Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: The Boys Are Back In Town!!! Great Night For Football!!! Cmon The POOL!!!!!!!!!!

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    795 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    Anyway, you are overlooking the Marseille vs Red Star final. The worst stuff I've ever seen.
    I mentioned that one earlier. Awful stuff with Red Star playing for penos from the 1st minute.

Who knows - when you expect a bad final it sometimes turns out to be a cracker.

Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu
    It's Traore I believe
    Sorry, Stew.

Traore, Traora or just plain old 'Crazy Legs' himself, in all fairness he had a great game last night.

Quote Originally Posted by Seano
    Traore, Traora or just plain old 'Crazy Legs' himself, in all fairness he had a great game last night.
    How about Djimi Long Legs

Djimi Long Legs .. I like it

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic
    Hope we play sh1te in the Final, get totally outplayed by superior opposition and then we score twice in the last two minutes to win.
    thats true:

http://www.manutdzone.com/playerpage...largephoto.jpg
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Saints4Ever
    I agree, a sad night for football. A team who'll play in Champions League final with a 9-1-0 formation. Most boring team I've ever seen.

Won their 1st corner in the 90th minute, said it all.
    its about winning not about how many corners you get in a game

Quote Originally Posted by stickyjoe
    a great night for football ? I certainly wouldn`t say that. One of the most defensively minded teams to ever reach a champions league final. as a neutral the match was awful last night
    being good in defence is just as important as being good in attack. chelsea had only one shot on goal in the two games.
    about the injury time. when the chelsea subs were being made the player leaving the pitch left at the touch line closest to them so it didnt take up too much time.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    welcome to ireland
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    This certainly represents a low-water mark in the history of European football.
    What a load of toss. Perhaps the 'low-water mark' that you're banging on about is the over-paid and over-rated prima donnas at clubs like Real Madrid? European football is all about tactics, due to the two legged ties, away goals etc. So far Benitez has got it 100% spot on. Liverpool are there on merit and deserve to be there. When Italian teams defend like that they are lauded, their defending is called 'an art'. When Liverpool do it they're 'Sh1t'. Sh1t teams do not get to the final of a competition over 12 games, 14 if you include qualifiers. Sh1t teams do not beat the likes of Juventus and Chelsea over two games, keeping 3 clean sheets in the process.

A champions League final in his first season is a superb achievement by Benitez. How many CL finals has the 'great' Sir Alex reached in all his years? One. Great my arse, tactically useless in europe more like. Ditto for Arsenal, who wouldn't win a European Cup even if all the other teams pulled out. Again, Wenger tactically useless in europe. And a nice little fact about this great Chelsea team is that last nights defeat at Anfield was their fourth straight defeat away from home in the CL this season. But we'll overlook that and just concentrate on how sh1t Liverpool are. Slag Traore, who is turning into a fine defender, instead of praising Carragher etc etc.

Just back from what was one of the greatest atmospheres EVER at any game in europe!! Still hoarse, and work thought i'd pulled a sickie, but i'll at least have the sore throat to back up my white lies What a night......14 heroes in red on the field and the non self-proclaimed 'special one' getting things bang on from the line. Liverpool fans showed last night that they've no equal in europe and possibly the world and let nobody delude themselves by thinking otherwise. Kezman certainly felt Anfields power cause i could smell the sh!te in his pants from where i was and his touch said as much too

People can bang on here about a defensive performance, but what would chelski or anybody else have done in the same situation? Gone gung-ho and look to kill off the game? Don't think so. You play to your strengths and expose the oppositions weaknesses and chelski posed little threat without duff and robben. Plus they had a lady-boy trying to break down the unwielding barrier that is Jamie Carragher! If they are supposed to be the team they are they shouldn't have had to resort to throwing a 6 4' centre half on to rescue matters. Sunday league teams get slated for that and we're talkin about the richest (and most artificial) club in the world deploying similar tactics? C'mon!

There is little reason why liverpool can't go and upset milan in a similar fashion and I don't think any liverpudlian would give two fcuks if it meant the european cup returning to anfield road on may 25th/26th.....for the 5th time!!
    Mens sana in corpore sano

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    What a load of toss. Perhaps the 'low-water mark' that you're banging on about is the over-paid and over-rated prima donnas at clubs like Real Madrid? European football is all about tactics, due to the two legged ties, away goals etc. So far Benitez has got it 100% spot on. Liverpool are there on merit and deserve to be there. When Italian teams defend like that they are lauded, their defending is called 'an art'. When Liverpool do it they're 'Sh1t'. Sh1t teams do not get to the final of a competition over 12 games, 14 if you include qualifiers. Sh1t teams do not beat the likes of Juventus and Chelsea over two games, keeping 3 clean sheets in the process.

