Page 40 of 44 FirstFirst ... 303839404142 ... LastLast

Thread: 2020 season arrivals and departures

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Tbf probably the best example of a club languishing in the 1st Division is Dundalk. While we came near Shels finances kept them quiet, Dundak tried to buy out of the graveyard a few times and failed and bar a crazy night and a Mark Scanlon goal I nearly think we'd still be there!! I'd presume that Cork are in for the long haul with Fenn and rebuilding. Having not seen 1st Divisions games for man many years thankfully, I couldnt guage Cork's current said on how well they could do in the 1st. MSC, preseason it woudnt have looked great but there has to be some progression - if not then FORAS have a tough choice to makes when the season ends, though covid could have bought Fenn time.
    Colin Scanlon! Do the hero the credit of remembering his name!

41 Posts

Something brilliant about that video. Limerick sending the keeper up for some reason even though they had nothing to play for, the Limerick fan who falls onto the pitch after they score and the reaction in Newbridge when Dundalk find out they've been promoted.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Never forget.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

875 Posts
    Oppps, and I did know it was Colin and not Mark yet still managed to get it wrong. One of the best things about that goal was the young lad falling off and over the barrier on to the pitch from the Ballybough End and just bounced up and continued celebrating is if he'd just scored and won the league himself!

Also the Kildare stewards running to escort John Gill off the pitch as they seemed to think the wave of Dundalk fans swarming toward them had some sinister intentions.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 06/10/2020 at 9:58 PM.

Truthfully that night in Tolka Park was one of my most memorable as a Limerick fan. There was something faintly surreal about the whole thing. The few Dundalk fans in with us behind the goal, there was a friend there who was leaving the country to move home shortly afterwards and knew it would likely be their last Limerick game ever, the vaguely impressive level of noise when they scored and the deafening silence from three quarters of the ground when we did (the flying Limerick fan was a highlight too obviously). The little posse of Shels teenage wannabe hooligans who sprinted fully 75% of the pitch towards the Limerick fans, howling venom and threatening all sorts of violence, only to stop and mill around awkwardly at a safe distance to wait for the stewards to 'force' them back. Whenever anybody mentions the word Schadenfreude, the Limerick fans' reaction to our late goal is instantly, joyfully, what I think of.

I will be 40 in March, the kid at the end of my username here is frankly inappropriate at this stage, and I should be old enough to be at least quasi-embarrassed at the wild, malicious glee I felt at that moment. But I'm so glad I was there for it and I don't think that will ever change. The League of Ireland was good to me lads, especially at a time when I needed something in my life to feel passionate about. Memories.
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 07/10/2020 at 4:08 PM.

537 Posts
    Truthfully that night in Tolka Park was one of my most memorable as a Limerick fan. There was something faintly surreal about the whole thing. The few Dundalk fans in with us behind the goal, there was a friend there who was leaving the country to move home shortly afterwards and knew it would likely be their last Limerick game ever, the vaguely impressive level of noise when they scored and the deafening silence from three quarters of the ground when we did (the flying Limerick fan was a highlight too obviously). The little posse of Shels teenage wannabe hooligans who sprinted fully 75% of the pitch towards the Limerick fans, howling venom and threatening all sorts of violence, only to stop and mill around awkwardly at a safe distance to wait for the stewards to 'force' them back. Whenever anybody mentions the word Schadenfreude, the Limerick fans' reaction to our late goal is instantly, joyfully, what I think of.

I will be 40 in March, the kid at the end of my username here is frankly inappropriate at this stage, and I should be old enough to be at least quasi-embarrassed at the wild, malicious glee I felt at that moment. But I'm so glad I was there for it and I don't think that will ever change. The League of Ireland was good to me lads, especially at a time when I needed something in my life to feel passionate about. Memories.
    Welcome back SadloserKid Long time no hear!!

