Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Boys Are Back In Town!!! Great Night For Football!!! Cmon The POOL!!!!!!!!!!

Talking The Boys Are Back In Town!!! Great Night For Football!!! Cmon The POOL!!!!!!!!!!

What a night for football!!! Liverpool in the Champions League Final!! Yipee!! I watched the game on telly and I cried after we won the game. We ended one famine and that was getting back to the European Cup Final for the first time in twenty years. Now we are going to end the 21 year famine when Stevie G lifts the cup in Istanbul tomorrow three weeks. Also it would be great to see a good Limerick man getting a European medal, Stevie Finnan. It is a brilliant feeling as a Liverpool fan. I got a phone call from a friend in Liverpool after the game. It is brilliant, absolutely brilliant, though, we won nothing yet. All the M*******er United fans can envy our glory!!

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster
    What a night for football!!! Liverpool in the Champions League Final!! Yipee!! I watched the game on telly and I cried after we won the game. We ended one famine and that was getting back to the European Cup Final for the first time in twenty years. Now we are going to end the 21 year famine when Stevie G lifts the cup in Istanbul tomorrow three weeks. Also it would be great to see a good Limerick man getting a European medal, Stevie Finnan. It is a brilliant feeling as a Liverpool fan. I got a phone call from a friend in Liverpool after the game. It is brilliant, absolutely brilliant, though, we won nothing yet. All the M*******er United fans can envy our glory!!
    Quite possibly the worst team to ever get to the Champions League final. I have no doubts that against AC or PSV the POOL will be found out.

Sent my godson in China an e-mail with the result. He gets up at 5-ish so would just be waking to the good news!
    Fair play to Liverpool, even though I'm a West Ham fan.
    Final will be a tough one, though.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Quite possibly the worst team to ever get to the Champions League final. I have no doubts that against AC or PSV the POOL will be found out.

Here we go the grudgers are out,I suppose you said they'd never get past Bayer or Juve or Chelsea.
    Chamon Mothafcuka......he heeee.

a great night for football ? I certainly wouldn`t say that. One of the most defensively minded teams to ever reach a champions league final. as a neutral the match was awful last night

Quote Originally Posted by stickyjoe
    a great night for football ? I certainly wouldn`t say that. One of the most defensively minded teams to ever reach a champions league final. as a neutral the match was awful last night
    That's right they were sooo defensive against Olympiakos at home, Leverkeusen in both legs and at home to Juventus.

Last night they were playing a superior team (man for man) and Benitez tactically got it right. If Liverpool had gone hell for leather at Chelsea they would have soaked it up and murdered Liverpool on the counter. That's the game Chelsea like to play (especially without Robben or Duff).

Getting to the final is an unbelievable achievement given the sqaud at Liverpool. With Benitez on board and the reveneue this will bring in hopefully it will be a springboard to greather success over the next few years.

Liverpool have every chance of beating Milan or PSV. Whatever about their premiership form this year they have shown that they know how to get it right in Europe.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

2,796 Posts
    I support neither side but I thought it was thrilling stuff. Short on quality, high on entertainment, just like the Premiership usually is. Only the most ardent MUFC fan would deny that the atmosphere last night was really special. Proper football ground, proper football club, proper football fans...

i agree (even though I would because im a chelsea fan) but it was a poor match, i mean we didnt even get to see a goal!! that linesman just felt the pressure of the kop. And all that talk pre match about how the kop atmosphere would effect the chelsea players I didnt see 1 bit of it fair play to the pool though even thoough we played it right into their hands (high balls) they did defend really well especially carra, even though it hurts2 say it best of luck 2the pool hope ye win it.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants

I agree, a sad night for football. A team who'll play in Champions League final with a 9-1-0 formation. Most boring team I've ever seen.

Won their 1st corner in the 90th minute, said it all.

as a neutral the match was awful last night

That was as much down to Chelsea, who for the second week running were tactically pish-poor - hoof it up to the big men (3 or 4 of them by the end of the night)

Liverpool got the early goal, then did what they had to do.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Quote Originally Posted by Saints4Ever
    I agree, a sad night for football. A team who'll play in Champions League final with a 9-1-0 formation. Most boring team I've ever seen.