A champions League final in his first season is a superb achievement by Benitez. How many CL finals has the 'great' Sir Alex reached in all his years? One. Great my arse, tactically useless in europe more like. Ditto for Arsenal, who wouldn't win a European Cup even if all the other teams pulled out. Again, Wenger tactically useless in europe. And a nice little fact about this great Chelsea team is that last nights defeat at Anfield was their fourth straight defeat away from home in the CL this season. But we'll overlook that and just concentrate on how sh1t Liverpool are. Slag Traore, who is turning into a fine defender, instead of praising Carragher etc etc.
    Bang on 4. People conveniently overlook certain aspects to suit their own needs and agendas. Fcuk the begrudgers and let them wallow in bitterness while we enjoy a nice foreign holiday to istanbul with the small matter of a 5th european cup to play for

Were you at the game?
    Mens sana in corpore sano

Quote Originally Posted by JoeSemi
    There is little reason why liverpool can't go and upset milan in a similar fashion and I don't think any liverpudlian would give two fcuks if it meant the european cup returning to anfield road on may 25th/26th.....for the 5th time!!
    Exactly, and all the Man U\Arsenal\Chelsea fans and Eamon Dunphy's of this world can stick their begrudging opinions where the sun don't shine, because guess what? We're where you all want to be. So put that in your pipe and smoke it

I was at the game Josemi. Just back myself. I've never experienced anything like it, the whole night, the celebrations in the City included. I'm prepared to pay what it takes to go to the final, so must have a look around at the packages and then pay a visit to the credit union! Let me know if you come across any good packages, at this stage it's not about the money, I just want to be there to see our 5th European cup victory

BTW Eanna, there were fans of all nationalities at last nights game. I met Scandanavians, Spaniards, Chinese, Japs, Turks, Dutch, Thai's, Scottish, Welsh etc all Liverpool fans. Why not Irish? I support my local EL club as well as Liverpool so I don't see a problem. If you're just an EL supporter and don't like Premiership football, then don't post in threads about premiership teams.
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 04/05/2005 at 11:37 PM.

Question Who will be doing what on the 25th?

The Langer From Togher: Mr. Keane will miss the game because he will be taking the dog for a long walk. May be too busy arranging his violent meeting with Mick McCarthy, post Saipan next season.

King Scum: The manager of M*******er United will be riding Rock of Gibraltar chewing his gum and arranging his legendary stopwatch used to bully referees to get extra injury time.

Jose Cocky Mourinho: Simply would argue that the best team lost because the fourth official failed to indicate 19 minutes of stoppage time.

Arsene Whinger: Watches the game but tells the reporter that he did not see the incident because he was on the phone to Thierry Henry telling him that he is the best striker in Europe.

Ugly Grumpy: Stuck in the RTE studio telling Bill, Liam and Johnny that Liverpool's appearance in the final would be an affront to football and he would rather see Keane lead M*******er United to European glory and boast about the scum of Manchester.

Gerard Houllier: Wish he was there!

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by green army
    its about winning not about how many corners you get in a game

As you can see I wasn't COUNTING the number of corners liverpool got I was talking about the minute they got their first corner.

your point is still irrelevant.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by green army
    your point is still irrelevant.

My point is relivent to Liverpools style of play.

How is your point relivant????
    Last edited by Hibs4Ever; 05/05/2005 at 8:17 AM.

My point is relivent to Liverpools style of play.

How is your point relivant????
    Yeah style of play, that would be a Winning style of play.....
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    I was at the game Josemi. Just back myself. I've never experienced anything like it, the whole night, the celebrations in the City included. I'm prepared to pay what it takes to go to the final, so must have a look around at the packages and then pay a visit to the credit union! Let me know if you come across any good packages, at this stage it's not about the money, I just want to be there to see our 5th European cup victory
    Chelsea can't have many complaints, 2 shots on target in 180 minutes.
    Unreal night, I haven't witnessed that kind of atmosphere since last summer in the Shed. Istanbul is an awful place to get to independently, it'll have to be a charter situation. Would prefer myself the idea of in and out the same day but i'll see what comes up. Ticket info won't be out til next week anyway.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

[QUOTE=razor]Chelsea can't have many complaints,QUOTE]

they can the fact liverpool didnt even score a goal yet still go through !!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast