility of buying tickets for Senior Home Internationals (subject to availability)
    • Priority access to Team Training sessions
    Oh yeah, bought a bodhran on the site after joining the Ireland Fans, did I get the 10% discount mentioned, what do ye think lol.
    They lobbed in (pardon the pun) a decent FAI logo'd soccerball, and the keyring, cap, are of decent quality, the auld biro is manky, but at least I have it, in case i learn to write ha ha
    The main things i wanted were the fan badge, and drop into the forum every now and then and suss out the fan's forum which is not there, so what did I do in the end. set up me own Irish Soccer supporters website dedicated to Irish Soccer fans and put a forum on that.

And yes as mentioned it is a third party fulfilment company doing the work for the FAI
    Cheers for the other horror stories, at least I'm not the only one
    It's not actually winning that counts, it's playing the game with attitude

Quote Originally Posted by rodoman
    what do ye think
    You're an idiot for even think about spending 30 euro on that pile of crap (basicallya hat and badge...)

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    You're an idiot for even think about spending 30 euro on that pile of crap (basicallya hat and badge...)
    Each to their own dodge, but fair play to you about keeping the 'auld saying going'

'In soccer everyone has an opinion'
    It's not actually winning that counts, it's playing the game with attitude

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rodoman
    well folks, 44 days ago I parted with €30 for my FAIreland's supporters pack, and still waiting, sent a couple of emails, did I get a reply, you have got to be joking, I subscribed to the FAI Newsletter over a year ago, and never got one of those either, so I should have known that sending the FAI an email, would be like throwning some toilet paper down the bog, gone forever.
    SO I decided to phone them, in total 4 times, have to admit there was actually someone on the other end of the line, and they did whatever they do and got back to me and told me someone whould phone me, that was the first time, did I get a bell back on the phone, not a ************ing hope. was told that second time too, naive me believed them and saids ok, result, Rodoman 0 - FAI 2
    3rd time, I spoke to someone and they told me by close of business they would know the score for me and ring me back, score Rodoman 0 - FAI 3

4th time, they told me it was all sorted, and that they would be sending it to me by special delivery, and I'd have it the next day. score Rodoman 0 - FAI 4

Now I know I'm getting abit of a hiding here, but rang them again, they told me, after losing my head abit and telling them a few home truths about themselves. that they have some sort of confirmation that i was actually taken by the delivery service.
    Please God I'll get it Monday, or by Tuesday, you'll be seeing a hostage situation in Merrion Square on the national TV channels.

Maybe, just maybe, if I was a supporter of the Somalian FA, and had joined their supporters club, i could get me head around the length of time I'm waiting, but c'mon for ************s sake. I live in Waterford, 100 miles from Dublin, i could have crawled up there, and crawled back, and I'd have had it sooner.

So lads I reckon, the abbreviation FAI, don't stand for Football Association Of Ireland, it stands for ************ed About Irish.

anyone reading this ever had hassle like this from the FAI???
    Try waiting 9 months and numerous emails etc.. Now they just ignore my mails. Unbelieveable. We care about football me arse!!!!

Question Ireland Fans

Like probably many other supporters of the Ireland team I joined the Ireland Fans community 2 years ago via www.fai.ie
    I can't really remember how much I paid for it but up to now I received nothing in return for my money, exception being made for a personalized membership card and a base ball cap...
    The thing is that they promised regular news, magazines, newsletters, etc.
    They also promised 10% off on merchandise, ticket priority (subject to availability)...
    As far as I am concerned I've seen none of it...
    Does anyone know what happened ? Thanks.

I got a free ticket for the Italy match last year off them by way of apology for them having done nothing since we paid our money. Haven't heard anything since

Quote Originally Posted by griff77
    I got a free ticket for the Italy match last year off them by way of apology for them having done nothing since we paid our money. Haven't heard anything since
    I received a 'free' ticket too. But I saw this as more of a 'pay off ' than an apology.
    I'd say you can forget about 'IrelandFans' altogether. Must have generated a few quid for the association at the time though. Wonder whos' pockets that went into.

30 Posts
    I also got a pen and keyring
    I emailed them a few times to see what the story was but got
    nothing back. I think membership was €30 or something.

The link seems to be removed from the FAI website!

Its amazing the changes that can be made to the website when theres
    money involved, as in people paying up for a fairly non existant fan club.
    I emailed them a while back to see if they could update the Athlone Town
    section as it states Alan Kelly as manager, desptite the fact that we've
    never had a manager called Alan Kelly. Have a left full and previously had
    a midfielder of that name, but not a manager.

Merged 3 threads into one. Stretches back a bit but basically the same complaints