Thread: WUFC next Friday......

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan
    what, take over the stand, tut, tut!

Lads, it aint going to happen because I'll tell you why and for a number of reasons.

1) The stand holds around 1270 paying spectators in blocks A to E. Away fans are allocated Block A which holds around 200-250. They cannot sit any where else in the stand and those not sitting in their designated seats will be asked to leave and refusal to relinquish a seat will result in removal by a steward or by a member of the Gardai who have been instructed to deal with any trouble maker in an appropriate manner; c/\wkies or otherwise.
    Why hasnt this happened before, many times City fans have spilled over into block b, didnt see any being kicked out for that?

Quote Originally Posted by Partiboi
    2) WUFC has stated specifically that 200 tickets will be given to away fans. Now note you cannot gain entrance to the stand without a stand ticket. You have to pass through several burly stewards and cops if you want to try your Beamish induced strenght, but we can give you a good send off as you get carted off in the back of the paddy wagon for your nightly shower in the cop shop.
    Why do WUFC sell too many stand tickets so? Consider that most people stand and that means you get a lot more people than the 250 seats in block A, then there are the City fans who sit in Block B and then the City fans left on the pitchside who also have stand tickets?
    Oh no not them again

1) The stand holds around 1270 paying spectators in blocks A to E. Away fans are allocated Block A which holds around 200-250. They cannot sit any where else in the stand and those not sitting in their designated seats will be asked to leave and refusal to relinquish a seat will result in removal by a steward or by a member of the Gardai who have been instructed to deal with any trouble maker in an appropriate manner; c/\wkies or otherwise.
    Do you honestly think that, if the situation arose, they'd be stupid enough to attempt to remove hundereds of City fans?? That would only be likely to end in tears.

2) WUFC has stated specifically that 200 tickets will be given to away fans. Now note you cannot gain entrance to the stand without a stand ticket. You have to pass through several burly stewards and cops
    They always sell as many stand tickets to away fans as they can, always a lot more than 200. Remember not every member of the Rebel Army will be wearing a City jersey or scarf.
    As for the burly stewards, they must be new! In the past all we've had to deal with are a few pensioners and inbred looking garden knomes who look like they just turn up on the day and put on a stewards bib.

3) you trying to tell me that hundreds will be travelling from C/\wk, are you serious?
    Yeah, as usual.

4) enjoy the view from the track and thanks for the money.
    As Pete said, if Waterford don't allocate a proper away section yet again they should be punished for it as per the licensing laws.
    Champions!

30 Posts
    boys,

you forgot our season ticket holders.

They take up quite alot of the middle block and Block B....so its looking like a tight fight for the C/\wkies in Block A.

boys,

you forgot our season ticket holders.

They take up quite alot of the middle block and Block B....so its looking like a tight fight for the C/\wkies in Block A.
    You must be thinking of "ROW A" not Block A. Surely your 5 season ticket holders don't take up more than a seat each FFS.

42 Posts
    Kick off is 7.30pm tonight lads as always at RSC and not 7.45 as it says on the Cork City fc site.We wouldn't want ye missing the first 15 minutes now .

Quote Originally Posted by trevy
    Kick off is 7.30pm tonight lads as always at RSC and not 7.45 as it says on the Cork City fc site.We wouldn't want ye missing the first 15 minutes now .
    Thanks for that info .There should be excellent city support at this game

Murphys playing BTW
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Good city support there to-night .Pity city didnt hold on after going ahead twice,After waterford going down to ten men.Good to see George getting man of the match

Very, very disappointing.....
    We threw away 2 points there last night.
    I thought we were very flat right from kick-off. Thinking of Monday night?
    Waterford are a poor side, all they really had last night was spirit and fight, and they probably deserved their point.
    However, Rico could have made changes when Frost was sent off. A few changes just to slow the game down, hold on to the ball and run the clock down.
    We have to play the 2 teams above us in the next two games, I think we need to get at least 4 points from those.