875 Posts
    Great to hear that addition to that nights events. We had started to leave just before FT, wanted to beat the 1200 Dundalk fans that would be filing out in misery and then sitting in traffic. The silence from the Shels crowd when COLIN Scanlon scored wasnt quite like the polite applause the team got from the Dundalk fans but it was obviously muted. The the ripples of shouts started, people started running back in to the temporary stand to see what was going on. Some were sprinting back in to the ground and battling past the stewards on the gates. People not believing that it wasnt a rumour or joke as had happened earlier on the night. The confirmation of what had happened in Tolka eventually getting through - its a wonder the mobile phone network didnt cave in the area as everyone seemed to be on the phone to get people to check eh Aertel among others. There were those who were already in full celebration by the time the bulk of the crowd now believed the unbelievable had just happened and were swarming across the pitch toward the players. Seeing the players go from the same despondent emotion to turning to run toward the Dundalk fans in celebration before congregating in front of the main stand. Once again any trophy was grabbed to be presented. The team stopped off to pick up the actual trophy from Tolka, then stopped for a few beers on the way back up the M1 so by the time they got back to Oriel half the town was in Oriel with the party in full swing. Aidan Lynch in behind the bar just pourig pints was already amusing as he was a bit the worse for wear himself by then but then the league trophy was handed over to be filled by Aidan who got as many taps as possible running to full the trophy- feck knows what beers were mixed but the popular story is a mix o Harp and Macardles of course but I doubt anyone cared, the trophy was filled a few times and did a few laps of the Lilywhite Lounge!!
    Last edited by Nesta99; 07/10/2020 at 6:23 PM.

69 Posts
    Fenn and Gamble gone from Cork, so the rumour goes (Trevor Welch has tweeted it).

Maybe Fenn has walked away to keep a relegation off his CV...

27 Posts
    Colin Healy to be manager till end of the season. Apparently.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    Fenn and Gamble gone from Cork, so the rumour goes (Trevor Welch has tweeted it).

Maybe Fenn has walked away to keep a relegation off his CV...
    It's never a cause to celebrate when someone loses their job, but I'll happily make an exception for Neale Fenn

271 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sidefx View Post
    Would he not just turn Cork City into a feeder club ? It could be the case aswell that his offer is better than nothing to keep the ship afloat for the time being.

A squad top heavy with foreign loanees was a massive gamble and he's paid the price for it. Too late in the day to save themselves I think.

875 Posts
    Sounds like its as much about keeping things afloat than just the football with Fenn being cut loose.

172 Posts
    You'd have to wonder why did it take so long-- he's been dying on his arێ for a few months now, and their recent performances were a disgrace. Can they still get out of trouble?

773 Posts
    We had no chance of staying up with him. We are rolling the dice with Healy but 5 maybe 6 points will probably get us into a playoff so its worth it imo.

3,223 Posts
    In fairness, if Cork win their game in hand, they're off the foot of the table. Albeit they've Bohs and Dundalk next up.

So yeah, they certainly can get out of trouble. (They mightn't, but they can) But that's just relegation trouble. It seems they've other issues as well which are bigger at this stage though.

773 Posts
    In fairness, if Cork win their game in hand, they're off the foot of the table. Albeit they've Bohs and Dundalk next up.

So yeah, they certainly can get out of trouble. (They mightn't, but they can) But that's just relegation trouble. It seems they've other issues as well which are bigger at this stage though.
    What other issues are those? You mean off the pitch?

3,223 Posts
    The takeover for £1 and the "sinking ship" stuff.

Doesn't look particularly promising overall unfortunately.

773 Posts
    The takeover for £1 and the "sinking ship" stuff.

Doesn't look particularly promising overall unfortunately.
    An offer for the club is going to be voted on at the end of the month. In all probability it will rejected. Hardly see how that impacts anything in the future - it would be a bit different if it was a serious takeover alright.
    What part of the "sinking ship" stuff doesn't look particularly promising. It was just a tweet from the wrong account from an ex-board member.

Page 40 of 44 FirstFirst ... 303839404142 ... LastLast