Picture here...

Thumbs down

Shels did not cheat - any city fan who claims they did cannot be taken seriously.

Referees & linesmen are amateur but if clubs & league are'to become more professional then the officials have to also improve.

The "Goal"
    1. As said already there is no chance the linesman could be certain given his positioning & the fact he'd be watching for offside & not the goal line. Was a shocking decision & huge amount of cash involved!
    2. Supporters will jump up claiming goal anytime the ball gets near the line. We all do it so can't claim this means anything.
    3. IMO Harris looked very surprised that gosl was given - check out the look on his face on tv.

The Game:
    IMO neither side deserved to win 0-0 would have been fair.
    City were marginally on top in 1st half.
    Shels gained upper hand in possession stakes in 2nd when city gave the ball away too much as Behan & Fenn were wasteful.
    Kearney & Heary had fair battle. Heavy but mainly fair challenges. Heary deserved his booking as was beaten & would have been badly exposed if Kearney had passed him.

City were as good as shels overall. Aside from "goal" shels only had Harris shot i think in 1st half. City had Behan terrible missed header plus header off crossbar in 2nd.
    Considering we were missing O'Flynn, Doyle, Bennet, Murphy plus manager decision to leave Gamble on the bench showed we can match shels. As Rico said on tv now time to show we can pass shels.

In the first half we had more than one chance. Alan Moore had a shot saved from Devine after 5 minutes, there was also a goal mouth scramble which in the end was cleared and Wes and Byrne had chances. Just to point out.

I do have to agree fully with Pete on the comments of some people. Its fine to be piste off when your team loses esp if to a goal like that but some of the comments are off the wall. Eanna is making a play for most Insane post on the Shels site at the moment, and I think A Face is winning most childish here!!

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Smith
    Cop yourself on for goodness sake!
    No ..... i mean every bit of it and still stand by it.

Anymore name calling & will be handing out yellow cards as quick as a NI referee

71 Posts
    I'm not gonna even touch the goal issue with a barge pole. The only camera angle the seemed to show the goal line Setanta did not slow down on.

Anyway, anyone have an estimate for the crowd? How many did Cork bring? (Sorry if this has been answered already)

Christ lads it's not like you aren't bleedin' used to loseing to us.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Anyway, anyone have an estimate for the crowd? How many did Cork bring? (Sorry if this has been answered already)
    Main Stand: less than half full. 1300?
    Ballybough: 30
    Riverside: 300 city fans?
    New Stand: 80% full. How many is that.

2500?

I'm not bashing shels for the sake of it & should used to it at this stage but IMO the crowd was very poor even by shels standards. Shels fans behidn the goal at least make an effort but not a peek from main stand until after non-goal.

Lads lets face it,
    we didn't play well last night, we had at least 4 players who are starting eleven out, and it took an utterly disgraceful decision for $hels to beat us.
    Rico, Dolan and all tthe others can stop saying that $hels are the best team in the country. THEY ARE NOT.
    Cork City are and all we need is for our own players to realise that
    $hels are scared of us. Fenlon brought on a f*cking mullacking thug like Harris to outjump Greg, not difficult as Harris is well over 6 foot, Greg is 5, 9/10.
    Don't mind all the jackeen f*cks who come on here shouting "its all a conspiracy against Cork". They can only repeat this because they NEVER deal with the fact that last night they got a goal from an official not from a player.
    We ARE BETTER, lads.
    Rico BEAT IT INTO OUR TEAM.
    WE ARE BETTER THAN $HELS.
    THEY ARE AFRAID OF US.
    WE WILL PREVAIL.

If you keep saying it Patsh, it might come true!

189 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    If you keep saying it Patsh, it might come true!
    Great reply

patsh, are you actually giving out to Fenlon for putting a 6 footer against a smaller defender?? Hahaha, thats brilliant. Cop on!!! Did you score last night, no. Get over yourself!!!

The only good thing i'll say for yesterday was that pitch in Tolka was best i've ever seen it. Clearly not having 3-4 teams playing on it weekly is helping.

Christ lads it's not like you aren't bleedin' used to loseing to us.
    Fair play, thats one of the better retorts Ive heard in a good while
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

38 Posts
    Found the game hugely enjoyable myself, but Rico's tactics were badly deficient. Cork's midfield offered their back four little or no protection, and allowed Hoolahan, Moore and Baker to operate unimpeded in the final third. Shels were allowed to switch the ball from flank to flank with impunity, which in turn enabled them to keep Cork pinned in their own half when they needed to dampen their ardour.

Fenn should have scored in the first minute and contributed little. Behan's movement, awareness and support play are top-notch, finishing will improve with experience.

As for the goal, I daresay we shall never know for sure. From one angle, the assistant's decision looked at least plausible. Devine's hands were certainly behind the line, but this proves nothing. Incidentally, WTF was Devine playing at when he came up for that corner near the end? That tactic is appropriate to situations whereby the implications of a 0-2 defeat are no different from those of a 0-1, on this occasion the difference was vast.

So what happens if Cork beat Portadown 3-2, thereby attaning a record identical to Shels', and moreover with identical head-to-head results?
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    So what happens if Cork beat Portadown 3-2, thereby attaning a record identical to Shels', and moreover with identical head-to-head results?
    Shels go through, as it goes to cards recieved, and Shels are already one point behind Cork in that category (one red each, Cork have one more yellow). Seems a bit of a daft way to solve things, no doubt Setanta saw this situation coming and put that rule in to screw over Cork so much because they like Scottish and Northern Irish refs are conspiring against them at an alarming rate.

What a horrible way to lose..couldn't make the game so watched it at home and there was no way of telling whether or not the ball crossed the line.It was absolutely sickening. Just a few points about the game, thought Fenn was awful. He wasn't in the game at all like. Denis missed an absolute sitter in the first half and he really should have done better. It was great to see Roy O'Donovan get a start and I really thought that he did well. He was very unlucky not to score when his shot hit the bar. I thought that the lads did well enough overall and it was interesting to see so many young players on the bench. An 18-year old in Shane Long, two 19-year olds in Admir and Gutsy, Nults, Gamble and Tynan.. Really young players with bright futures ahead of them. The experience of being involved in a game like last nights will stand to them in the future.

[size=4] We ARE BETTER, lads.
    THEY ARE AFRAID OF US.
    WE WILL PREVAIL.[/size]

[size=1]btw, you do not need a reply to a statement.[/size]

Yeah, head to head results, league positions, trophy counts, none of these prove anything. Cork are better because, well, they just are! And you've got the over sized bold font to prove it!

Some old jackeen goobledegook
    [size=4] We ARE BETTER, lads.
    THEY ARE AFRAID OF US.
    WE WILL PREVAIL.[/size]