Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: The Offside show-Tv3 now

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    I guarantee you if shels were in our position you would be lucky to raise a grand.........

Learn your history, we've been in worse positions before. At least you still have your premier division status atm.

Ireland largest club…..p*ss off you boys think you own the league, you shouldve been deducted points or relegated years ago.
    We (drogheda utd) had to put up a bond and had an embargo on transfers for 3 months a few years ago. You lads go crying to the fai and everyone on the fact you are the oldest team blah blah blah.

Now I have to say its great when rovers come to town and great atmosphere. I have many rovers friends and have gone to see your lot in inchecore a few times.
    But I think you should be held accountable. Stop signing players and build the tallaght ground you might actually be a better club for it.

Watcing Dunphy was very annoying last night. Throughout his time on the Last Word he refused to mention or cover the eL. Now all of a sudden he is an expert because he was involved with Rovers in the 70s. Give me a break. How does he (or John Giles - who at least lives in the UK) become experts on the eL? I wonder when was the last time either one of them even attended a game.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Yeah that ****es me off about Dunphy. He right that the league has been a mess for years but the last few years have shown huge improvements all over the country. There is definately progress being made.

yeah dunphy was very condasending i thought.very little positives being mentioned by him in fairness he was talking reality.
    overall i thought the show was a huge improvement on last week.i enjoyed this weeks show as opposed to enduring last weeks.lean leis.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

watched about 2 mins of it (Keith O'Neill was on at the time) and I felt like burning down TV3 studios. absolute kak

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Watcing Dunphy was very annoying last night.

Ahh .... lads ..... what has Dunphy (or Giles for that matter) given back to Irish football ever !! Seriously ....... barr being a pundit for the premiershi* .... what has he done to ever help Irish football

The silence is deafening !!

Pakie Bonner, Eoin Hand and Don Given [SIZE=1]aka díckhead[/SIZE] and another few heads all did well from Irish football have at least given something back.

Dumpy has never given anything back ..... he is self serving and makes it very clear. He represents everything that is bad about Irish football !!

Giles and Dunphy tried to turn Rovers into a real force. But they were let down by the lack of ambition at the FAI and at all the other clubs around the country.

I can understand why he is bitter about the league, but, he cant stay bitter 4ever.

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    Giles and Dunphy tried to turn Rovers into a real force. But they were let down by the lack of ambition at the FAI and at all the other clubs around the country.

I can understand why he is bitter about the league, but, he cant stay bitter 4ever.
    Yes he can just look at Ian Paisley for example

Oul Big Ian is an old softy underneath all his guff.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb

Eamon Dunphy can't stay bitter forever?????

You all read far too much into Dunphy. He is simply a wind up merchant, he will say whatever goes against the grain to get a reaction, that's how he keeps himself in the public eye and remains on RTE. His opinions change from one week to the next. He's clearly very good at what he does, the proof being that he's still around in the papers, the radio and the TV but that's simply all there is too the man.

Tell me lads, what would you have liked Giles and Dunphy to say?
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

I would have liked them to say

"Earth!, Fire!, Wind! Water!, Heart!...By your powers combined I am Captain Planet"

At the same Time.

That would have been much better.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    watched about 2 mins of it (Keith O'Neill was on at the time) and I felt like burning down TV3 studios. absolute kak

I volunteer my services and large supply or petrol.

You all read far too much into Dunphy. He is simply a wind up merchant
    Correct, also the same guy who wanted Ireland to lose all their WC2002 games cos his money pony wasnt there.

kdjac

Virtually no irish internationals give anything back to the game in their own country. Whens the last time you've seen any of them help an eL or junior club without getting paid? Most of those players would be nobodies if it wasn't international status.

Holding a grudge for 30 odd years is fairly pathetic of Dunphy & Giles. Theres a lot wrong with the league but also some good things.

Interestingly Dunphy was complimentary on shels & fenlon last season but would be interesting to see if he could name any players.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Virtually no irish internationals give anything back to the game in their own country. Whens the last time you've seen any of them help an eL or junior club without getting paid?

A few years ago Giles and Dunphy done a Q&A session for my local club, along with Noel King. They didn't charge a cent, and the evening was a huge success. They were just supplied with a few G&Ts.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Interestingly Dunphy was complimentary on shels & fenlon last season but would be interesting to see if he could name any players.
    I missed that, what was he saying? That suprises me alot.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    I missed that, what was he saying? That suprises me alot.
    Last year during CL campaign. Something along the lines of he very professional & well done. Of course Dunphy stopped short of suggesting he'd actual attend a game.

Occasionally i think of trying to embarish Giles or Dunphy to attend an eL game but radio & tv never take thre bait.

Think it was along the lines of "The league in Ireland is badly run,shels do it right"
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast