Page 26 of 81 FirstFirst ... 1624252627283676 ... LastLast

Thread: Caoimhín Kelleher GK Liverpool b.1998

3,215 Posts
    Two-legged League Cup semi final against Arsenal and the FA Cup tie against Shrewsbury coming up now in the next fortnight. Nice chance to get a run in the team.

408 Posts
    Brilliant. That's exactly what he and we need. Still can't see him dislodging Alisson but a good run of back to back games to show he is knocking on the door would mean Bazunu really needs to perform to keep the jersey (if he still has it by then!) and that's what we want.

55 Posts
    2nd goal was At fault ...pulisic head down you rushed and pressed the guy. Very shy. 1st goal was a screamer. 2nd go for the guy like Dassaev did one on one vs good old Tony Galvin!!!!!

55 Posts
    Kelleher is like a boy scout he needs one or two years living in Greater Bs As living in Hurlingham, Wilde or William C. Morris to man up a bit. He needs to be a real scoundrel to advance there. Too nice fellow too soon. Chillavert Dassaev Kahn El Mono Burgos, Neuer would have killed pulisic in that one.

3,215 Posts
    And from the BBC match report -

Liverpool's second-choice goalkeeper Kelleher, 23, can be rightly satisfied with his performance as deputy for Alisson, making two fine saves from Pulisic and exuding an air of calm command that marks him out as someone of huge promise.
    Was Liverpool's best player going on their match ratings (which I think are voted for by the public, so I'd probably take them with a pinch of salt)

1,093 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bielsa´s irish View Post
    2nd goal was At fault ...pulisic head down you rushed and pressed the guy. Very shy. 1st goal was a screamer. 2nd go for the guy like Dassaev did one on one vs good old Tony Galvin!!!!!
    Hyper critical here. I don't think he had a hope for either goal. Did very well, in my view.

454 Posts

Was Liverpool's best player going on their match ratings (which I think are voted for by the public, so I'd probably take them with a pinch of salt)
    Super display delighted for him. He is a late developer only been a specialist keeper since he was 13/14 bazunu was nearly playing for rovers firsts at that age! Kelleher has put away grabara, karius and Adrian so far but Allison will be a step to far I'd say.. I'd expect he goes out to a top flight club somewhere in Europe next season.

Liverpool got 12 million for Danny ward off the back of a good championship season they will get 25millon for kelleher after next season

55 Posts
    No way , he must man up and work hard on his aggressiveness. Too nice a goalie is a BAD goalie...scoundrel gk are the BEST since they invented this old tricky game

244 Posts
    Thought he was very good, not at fault for either goal. His decisive intervention in the first half essentially prevented a goal, and he saved all the ones he was expected to in a high pressure game. The reaction save he made in the second might be brushed of as “right at him” but positioning does count for a lot in this game. Fair play to him and long may his progression continue.

604 Posts
    He seems to have an developed an unfortunate habit of facing goal of the season contenders, the sort of strikes that normally end up in row Z - I mean the 1st goal must have been particularly frustrating - a whipped free-kick comes flying at it and he meets it with a punch that puts the ball 25 yards clear, only for Kovacic to hit it perfectly and give him no chance. Note - if Allisson had taken the ball off a forward's toe the way Kelleher did to Pulisic, the commentators would have been purring about what a world-class keeper he is.

Quote Originally Posted by samhaydenjr View Post
    He seems to have an developed an unfortunate habit of facing goal of the season contenders, the sort of strikes that normally end up in row Z - I mean the 1st goal must have been particularly frustrating - a whipped free-kick comes flying at it and he meets it with a punch that puts the ball 25 yards clear, only for Kovacic to hit it perfectly and give him no chance. Note - if Allisson had taken the ball off a forward's toe the way Kelleher did to Pulisic, the commentators would have been purring about what a world-class keeper he is.
    Once he doesn't bring his unfortunate habit into games against Luxembourg he will presumably be fine.

205 Posts
    Media match reports, LFC forums all massively positive about Kelleher. Only sceptics to be found here for some strange reason, not that anyone has an agenda,

2,690 Posts

I saw that BBC quote too and was going to go looking for it to post it here. Sums up my view of his performance. It was his demeanour that impressed me most.

2,690 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    Media match reports, LFC forums all massively positive about Kelleher. Only sceptics to be found here for some strange reason, not that anyone has an agenda,
    Who was sceptical?I only noticed Bielsa who should be disregarded for obvious reasons.

408 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    Eh?

He had a great game and we want more! It's OK to like multiple Irish players lads. Him looking as good as he looked doesn't change my overall feeling that he'd be in a better spot if he was playing week in week out. He looks quality and would be #1 elsewhere. Is he a Liverpool fan do people know?

As stu points out he has a chance at a little run here with the cup games coming up but that was a proper test and he passed it. Second goal he might have done better with with a few more years of experience (maybe a keeper can weigh in there - he looked a bit frozen and maybe could have close the angles a bit?) and maybe Liverpool would have been a bit more stable at the back with Alisson behind them but that's being incredibly nit picky and as you'd expect with the backup keeper in. What I saw was really promising, particularly in possession where he looked really comfortable with their press. If anything he was calmer than a few on his own team. You'd have to say he wasn't really tested by anything worth a world class save bar maybe the 2nd but that's not his fault and he did what was asked of him. Good save at the feet of Pulisic and he was in the right spot for the one drilled just to his left. You couldn't ask for much more. I still want to see him play a season for his own good. You want to see how someone deals with a blip and, as I said, we didn't see him at full stretch but I'd have no issues if he was picked for the next Ireland game. Same for the other two at this stage but that would tilt in his favor with a run of games.

167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I saw that BBC quote too and was going to go looking for it to post it here. Sums up my view of his performance. It was his demeanour that impressed me most.
    Pulled off a couple of brilliant saves and had no chance with either goal. But his ability to play like a center back with the ball at his feet impressed me most. He's more than comfortable in that Liverpool defence.

454 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mark12345 View Post
    Pulled off a couple of brilliant saves and had no chance with either goal. But his ability to play like a center back with the ball at his feet impressed me most. He's more than comfortable in that Liverpool defence.
    I agree thought he did really well. Compare that to mendy who made things easy for mane by going to ground for liverpools first and was beaten at his near post by Sarah from an angle where going near post was always going to be the easiest for Salah. If kelleher had let those in there would be lots of giving out on here. Allison has made big errors in the 2021 calendar year against spurs, West ham , man City and Leicester leading to goals and droped points the likes of which if kelleher had made lads on here would be saying he was league of ireland standard

205 Posts
    Spot on. I’ve not heard a single report, comment or post anywhere suggesting that he was at fault for the second goal except here. I’m struggling to understand why some people can’t recognise that he is already shaping up to be an outstanding goalkeeper. And one who is ideally suited to the style of play that Kenny / Barry want us to play.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000
    Good performance from Caoimhin. One excellent save, a couple more standard saves, reasonable distribution apart from one wayward pass, and couldn’t do anything about the goals. Overall, very solid. Great to see from an irish perspective.
    Fantastic performance in a top of the table clash at the highest level of English club football. That still won't be good enough for Kenny, but that's not his fault.

1,912 Posts
    Caoimhin's air of confidence, general attitude and skill levels were remarkable in a highly competitive pressure league game between two top teams who would not look out place in the CL final.

Page 26 of 81 FirstFirst ... 1624252627283676 ... LastLast