Fantasic City support last night. We were 100 times better then the home crowd. When I was leaving the ground I was so gutted that we didn't win. That ref was a disgrace. I never saw anyone so bad in my life. Half of the offsides the linesman gave in the 2nd half were no wher near offside IMO. Atleast Shels didn't win anyway. Citys next 5 games are going to be massive ones. It will decided wheather we have a chance of winning the league or not. Let's keep the faith anyway. COME ON CITY!

Erra, its not the end of the world. on the way down i predicted a draw. we should be killing teams off, but the rsc is a pretty tough place to go to, Waterford had a 100% record at home until last night so it's not a bad result..
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Not a bad result, but we should have won the bloody game. Rico has to put Gamble back in the starting 11 asap, that way substitutions wouldn't be as much of an issue, because he'd be playing his best team. Disappointing game at the worst ground in the country

All very well seeing the glass as being half full Ruairi, but truth's the best. Getting a draw at the RSC = a top three finish in the EL at best. We have to take three points from weaker teams, no matter how tough the venue.
    Comments about the ref above are spot on. He was appalling as was the linesman on the stand side. Devine made two outstanding saves in the second half, tipping the ball over the bar, and the ref signalled the ball went wide. It was obvious from the very back of the stand. I am not bitching about this obviously, but it is more evidence that the standard of EL referreeing is woeful. We deserve better as supporters, and it must be a nightmare for players who expect a dividend for their efforts.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

1) The stand holds around 1270 paying spectators in blocks A to E. Away fans are allocated Block A which holds around 200-250.
    Yet WUFC were happy to sell a lot more than that number to City fans last night- at least 300-350, if not more.

1) They cannot sit any where else in the stand
    But last night were allowed to purchase tickets for the WUFC section, and then allowed sit there and/or stand in the steps.

those not sitting in their designated seats will be asked to leave and refusal to relinquish a seat will result in removal by a steward or by a member of the Gardai who have been instructed to deal with any trouble maker in an appropriate manner
    which certainly didn't happen last night.

2) WUFC has stated specifically that 200 tickets will be given to away fans.
    They sold around twice that number to city fans last night. I spoke to a number of people who were told that the City allocation for the stand had sold out, so they just asked for a ticket for the Waterford section and were given these, despite wearing City colours

Now note you cannot gain entrance to the stand without a stand ticket.
    Thats true. All you have to do is go back out and ask them to change it and they will, though.

3) you trying to tell me that hundreds will be travelling from C/\wk, are you serious?
    At very least 500 City fans down there last night, i'd say it was closer to 800 myself. We had about half the stand (incl all those standing up the back) and about a quarter of those standing around the death-trap fencing.

4) enjoy the view from the track and thanks for the money.
    what view?

Partizan, all jokes aside, the situation in the RSC last night was (again) very dangerous. The stand was packed beyond capacity, dangerously so, and its only a matter of time before there is a serious incident. I saw a number of punches thrown at the end of the game on the running track (who started it or why is irrelevant). The RSC is an absolute deathtrap once there's any kind of crowd down there at all, principally due to gross negligence with respect to ticket sales by WUFC. If you're not worried about that fine.

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    Getting a draw at the RSC = a top three finish in the EL at best.
    Agreed .... there is no excuse for not taking the points really .... what do they need to beat teams like that ?? It is not really good enough if we are going to try and take honours this season.

Roll on Monday and sort that out !!
    3 points .... in the bag !!

Still can't understand how we didn't win by a few goals. Waterford had 2 chances including the penalty & scored both.

Was 400-500 City fans whoich was probably 1/3 of the attendance. Home support useless as usual & barely a clap all evening. "Management" of tickets is pathetic. No numbers on tickets - how difficult is that? Wasn't just a case of people buying tickets for home section & moving to city side as stand was at least 20% over capacity.

I discovered the advantage of track around pitch - bicycle garda can use it to do laps