Thread: Philly Or Ryan

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    Lads i started this thread to see who the fans think should be playing. i agree with the fantastic record our back 5 has achieved. But i put it to you, would he have conseaded less,maybe, maybe not but would a more attack minded right back result in more delieveries into the box and therefor more goals?
    In my opinion the best attacking full back we had in recent times was Ian Rossiter. Ian got forward with every opportunity and he both created and scored some great goals. That's the plus side of an attacking full back. The negative side is that because he liked to get forward then he was also caught out of position a good deal of the time. People will tell you that most goals we conceeded during Ian's time with Rovers was down our right side.
    I think one thing that we can learn from both examples is that a defender that only defends concentrates 100% on defending whereas he that likes to get forward and is more creative has a divided role. So it's a matter of choice really.
    'Don't dream - to dream is to be disappointed'

Quote Originally Posted by Petmuller
    In my opinion the best attacking full back we had in recent times was Ian Rossiter. Ian got forward with every opportunity and he both created and scored some great goals. That's the plus side of an attacking full back. The negative side is that because he liked to get forward then he was also caught out of position a good deal of the time. People will tell you that most goals we conceeded during Ian's time with Rovers was down our right side.
    I think one thing that we can learn from both examples is that a defender that only defends concentrates 100% on defending whereas he that likes to get forward and is more creative has a divided role. So it's a matter of choice really.
    Good point about rossiter and i agree.
    However i think that if ryan was to go forward and get balss into the box he would have both the pace and desire to get back and help the defence again,something which rossiter didnt really have.Also Raf could easily fill in for him or whoever is playing in the holding midfield role.

I agree that defensively Phill is sound but so is Ryan, also Phill gets chances to attack but waists them and that then means we have one less avenue of attack. Ryan is proven to be a much better ball player, so when the right back gets a chance to attack it will be taken advantage of by Ryan.

Formerly: wild rover
    ryan for now i suppose.....cotterill will take over in july...he isnt signing him to just sit in the stands

neither......sean purcell for me.

hopefully ryan will get a run in the team soon cos come July Chris Cotterill will probably be right back leaving both ryan and phillip out in the cold

Is ryan back from injury. He can play central back or midfield as well,hopefully if he's fit he will play tonite. Im sure he will get his chance when Liam Burns leaves us(hopefully he wont) and anyway cotterill can play on the wing i think so he mite yet make the right full back position his own yet.Regards Philly he is a good player but with the ball all he does is hoof it,and he usually slices it as well

he wont play ryan centre back....when he is fit[not yet i think] he will start....at right back

Foot.ie!

Has to be ryan for me. Hopefully he get,s his chance tonight game v harps and keep,s gallagher out of the team for the rest of the season.

can confirm that gary curran is starting tonight.delighted with this news coz he's a class act.

ryan

Don't think he will be playing.Still injured.
    Heard from a reliable source,wildrover knows who that is.

totally agree,we need to get him out of the team.he was turned inside out so many times,he can't attack,when he has the ball its hit and hope.he never looks for a man.at times he seems to panic when he has the ball.his throws or poor too.he can't throw it too far.this might seem like a small thing but compare them with lows throws on the other side.he sets up goo attacking options for us with his throws.he can't cross a ball either.i know this might seem harsh but im not just jumping on the bandwagon.for me he's been a problem all season.

ya i noticed that as well tonight.id like to see sean purcell given a chance when he returns from injury.he's struggling with his hamstring.

Lads all I'm going to say is that actions speak louder than words. Harps even noted the weakness and sent there best player (Kevin McHugh) out the left side. It was embarassing.

Case closed.

One sentence sums up Philip Gallagher "he is not a footballer"...............

last night i struggled to believe he was a human being!

sign a right back sean

or as i said last night 8 times

"TAKE HIM OFF!!!!"

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    ffs lads easy on the personal insults will ye!
    Hes not too bad at them himself, what goes around comes around.