Thread: Matches weekend 13th september

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trevy View Post
    Big win last night for Waterford which virtually assures premier division football. We got a bit of luck with first goal but second was a lovely goal.The penalty decision right at the end went our way and it was over a minute or so over the 4 minutes added time when it happened anyway.
    Looked a pen alright but after that display Bohs don’t deserve any excuse. Second Waterford goal was a nice finish but home “defending” left s lot to be desired throughout. Squad down to bear bones but defence was experienced enough to do a lot better.

Not looking forward to Derry next week 😵

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Looked a pen alright but after that display Bohs don’t deserve any excuse. Second Waterford goal was a nice finish but home “defending” left s lot to be desired throughout. Squad down to bear bones but defence was experienced enough to do a lot better.

Not looking forward to Derry next week 
    Wait until RH's forensic analysis before deciding anything conlsuiive!

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dejadem View Post
    Congrats to Shels on their title.
    It has been some season for Cabinteely.
    I fully agree - congratz to the real Shels supporters and their club, promotion means so much to clubs. Best of luck next season.

Table does not lie and no complaints about last nights result as we were not disciplined enough leading to the sending off - always tough with ten men in such a game. Something we need to learn from.

Playoffs here we come
    Drogheda United in this together

535 Posts
    In fairness to Shels they thoroughly deserve their title after the hard years they have suffered. Hope they go from strength to strength and go back to where they originally were.

144 Posts
    Absolutely ecstatic were are back in the Premier Division. I fancied our chances to seal it last night as Drogheda's head-to-head results against the top 5 teams in the more crunch games was underwhelming

Huge credit to Ian Morris and his coaching staff, for an inexperienced manager to turn it around after a poor start to win the league is a magnificent achievement. Also the squad had question marks too about their effort after the poor start and their response says it all. We will have to strengthen in alot of areas to finish in the Top 8 next season and I think the club will do that
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

342 Posts
    Don't fu*k with Tim Clancy
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

1,081 Posts
    He might get in trouble for that, though I hope he doesn't as he was dead right.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    Some result for Galway tonight. 1 nil down at Half time, win 7-1. Marooned (pun intended) in 8th place in the 1st. It was only 3 years ago they were beating Dundalk 1-0. but maybe signs of something positive from the result tonight for next year.
    It's strange to see you actually posting something about "Galway".

Some performance from us last night - don't want the season to end now. It's a pity we didn't have this squad in place at the start of the season, the 3-4 signings have really strengthened us. If we can retain the key players from this season and improve on it with a few additions we'll definitely be in the hunt for promotion next year. It was great to see a ruthless edge to us last night, it's something United sides often lack.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

76 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olander View Post
    It's strange to see you actually posting something about "Galway".

Some performance from us last night - don't want the season to end now. It's a pity we didn't have this squad in place at the start of the season, the 3-4 signings have really strengthened us. If we can retain the key players from this season and improve on it with a few additions we'll definitely be in the hunt for promotion next year. It was great to see a ruthless edge to us last night, it's something United sides often lack.
    I agree it must seem strange. Bit of a lapsed supporter.There was 5/6 years where I was at nearly every game between 07-13, but University and other life missions got in the way of that. Went to Terryland sporadically after that. I've seen a lot of bad things go down in that period. Bleak. Hope the future is rosier than the past decade has been with all the upheaval.
    Last edited by CorribsideSteve; 14/09/2019 at 12:48 PM.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    I agree it must seem strange. Bit of a lapsed supporter.There was 5/6 years where I was at nearly every game between 07-13, but University and other life missions got in the way of that. Went to Terryland sporadically after that. I've seen a lot of bad things go down in that period. Bleak. Hope the future is rosier than the past decade has been with all the upheaval.
    Keep the faith, better days are coming
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

427 Posts
    In fairness to Shels they thoroughly deserve their title after the hard years they have suffered. Hope they go from strength to strength and go back to where they originally were.
    Ringsend? 😁 fair dues to Shels, glad to see them back but with the squad they had anything less would be an embarrassment.
    As shown in recent seasons, there is a big gap between first and Premier so need a fair bit of improvement to stay up.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Don't fu*k with Tim Clancy
    If Conor Kearns get a 6 match ban I look forward to seeing the length of a ban that actual knacker gets for grabbing a young Shels fan by the throat
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    If Conor Kearns get a 6 match ban I look forward to seeing the length of a ban that actual knacker gets for grabbing a young Shels fan by the throat
    Think Kearns got 5 games the other was by UCD.
    Not sure the two are remotely similar incidents but we will see.

131 Posts
    Presuming Longford can't catch up Drogs 10 goal goal difference, Drogs finish second after Bray beat Longford. Cabinteely v Longford in the first play-off.

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    Presuming Longford can't catch up Drogs 10 goal goal difference, Drogs finish second after Bray beat Longford. Cabinteely v Longford in the first play-off.
    Good result for Drogs - more rest time etc.

I really didn’t see Longford losing that match.
    Drogheda United in this together

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    Good result for Drogs - more rest time etc.

I really didn’t see Longford losing that match.
    The ref we had last night was shocking. Paul Keegan on three occasions got away with not being sent off. But game changed with the sendings off after we took the lead from a lapse in concentration for Bray. Our first sending off was for 2 yellow cards should be one game suspension. As for the second one Anto Breslin could be getting a three game suspension for a straight red.
    Think Cabo game in playoffs is going to be extremely tough considering we will be two players down!

Quote Originally Posted by Olander View Post
    Keep the faith, better days are coming
    Reports from Galway is ye are going for broke next season, with the Comers backing hugely. Is Murphy another Clancy or will the Comers bring in a new manager aswell?
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Murphy staying on. For me, he’s done a good job this year given the budget constraints. Some silly decisions to play himself in games but he’s learning too. He’s big on attitude which I like; for too long we’ve had too many lads who don’t give a ****e.

We’ve some v good young players who will be better next season.

36 Posts
    The ref we had last night was shocking. Paul Keegan on three occasions got away with not being sent off. But game changed with the sendings off after we took the lead from a lapse in concentration for Bray. Our first sending off was for 2 yellow cards should be one game suspension. As for the second one Anto Breslin could be getting a three game suspension for a straight red.
    Think Cabo game in playoffs is going to be extremely tough considering we will be two players down!
    Think Cabo in the play-offs is going to be tough given that Jack Doherty is carrying this Longford team. Too many players raised their game for Bohs in the cup, yet in the recent matches that really mattered (Shels and Bray), they went missing. Absolute stupidity from Chambers. Keegan got away with his as he was more subtle about it. Bray deserved their win. Didn't think Doyle did much in the dugout to motivate/manage the players. Doesn't strike me as management material.
    Last edited by hollocaine; 15/09/2019 at 11:12 PM.

A major bookie was running a generous special on Bohs , Pats , Sligo rovers all to win looked great on paper and even upped to odds late on to encourage more bets yet alas Bohs lost and Pats failed to win, obviously Bohs were distracted by the Cup but what was the story with Pats?