Thread: Munster Senior League

Quote Originally Posted by Gobias View Post
    http://munsterseniorleague.ie/news_d...hp?news_id=127

I know this has been in for a while but it is ridiculous to be fining players for getting booked. Its an Ameteur game and players are already having to pay money week in week out for training, gear,refs, physio etc. I know most clubs are paying these fines for the players but the majority of clubs are struggling financialy aswell, just seems like a way for the MSL to get money for themselves.

Where does all the money from these fines go?,must be at the very least €100 a week.

I have no problem with a player being fined if he commits a serious offence but fineing a player for a yellow card is a joke, any player who tackles is going to mistime one now and again.

Was at the Blarney game last night and a player was harsly booked for kicking the ball away, should that really cost him or the club €5?
    I agree. Most clubs are struggling financially at present and it is going to get worse with sponsors in decline big time and clubs that sell tickets are finding it very difficult at the moment. Note; The referees and the MSL are the only people who haven't reduced fees since the recession started in 2008. The clubs are the league though and it is time that the clubs united and voted out these ridiculous yellow card penalties which are dished out by mainly incompetant and geriatric referees. The time to do it is at the next AGM. If the the MSL don't agree vote them out. It can be done.
    The MSL are taking in on average €800 per club per season on fines. Where does the money go ? This could be a question left alone until the AGM comes around. The AUL have a special meeting this week with the sole topic of discussion being " The Finances of The AUL". Missing money perhaps ?

Quote Originally Posted by Shinguard View Post
    I agree. Most clubs are struggling financially at present and it is going to get worse with sponsors in decline big time and clubs that sell tickets are finding it very difficult at the moment. Note; The referees and the MSL are the only people who haven't reduced fees since the recession started in 2008. The clubs are the league though and it is time that the clubs united and voted out these ridiculous yellow card penalties which are dished out by mainly incompetant and geriatric referees. The time to do it is at the next AGM. If the the MSL don't agree vote them out. It can be done.
    The MSL are taking in on average €800 per club per season on fines. Where does the money go ? This could be a question left alone until the AGM comes around. The AUL have a special meeting this week with the sole topic of discussion being " The Finances of The AUL". Missing money perhaps ?

would love to hear the results of that meeting, fair play to the aul clubs for trying to sort this out!! hopefully we can follow suit!!

I think the MSL has to fork out a lot more money to refs than the AUL. Every Prem game requires 2 linesmen. Something that does not happen in AUL. Does anyone know if refs get travel allowances for driving there own car to games? I know most games are based in the city but what about the likes of Youghal and Fermoy games. Also How much does a ref/linesman get per game?

''I think the MSL has to fork out a lot more money to refs than the AUL. Every Prem game requires 2 linesmen. Something that does not happen in AUL. Does anyone know if refs get travel allowances for driving there own car to games? ''

do players get travel allowance for driving their own cars?? clubs pay the refs for games

'' I know most games are based in the city but what about the likes of Youghal and Fermoy games. Also How much does a ref/linesman get per game?''

prem game is €135 for the 3 refs, intermeidate cup is €150 for the three! junior ref then is €47.50!! are you saying the msl give them more money? i doubt that

Quote Originally Posted by Reznik View Post
    I think the MSL has to fork out a lot more money to refs than the AUL. Every Prem game requires 2 linesmen. Something that does not happen in AUL. Does anyone know if refs get travel allowances for driving there own car to games? I know most games are based in the city but what about the likes of Youghal and Fermoy games. Also How much does a ref/linesman get per game?
    The MSL or the AUL don't fork out any money for referees or linesmen. Its the clubs that pay up. Yes referees get paid travelling expenses.

