Thread: Roy Keane Testimonial V Celtic

Quote Originally Posted by sylvo
    I suppose Man United fans singing songs about Bill Shanky's death is never going to upset anyone and put anyone's nose out of joint.
    Yeah it's only Munich and Matt Busby singing that's acceptable, obviously.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Yeah it's only Munich and Matt Busby singing that's acceptable, obviously.

Oh I take it Celtic fans are getting blamed for those songs as well then, I've been to Irish pubs in Manchester on a saturday night and seen people in Man U shirts singing along to bands playing those very same songs that seem to have caused huge offence at Old Trafford. :
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by sylvo
    Oh I take it Celtic fans are getting blamed for those songs as well then, I've been to Irish pubs in Manchester on a saturday night and seen people in Man U shirts singing along to bands playing those very same songs that seem to have caused huge offence at Old Trafford. :
    No doubt, at the time it píssed people off. And considering the relationship that was there between the fans before that, it does seem to have changed. The last time I was at one, it wasn't the big scarf swap fest it used to be...

Quote Originally Posted by fenabhoy
    The consensus on various Cellic MB's is that they're none too keen on the concept of this game.IMO,They're right......unless of course it's for Charity?
    They shouldn't go then. It's not rocket science, there is a choice in these games (that's supposed to be the point - fans rewarding players).

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    They shouldn't go then. It's not rocket science, there is a choice in these games (that's supposed to be the point - fans rewarding players).
    Macy, as I've already pointed out. I would wager that the vast majority of celtic fans that go, would not be going in support of Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, Bryan Robson etc....- But more because it was a day on the **** in England - end of story. In fact a significant number who make the journey down (or up for that matter!) won't even make the game.

The last scarf swap fest was in fact probably Robsons.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    Macy, as I've already pointed out. I would wager that the vast majority of celtic fans that go, would not be going in support of Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, Bryan Robson etc....- But more because it was a day on the **** in England - end of story. In fact a significant number who make the journey down (or up for that matter!) won't even make the game.
    I get all that, but if Keano decides to pocket the money himself, there's no point giving out and going the game. More effective not to buy a ticket (and as you say go on the píss in the city all day/night).

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    The last scarf swap fest was in fact probably Robsons.
    Defo, although the next one was Hughesy's I think, so we're both right?

He deserves his testimoanial (get it), cause we all know hes broke.......
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

Dont see the problem here, Keane is having a testimonial and he is getting a team that will bring a decent following down. I think it is quite obvious that this will go to charity. There is no way keane is going to have a testimonial to finance his back pocket. So it makes sense to get Celtic who will bring a big following for a meaningless game and there will be a few quid made for charity.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    I can see & Keane/ Cork Vs everyone else argument starting here......
    What an inteligent reply..

Keane is a legend..an IRISH/CORK legend at that..it makes me laugh when i see people on this forum slag the guy..the same guys will be cheering his every pass as they drink pints when we play Isreal next month..hypocrites..i hope he burns the testimonial money live on TV just to give some begrudgers something to whinge about ..then again i reckon the guide dogs for the blind and many other IRISH charitys will gain from this...

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    Keane is a legend..an IRISH/CORK legend at that..it makes me laugh when i see people on this forum slag the guy..the same guys will be cheering his every pass as they drink pints when we play Isreal next month..hypocrites..
    Typical Cork arrogance. Most people who have slagged off RMK on this forum and anywhere else have not cheered his every pass since he returned. I would suggested they have tolerated him by way of support for Brian Kerr.

Gonzo is right, there are fans who will never cheer him until he acknowledges that he let Ireland down in 2002 and 2003 when he was wanted most. I am one of them.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    Typical Cork arrogance. Most people who have slagged off RMK on this forum and anywhere else have not cheered his every pass since he returned. I would suggested they have tolerated him by way of support for Brian Kerr.

Gonzo is right, there are fans who will never cheer him until he acknowledges that he let Ireland down in 2002 and 2003 when he was wanted most. I am one of them.
    Definitely agree with that

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    Think he already acknowledges Ireland were let down in 2002 and 2003
    by the FAI and Mr. Mick McCarthy
    Sure he was the one who told us all about what they were up to!!