I thought ye won 1-0. McCarthy scored I think!
hi,just saw on sky sports website the result of tonights game,can anybody fill me in with a match report please??
I thought ye won 1-0. McCarthy scored I think!
I KNOW LIMERICK WERE ONE UP AFTER 15 MINUTES ACCORDING TO LIMERICK 95 FM
really? it gave 0-0 fulltime on sky
Limerick won 2-1 according to RTE Radio 1 EL programme.
Same with aertel! It finished 2-1! Thats a good suprise for ya anyway!Originally Posted by lim abroad
excellent! cheers lads
Was at the game last night and was relieved in the end. I thought when they equalised midway through the 2nd half we'd thrown it away again, but fair play to the lads they battled on to the end and got their reward for a hard fought victory.It wasn't pretty entertaining football, but it was a valuable 3 points and pushes us closer to the top half of the table as opposed to the foot.Derek,probably the happiest man in the ground when the match ended for getting one over his former employers who IMO didn't treat him very well during his time with them, if only the one he rattled off the cross bar went in,the place would have gone wild including himself.Hard to pick out someone who stood out from the rest tonight, Mooney is certainly improving with games though, hopefully we can get something from the Kildare game next week so we can get a big gate for the next home fixture against Cobh, we owe them one...............MOTM Derek McCarthy, played in central midfield and worked his socks off.
1. Mooney, 2. O'Mahony, 3. Tobin, 4. Finnucane, 5. Woulfe, 6. Kerins, 7. O'Brien, 8. Barrett, 9. Kelliher, 10. McCarthy, 11. Donnellan.
Subs: McCauley for Tobin.
Scorers: McCarthy, McCauley.
Last edited by Westside; 30/04/2005 at 8:47 AM.
Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.
Was there many up there last night?? Limerick definately won 2-1.....
When is the match agaist cobh on???
Official attendance was given as 848. Seemed a bit high to me.
Overall we didn't play particularly well (in the second half anyway) but the result was welcome.
Mooney made one good save (it would be harsh to point out, as so many did, that he should probably have held it) and was ok overall though he had one moment of madness in the first half when he came charging out for a ball that was never his.
The full-backs (O'Mahony & Tobin) were solid enough defensively but their distribution was very slack at times. Wolfe and Finucane were quite good I thought. I thought Wolfe had accounted very well for himself last night but I heard some complaints about his performance today which surprised me.
Donnellan wasn't bad either, getting plenty of balls in and with more consistency than he sometimes does. Chris Kearns had his best game in a Limerick shirt for my money though I don't think he set the world alight. He did what he had to though.
Barrett and McCarthy in midfield worked hard again and got forward well enough but we still looked a bit flat in the centre at times and were more or less overrun there for a spell in the second half.
Kelleher and Can't Pass found the going tough up front. Kelleher showed again what he can do on occasion though and wasn't afraid to get stuck. The other guy... well I'm gonna follow the old adage of 'If you can't say anything nice...' He did have one good moment in the first half to be fair.
McCauley replaced Paul Tobin at left-full and was caught sorta cold for their goal more or less instantly. He scored our winner with a super header though and I think he'll be an important player once fit. Derek McCarthy scored our opener.
I was very impressed with McCauley. The second he was on the pitch he was talking, organising the defence and urging the lads on. He offers something that we glaringly lack - leadership qualities. Looks like a good footballer too. Whenever he took the ball down he layed it off nicely, simple passes finding his man. Compared to Paul Tobin whose distribution is brutal, so bad I wouldn't even call it distribution, and whose passing is simply non-existant. It remains to be seen if McCauley is as good in the tackle, but the signs are good. Is he usually a left back? Regardless of what his position is, he looks to me like someone who will be a regular starter at the back. Mike Ahearn is goosed at this stage i'd say.Originally Posted by sadloserkid
I also noticed the management giving out to Paul Finucane a lot for not being vocal enough. Hopefully McCauley will get this out of him as Paul is a very quiet guy. Had a great game again last night. Thought Wolfe did very well but his downfall is, like so many, his lack of ability on the ball. He hoofs and slices all of his clearances up in the air, outside the ground, all over the shop. He has to show more composure on the ball at this level. Other than that you couldn't fault his tackling or positioning last night.