A sad night for football!!?? Liverpool did exactly what they had to do and if it was your team you'd expect the same. I don't see how it would be any better if Chelsea had got through, it's not as if they played fast flowing football and had 17 shots on target. They huffed and puffed and Liverpool dealt with it. What were they supposed to do

Without Duff and Robben, I find Chelsea to be one of the most boring teams around. You only have to go back to the start of the season to remember all the stick they got when they were grinding out 1-0 wins.

Stats for last night ;

SHOTS ON TARGET ;
    Liverpool - 4
    Chelsea - 1

If an Italian team defended like that last night, you'd be saying how great they are.

Without Duff and Robben, I find Chelsea to be one of the most boring teams around. You only have to go back to the start of the season to remember all the stick they got when they were grinding out 1-0 wins.[/QUOTE]

what the hell is that supposed to mean!! if you took stevie g and carragher out of the pool team where the f**k would they be? at least if you duff and robben from or team we'd still b in the top 2 or three in the prem (if not top ) and if you took henry alone from arsenal where would you think arsenal would b??? so i dont see your argument.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quite a few corrections needed here.

Firstly, I believe it was a goal. If it wasn't, the ref was going to blow for a peno and probably send Czech off so Chelsea were not hard done by. Just because the TV angle isn't conclusive doesn't mean it wasn't a goal. ANyway the ball looked over the line to me when it was cleared and I didn't see the Chelsea players protesting much. If it wasn't given there would have been an even greater outrage with people

Secondly, it wasn't a great night for football. For Liverpool yes but not football. Chelsea barely created a chance all night and the first save Dudek had to make was on the hour from a free kick! Liverpool were defensive (can't blame them when playing a superior team) and Chelsea didn't have the ability to break them down because of their defensive formation.

Thirdly Liverpool were not the most defensive team ever. I remember some JUgoslav team from Belgrade I think playing for penos in the European Cup Final.

Good luck to Liverpool. They can only play to their strengths.

fair play to liverpool. as much as i dislike them, they did exactly what they had to do, played to their strengths. there is no point in them trying to play attractive football just to please the neutrals - judging by the text messages i rec'd immediately post the final whistle, it didn't bother their own fans that they played negative football, at least they've got a final to look forward to!

plus, also as much as it pains me to say it, the atmosphere was wonderful - i know liverpool are planning on leaving anfield, nights like last night should make them think again. even the big nights in old trafford its hard to get atmosphere, where when it was a 40,000 ground it was rocking, bigger isn't always better.

a good night for football? well not a good night for attractive football, but a great night for atmosphere, and also for stopping money winning all in the game.

just hope milan beat them in the final

Quote Originally Posted by Mourinho
    what the hell is that supposed to mean!! if you took stevie g and carragher out of the pool team where the f**k would they be? at least if you duff and robben from or team we'd still b in the top 2 or three in the prem (if not top ) and if you took henry alone from arsenal where would you think arsenal would b??? so i dont see your argument.
    All I'm saying is that I don't see what some people's argument is about when saying "it's a sad night for football". I don't see why, it wasn't a classic match but both teams didn't offer a whole lot offensively not just Liverpool.

Of course teams will miss their big players, all I'm saying is that without Duff and Robben, Chelsea are fairly one dimensional. Liverpool on the other hand have been inconsistent all season with or without Gerrard, Alonso etc.

I love it!!!!!! Final here we come!!!

How many matches Chelsea won by one-nil during this Premiership, making just a couple of shots????

Now, this is, in my opinion, the right return for Mourinho.. He doesn't love matches that end 5-4 (I'm a gooner, I can't forget that sentence against Wenger and our way of play).. He prefers 1-0 results, well, now he got it!
    I'm 21, I'm italian, but I love Ireland, and I always support the irish national team!

Any united fans in here, get out !!! Jealousy is a terrible thing.

Go on the REAL REDS !!!!!!!!
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

20 Posts
    We're are just 90 minutes away from having potentially the funniest Champions League winners ever. I was nearly in stitches last night. Traore played well, Luis Garcia has now scored in three straight rounds and in the two later ones his goals have been decisive. On paper the Liverpool team stink of mediocrity yet somehow get their act together big time in Europe. This isn't an attempt at begrudging Liverpool, far from it. But lads Djimi Traore in a Champions League final, am I the only one who finds this amusing?
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast