Page 246 of 590 FirstFirst ... 146196236244245246247248256296346 ... LastLast
Results 4,901 to 4,920 of 11790

Thread: Munster Senior League

Rockmount 2 mayfield 2 in controversial fashion,mount felt mayfield should have given ball back after they kicked it out for an injury. Mayfield didn't and scored from the throw to make it 2-2. Rockmount not happy...

If you ask me I don't think the defender was putting the ball out & that's why mayfield played on ,anyone else have a closer view ? never a dull moment in rockmount games , think dale will put daylight between everyone else today , can't see midleton getting anything

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clifford View Post
    Off to Ringmahon on Sat arvo to do battle with the lads again. Looking forward to it as always. Been so long without a game now every team should be chomping at the bit.

Best of luck to one and all this weekend. How ye fixed Ring4ever? Any injuries I should know about???? Eh???
    ah that would be telling now Clifford ha ha. hopefully the three points Will be staying in ringmahon pk. best of luck

Farcical scenes in Saint Mary's park today,referee Thomas Long sent off Mark Murphy after 15 minutes for a challenge on his brother!!! How can the msl put him in this position? It's madness,everyone who watches msl football knows Murphy is not an aggressive player. It was merely a challenge for the ball mistimed. But what could Long do? His brother was rolling around on the ground,would we not all protect any family members? These people assigning refs to games must be clueless. It was still a good game,Mary's won 2-1 when a draw was the fair result. Mary's wont worry about that though,3 points in the bag no matter how they done it!

Was in Kilcully today as a neutral, there was hardly farcical scenes!! Firstly a great game on a very heavy pitch. Marys dominated first 30mins and should have been 3 up before they scored. Mark Murphy was then sent off and Cors really came into it and equalized. They had the better of the second half also and were worth a point. 3 good goals in the game aswell. On the sending off, we all know Mark Murphy is not a dirty player but it was a shocking challenge and a definite red. It was over the top, late and led to injured player going off at half time. The ref can't take into account what a lovely fella he is when making the decision! Sets up Mount/ Marys nicely for next week, they'll need 5 officials for that one!!!! Cors will be fine, probably feel the world is against them at the moment and seem to getting in a lot of grief with officials. But they have a nice young side and will get reults when the weather improves as the firmer pitches will suit their play more.

3 nil win at home to Middleton today. Bit of daylight now between us and the chasing pack

Agree with all your comments tez except the challenge by mark , it was a straight red no doubth , it was a committed tackle but he never got the ball & he was off the ground when he connected heavily with Danny long , bit harsh to say Thomas was only showing red because it was his brother , any ref in the league would have shown red . Danny long didn't last long after the tackle either . Cors can feel aggrieved they didn't get a point as they looked more organised than Mary's even with 10 men . Off to hall & blarney tomorrow , another good game in prospect there .

Quote Originally Posted by Chiefscout View Post
    Mcbride from mayfield joining leeside
    i didn't hear anything about this,sure he played and scored against rockmount last night.as for not giving rockmount back the ball,i don't know did the rockmount player mean to put it out of play,it's a hard one to call really,all in all it was a good game and a good come back from our lads after been 2 down

From where I viewed the Murphy tackle he made an honest attempt to get the ball,I felt yellow was appropriate. I have no issue with Thomas Long,my issue is with the mugs at the msl who put him in that position. Great game after that but if Murphy was on the pitch you got to think college would have got at least a point. On theRockmount game issue I did think the Rockmount lad just cleared his lines. Mayfield quite entitled to play on.

Just a few comments on my behalf..........................Saints v's Cors 1. Thomas Long is a very good referee. He has played for Rockmount, Avondale and St. Marys so it is hard for him to avoid games with past teams. I can't say I was at it but I must say that I heard about the scenario he was put it and to be fair I heard it was a straight red. I do agree that Mark Murphy is a footballer and not that sort of player but it was a red. Good referee that is trying to be stitched up for no reason is my shout.

2. Mount v's Mayfield. The Rockmount player did not mean to put the ball out of play. He sliced a clearance. Mayfield felt they did not have to throw it back and played the game. Rockmount should have defended an easy ball into the box. Paul Condon and Brendan O'Connell made a hash of it. The only topic of dicussion after the game was this event. What happened to Rockmount coasting and throwing away a 2 goal lead?

43 Posts
    Ringmahon 0-3 Fermoy

Early soft pen awarded to us got scored by Kurt Wheeler and another great finish from Gavin Quirke after about 25 saw us lead at half time. Ringmahon threw everything at us sec half and won an equally soft pen. They missed it however off the bar and we went down and scored a header from a corner immediately through Leon Roche.

Good day at the office. Any word on Castleview and UCC?
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

castleview 1 -0 ucc

Stitch up the ref? This is my third time on here to say I think Thomas did nothing wrong,I reiterate the ref was not at fault. In my opinion different refs would have given yellow. Many refs in the league are associated with clubs or should I say have been. This is not a problem,however being asked to officiate a game where a family member is involved is not right nor fair.

Couldn't agree more with sparky. Thomas is prob best red n league at d mo but to b fair he shouldn't b asked to ref games with his brother playing. Don't mind him reffing old clubs but must b hard wit ur brother playin.
    On Rockmount too I agree Paul Condon on his left foot was just putting ball safe n Rockmount had a chance to put ball out just b4 anyway n just terrible defending to have that ball go in. If they werent tryin to intimidate mayfield into giving them back a handy clearance n concentrated on defending we wouldn't even b talking about it

42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by townhall tez View Post
    Stitch up the ref? This is my third time on here to say I think Thomas did nothing wrong,I reiterate the ref was not at fault. In my opinion different refs would have given yellow. Many refs in the league are associated with clubs or should I say have been. This is not a problem,however being asked to officiate a game where a family member is involved is not right nor fair.
    I think they give Thomas games with his brother playing because he can handle it and not be bias in any way.that was a stone wall red card yesterday,intentional or not...sets up next weeks match nicely between marys and rockmount.a win for marys and they pull away from rockmount,a rockmount win keep their slim hopes of catching Avondale alive.should be a cracker

Douglas hall 1 blarney 0 poor game.

Agreed - nothing to write home about, except another 3 points. Simon McGarry scored the goal midway through the first half and that was enough.
    "The times are tough now, just getting tougher
    This old world is rough, its just getting rougher"

There seems to be a recurring theme on this forum to blame referees for every loss. Everyone knows how tough their job is and they are rarely praised. They are too easy a target on this site.

I didn't read anything in the last few pages of this site where a ref has been blamed... It has merely been pointed out that Thomas Long was put in an awkward position. A point that Mr Long himself agrees with.

i was at the rockmount game saturday and i cant believe no one has mentioned the referrees performance.He didnt give college a blatant penalty at 1-0 when he was only two yards away from it but worse than that was what happened after.
    How about the refs performance razor? Very strange decisions made,even with your Avondale hat on you must admit that! When Cors got the equaliser he gave Dale a free for no apparent reason which led to the goal. The booking he gave to a Cors player for diving was comical! Anytime they had an advantage he gave the free to them and refused blatant ones then-something very strange there.
    All I am saying is that they are easy targets and they can’t be blamed for every defeat.