21 Posts
    yeah its the clubs that pay out for refs and linesmen..thats why everyone is paying script.surely with the money they recieve from all the fines they should reduce the refs fees that clubs pay and then cmpensate them..i reckon clubs pay more then 800 a season aswell.we have three adult teams and its not good forking out money non stop.every club is finding it hard for money lately

43 Posts
    60 euro for the pleasure of a man in the middle down here in the sticks. Cheap as chips (in 2004 maybe!)

The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

61 Posts
    Travel expenses as far as I know are worked out from GPO (Oliver Plunkett Street) to venue. Ref living in East Cork refs game in Douglas, he gets expenses worked out from GPO. Same ref does game in Midleton also has his expenses worked out from GPO. Not picking out East Cork refs but just using this as an example. Clubs would save a fortune if there was a chance of playing on Pana.

60 euro for the pleasure of a man in the middle down here in the sticks. Cheap as chips (in 2004 maybe!)

[/

wait till ye come up, will have the pleasure of linesman aswell!

21 Posts
    there should be linesmen for the game saturday aswell.clifford do ye wanna go halfs

21 Posts
    there should be linesmen for game saturday asweell.clifford do ye want to go halfs

Quote Originally Posted by ringmahon4ever View Post
    yeah its the clubs that pay out for refs and linesmen..thats why everyone is paying script.
    Clubs getting fleeced so! No way my fiver pays for Refs, laundry, floodlights, heating, electricity and of course tea and jaffa cakes!

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ringmahon4ever View Post
    there should be linesmen for game saturday asweell.clifford do ye want to go halfs

I'll do our side u do yours. Be fair now ya hear me and I'll get you 60 quid and you do the same for me. Ok? Everyones a winner, might claw back a millionth of my petrol expenses this season.

Can we blame the MSL for the price of petrol as well by any chance?
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by villaman10 View Post

[/

wait till ye come up, will have the pleasure of linesman aswell!
    Ah for Jesus sake, that'll be fun asking for the lads for 15 notes a game if we ever get there. Ha ha forget it, I'll have a squad of four.

144 Posts
    UCC 1-1 Rockmount
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

that is a savage result for the hall . rockmount dropping silly points again. caulfield must be rubbing his hands . after marys picking up 3 points at the weekend good point for ucc tonight

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    UCC 1-1 Rockmount
    Looking forward to Glenbucks response!

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Reznik View Post
    Looking forward to Glenbucks response!
    Just in from work so unfortunately missed game last night. Updates by text. UCC went 1 up early on. Phil Cunningham equalised with an outstanding goal. That was basically it. We deserved what we got. A POINT. More news as I get it. Sorry for the scarce report lads.

I went to the match last night it was a lively enough encounter which Rockmount deserved to win in saying that they were helped by an extremely bias refferee who i'm told works with Billy Cronin,it was like a one man theatrical show he had the crowd oooohhhhing and ahhhhing in their seats at one stage an overly excited spectator shouted "he's behind you". Howie was in top form and dragged this one dimensional Rockmount side by the scruff of the neck refusing to give up. Ucc defended admirably considering they were sweating Heinken and Dutch Gold following their Collingwood exploits but Caulfields tatcics didnt help their cause switching to a 4-5-1 in the second half allowing Howie to break from the back.When the final whistle sounded Mr Lenihan took a bow in front of the Rockmount bench and he was showered by roses and adoration.

Have to agree with you Goggs on this one...........Mount in control in 2nd half (1st half not so much). To be fair UCC looked dangerous on the break at times (no. 10 for UCC caused problems). Some good tackles flying about but Ref was a joke. He must have booked 7 different UCC Players and one for shouldering Howie over the line in first half and it happened seconds beforehand to UCC player from rockmount challenge and no yellow. Caulfield even started laughing it was so biased. Linesmen actually had good games to be fair (give credit where credit is due) but he SHOULD NOT be refereeing lads. To be fair to both sets of players they put on a good show for such an awful pitch. Well done UCC on getting a hard fought draw and unlucky to Rockmount for playing good ball in patches but just no luck on the night. D.Hall management went home smiling. p.s. Great crowd of MSL support from Managers, Referees and players.