Yeh, felt the same. I'm sure Kevin Moran, who has got experience in financial matters would have been a better choice. Sorry Paul to criticise ya - he's one of my few heros.
Felt really sorry for Paul last night on Prime Time talking about the Man Utd Glazer takeover, he looked nervous, spoke very awkwardly, even stumbling over some words, he didn't know much about the business end of things and in the end came across very poorly, it was terrible stuff I couldn't wait for it to end for Pauls Sake, I read before about Paul having huge anxiety problems before appearing on the Premiership with Johnny Giles digging him out, so why on earth would he appear on a Current affairs show!!
Yeh, felt the same. I'm sure Kevin Moran, who has got experience in financial matters would have been a better choice. Sorry Paul to criticise ya - he's one of my few heros.
Not Pauls fault. Im sure he could do with the few quid so why would he turn down the oppurtunity. RTE should be ashamed of themselves.
It seemed like they realised what a mistake they had made half way through and rushed the remainder of the story. Miriam O Callaghan cut across the panel at every oppurtunity and gave the last pitiful word to Paul before bringing it to an abrupt conclusion.
Shame on RTE
Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?
Agree with you blobbyblob. Typical RTE - they are incapable of covering footie without making a half-assed job of it.Originally Posted by blobbyblob
He has never been good at public speaking interviews ect...
RTE know this and should have helped him prepare for it...
Felt really bad for him and thought Miriam could have helped him out a bit more..
Just responding to a thread in off-topic ... someone saying he was drunk.
He wasnt drunk..... i saw it myself ... there is no way he was drunk. He aint a great speaker to be fairness, and his arguments aint the most reasoned ...... but thats just him. To say he was drunk is .... well its lying !! ... complete and utter búll**1*
Lads, the guys isn't on the box that much so there is bound to be some nerves there ffs, it could happen to anyone. And how can people turn around and say he was pityful .... ahh ... why ?? He was nowhere near are bad as some of you drama queens are making him out to be. ffs ... give the guy a break.
Miriam could have (and normally does on other issues) dont a better job alright, but it is not the end of the world.
Originally Posted by Reality Bites
The best of them get aniety attacks, Adam Bolton on Sky is contantly caught, not realising he is on air with a big stressed head on him, but does a great job when on air. I know a camera man the used to work for RTE and said Gay Byrne was stressed to levels you wouldn't believe .... It part and parcel with live television.
Maybe I'm too old to have heroes but I was lucky to have met Paul once and I'm not one to be overawed by anybody but Paul, that guy has charisma by thye bucketload and is one helluva nice guy. It was an honour to have met him. Him and Rory Gallagher - two of my heroes.![]()
Lets call a spade a spade, great footballer, giant of a man, but on the nelly he sucks.Originally Posted by A face
He woulda been grand with a few jars in him.
"I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
Townsend on McGrath
Low blow!!
thats not even close to being funny, hang your head in shameOriginally Posted by Colie
Jeez, Colie, if you added another L to your name, you'd be in the doghouse!!!
I'll get my coat...........
colie that isnt funny. what i hate about supporters is, they worship the ground a footballer walks on while he is playing, but when he is "past it" or unable to replicate his footballing skills in other areas people slate/laugh/take the **** etc.
Paul Mcgrath was a legend, and no matter what he says or does not say should never ever change that or peoples views of him.
Originally Posted by Colie
Absoultly no need for that. he's an irish footballing legend who has problems(who doesnt?) and all ur doing is kicking a man when hes down with stupid snide comments like that. no need for it
COlie
Bang out of order!
Paul Mc Grath is the best player ever to come out of this jurisdiction IMO.
He was versatile and played in three different positions for his country, centre-midfield, right-full and his more usual role centre-back.
He was absolutley magnificent everytime he donned the green jersey.
And at least, unlike another Irish footballing genius with an alcohol problem, he was around long enough to play at 2 World Cups and a European Championships.
Paul was in Belfield Park recently for the UCD v Waterford United game. I had met him once before I think at an FAI International Awards Night , and he at least had the manners to pretend to remember me which I was impressed by.
His discomfort with live TV is legendary. He was offered several chances to do broadcasting work when he hung up his boots, which he turned down, and there was the famous incident at the 2002 World Cup when the BBC had to send him home from Japan. Radio would suit him better I think as regards live and keep it to football please broadcasting organisations.
If they wanted to interview him about United they should have pre-recorded an interview with him earlier in the evening. He would have come across better and had a chance to maybe do one or two re-takes.
Hi CTID - like many on Footie, I've got to meet a few stars in my time. Paul McGrath and Rory Gallagher RIP are two I would rate as utter gentlemen.
Why, in God's name, do people ply Paul with alcohol. What kind of friends has he? Is there nobody who could pull him from potentially damaging situations? I know that only Paul can help himself ultimately but surely his management (Pat Egan isn't it?) could organise an booze avoidance straegy when sponsorship functions are arranged.
That poor man will die if something isn't done soon. Jesus, I even hated typing that.![]()
SirhamishOriginally Posted by sirhamish
Like you I have met the man and like you time has not diminshed my admiration for the man's talent. And I would echo your sentiments entirely.
He is one of the many players I admire that I have been fortunate enough to have met. He would be my favourite Irish player of all time. I also met Kevin Moran, Mick McCarthy and Niall Quinn, three others from his time in the National squad.
From overseas I had the pleasure of meeting, Savo Milosevic, Predrag Mijatovic, Dragan Stojkovic, Sinisa Mihajlovic and Dejan Savicevic, as well as their then coach Vujadin Boskov( League titles won in 4 different countries) when Yugoslavia trained in Belfied in 1999.
Good God, you get around!!
The dooorty fecker!!!Originally Posted by sirhamish