Other than that I think Derek in the 'hole' is a good idea, but it won't work if they play like they did last night. There was a huge gap between Derek and the centre midfield all night, and Galway dominated for long periods as a result. Away from home we would have been hammered. It's a good idea, Derek will get better if he's given a prolonged chance there, but the problem remains behind him. Our central midfielders are just not good enough or experienced enough. Hopefully the Limerick footballers will make an early exit from the championship and Eoin Keating will be in there asap. I'd also like to see Keith Hartnett in, and Rossie Cosgrave given a chance. Surely he would have been an improvement on CP, who reminds me of a certain Harry Kewell - you know the ability is there, but he can't be arsed sharing it with us......
Am I the only one who thinks Limerick were pi$$ poor for roughly 75 minutes of the game Fri nightEspecially in the second half the ordinary bunch of hoofers that are Galway United were made to look world class. I remember a couple of times in the second half when the centre of the team parted in a manner which would make Moses proud. Finny was actually playing three positions at one stage with Wolfe disappearing off the face of the earth and Tobin having a nightmare at left-full. and lads if were going to play a man behind the two strikers may I suggest Tommy Barrett with Conor Molan behind him as opposed to carrying on playing Consistently Poor, who after showing a brief flash of something approaching effort and skill early on
decided that was all he owed us and stopped playing for the remainder. Also Brian Donnelan was scandolous on the left although in fairness maybe he deserves a chance on his natural right side with Jamie Nolan still injured and Chris Kearns looking fairly harmless.
But on the plus side (Yes there is one) we got the three points and playing poorly and picking up the win is the type of thing which can kick start a season, so roll on Kildare
In a word... no.Originally Posted by Lim till i die
nope i would have to agree with you they lack that bit of bite that you need in the team,cp is s**t no other word for him , tommy barrett really needs to be
put up front ,then we will see plenty of goals coming from him and robbie..
I agree with you Lim Till I Die, I thought our performance regardless of the result was actually worse than our effort against Dublin City. We were lucky that Galway were so poor, any other team bar Kilkenny would have beat us. The team was very disorganised and were all over the place. Only a few could have been happy after the match, Derek, Mooney, Finny and Wolfe. Robbie and Tommy worked hard but not their best performance while the others really have to improve.
NOC tried to change things around which was good to see. The idea of Derek playing in the hole could be a great success (it worked at Kilfinane Forest) but he played the midfield as a flat four. We had no holding midfielder protecting the defence because of this, Derek and Tommy, who are attack-minded players were always pushing forward and if Galway were a better team they would have exploited the hole in midfield. A lot of people have talked about Tommy playing up front for Fairview, after CP's lacklustre performance (I'm being very kind at this point, after been dropped you would have thought that he would have had some fire in his belly. So far this season he has proved his critics right, myself being one and could be the stick that people beat NOC over with because he took a gamble on a player who has not repaid his managers confidence in him). I think then Hughes, Molan even Young who I'm eager to see should get a run in centre midfield who would be capable of playing the defensive role. As well Tommy would act as a better target man than CP and already has scored more goals than CP.
I think another problem is O'Mahony, while Tobin had an off game with his passing, Steven's distribution was frustrating to watch. He constantly played a long ball down the wing where only once he was successful in finding his man. This resulted in throwing possession away, he never chose to play the simple pass even when the opportunity to play a one-two with Kearns presented itself. If I was Kearns I would have had a 'polite' chat with Steven about this and made sure he played ball to feet more often. Steven this season has not offered anything going forward and this not the player we know from past seasons. He is a player capable of a bigger performance and maybe a stint on the bench might be the kick up the backside he needs.
Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.
Missed the game so can't comment on the performance. Delighted with the result obviously.
I was surprised to hear the team on Friday night - particularly the midfield partnership (and by extension the front two). Fair play to NOC for trying something - he was criticised here by a lot of fans for being too predictable. However, the changes were strange ones.
I agree with what Nempton said about having two attack-minded central midfielders. Barrett, Kelliher and McCarthy are a good attacking force. However, if Derek is playing just behind the front two - which can create all sorts of problems for opposition centre halves and midfields - it is important not to leave the centre halves exposed or have too big a gap between midfield and defence. A defensive minded midfielder then is needed. What has happened to Bren Hughes? Alternatively, Wolfe I think would be a good lad in that position. Meaning we would use Timmy Lynch or McCauley at centre half. If McCauley was as vocal as suggested previously my preference would be for him - one thing about Limerick is that sometimes it is like watching a deaf-mute team. Whereas the other sides are much more vocal and supportive of each other.
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair