Page 42 of 590 FirstFirst ... 3240414243445292142542 ... LastLast

Thread: Munster Senior League

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clifford View Post
    Naw, it's a secret, we don't want Mayfield or Everton getting info on him. Secret weapon kind of thing.
    Diminutive? Don't tell me ye've signed Mickey Deasy.
    John Delea has an amazing baritone if you haven't heard....
    I've heard
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

43 Posts
    LEAGUE TABLE
    Ply Pts
    1 Rockmount 16 40
    2 Everton 16 31
    3 Avondale Utd 17 29
    4 Douglas Hall 18 27
    5 Blarney Utd 18 27
    6 UCC 19 26
    7 Castleview 18 26
    8 Carrigaline Utd 18 23
    9 Mayfield Utd 17 22
    10 Tramore Ath 18 11
    11 College Corinthians 19 5
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

144 Posts
    Donie Forde Cup Final
    Avondale Utd 0-1 Tramore Athletic
    One of those nights really, Caulfield didn't play his full team but saying that those that were out should have been well capable of beating a young Tramore team.
    Tramore created 1 or 2 chances but once they got their goal from the penalty spot just before half time then it was a back 7 and hold on after that.
    Apart from the keeper every single Tramore player went down with cramp in the 2nd half, they did lose 2 strikers through genuine injuries but fair play to the ref he added in the region of 8/9 minutes stoppage time at the end. Dale hit the post late on but I reckon if they were still there they wouldn't have scored.Their inability to score goals is becoming a real problem.
    A nice going away present for Tramore, well done.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

43 Posts
    Fair play to Tramore. Might give them a pick me up after the season they had. Dalel have bigger fish to fry at the end of the day.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

BobbyBoy
    Yeah it was a good win for us. Pity about the season. If a couple of results had gone our way who Knows.

No point in thinking about that now, hopefully the players will stick around and try and get us back up in next year.

Good game. Avondale really did struggle up top. The goal was well taken and i'm happy for the lads. Its tough when the managers are changing ever couple of weeks and players leaving and go aboard. Young team though we'll have to see.

43 Posts
    0-0 today between Rockmount and Mayfield, tough game, Mount should have won it at the end. Another point in the bag. Come on Castleview!!

144 Posts
    0-0 today between Rockmount and Mayfield, tough game, Mount should have won it at the end. Another point in the bag. Come on Castleview!!
    Caught the last 10 minutes of this one as it was in the vicinity, Mount had a few chances but couldn't convert.
    Avondale did manage to score on Saturday and defeated Douglas Hall 2-0.

Todays results from the MSL site
    Everton 0-0 Castleview
    Tramore 2-4 Carrigaline

So Mount a mere 9 point clear with 3 games left.
    Have you conceded ye've won it yet?

Rockmount 17 41
    Everton 17 32
    Avondale 18 32
    Last edited by razor; 29/04/2007 at 9:10 PM.

43 Posts
    It's gonna be tight right to the wire, away to Everton and Blarney this week. I know we won it at Dale last season, but same type thing this season might not work out. I'm sure we'll be ready for anything, but the fat lady is indeed clearing the throat and starting to tune up for the last song.

Well done View, owe you some beers Billys Boots....that'll get him on here I bet!!

43 Posts
    Off to the airport to catch a flight to the Everton game in a while. This is it, can Mount clinch it or will Everton prolong the agony until later in the week.

Bring it on.

43 Posts

Champions

Everton 2-6 Rockmount

On a balmy night, with the planes flying by like the Red arrows hailing the Champions, Rockmount AFC retained the Munster Senior League Premier Division title. Going through the season undefeated is a massive achievement for all involved and long may they enjoy the celebrations that begun after the full time whistle inside the changing rooms of their closest rivals.

A goal apiece in a whirlwind start saw Alan O Connor's stunning goal cancelled out by a penalty for Everton, ruining Mount's six game run without letting in a goal. The champions were not to be denied winning the title on the home soil of the only team that could catch them. Within 6 minutes they were back in front from a Willie Byrne corner that was headed into the top corner by Ross O Callaghan. This feat by the majestic O Callaghan was to be repeated an astonishing 3 more times during the course of the game by him alone, allowing him to walk off the pitch with 4 goals, another league medal and the match ball in his back pocket. His aerial prowess has been something to behold for a long time, but this evening he gave an exhibition that Niall Quinn would be proud of in his prime. Two more corners in the first half led to goals, one for O Calllaghan and one for Willie Byrne both from Alan O Connor deliveries, to send Mount in at half time in an astonishing, but much deserved lead. Everton for all their pre game confidence didn't know what hit them.

The second half was more of the same, as O Callaghan and Byrne twice combined to ensure the Everton keepers back would be in bits tomorrow morning. From the 5th goal onwards the Rockmount 11 dished out a lesson in free flowing possession football. Without doubt the Whitechurch men held out til their hour of need to produce their finest football. At the end, Evertons cracking consolation volley didn't matter in the slightest as the boys in yellow and green went marching in.

Every player on the night played his part in the dismantling of Everton, but obviously the man of the match would be heading through the air in the direction of Ross O Callaghan, this supporter has no doubt it too would be dispatched into the top corner of the net with aplomb.

As league campaigns go it doesn't get any better, well done lads, let's do it all again next year. Enjoy the weekend.

Championeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesss, championeeeeeeeeeeesssss are we are we are we........

Thumbs up Congratulations

Congratulations on winning the league!!!!!!

Hope that the 'Hall can survive relegation.

144 Posts
    Well done Rockmount, comprehensive champions.
    Fingers crossed now for Sunday week.

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    Well done Rockmount, comprehensive champions.
    Fingers crossed now for Sunday week.
    Yea, Fair Play, I'm ****ing delighted for ye...he he!!

43 Posts
    Blarney United 0-0 Rockmount

Stunning evening in Blarney, complimented by a stunning playing surface, complimented by a decent game of football. That's about the size of tonights match. Rockmount enjoyed the evening without every getting out of 3rd gear, Blarney played the better football for most of the second half, but came up against a brick wall in the Rockmount back 5 (even without the vetern Busteed!!). Formidable defending from Weldon, Byrne and Oldham as well as wing backs Yelvy and Gearoid made it very difficult for an industrious Blarney to make any inroads. The first half was even, with a melee in the Blarney six yard box after a goalkeeping fumble being the only action of real note.

The second half saw the Rockmount keeper bring off a quiet extraordinary save from a close range header after about 5 minutes. The ball was whipped in at pace from the right and the Blarney player got a touch on it that must have had him thinking "We've finally got through the mighty defence of Rockmount." "Not likely" says Slatts, who got down superbly to his right to get just enough on the ball to tip it around the post. The clean sheet count is mounting and it's great credit to the goalkeeping staff at the club that another season has passed with so many clean sheets, one more will do nicely. Well done both Derek's indeed.

A free kick hammered off the bar by Blarney's number 5 was about the highlight of the remaining 40 minutes. Rockmount probed, but at leisure. Blarney pressed, but with no penetration. All in all a nice evening, a competitive game and the Champions have one game to survive in order to end the season unbeaten.

43 Posts
    RESULTS THU 03 MAY 2007
    Avondale Utd 4 - 0 Tramore Ath Avondale Park
    Blarney Utd 0 - 0 Rockmount O'Shea Park
    Mayfield Utd 4 - 2 Everton Mayfield

43 Posts
    Jaysus, that's some table from 4 to 9, it's going to be eventful on Sat this weekend. Hat's off to all the MSL web site for an incredibly up to date service. Well done chaps. Nice wage for match reporters I hear as well...

LEAGUE TABLE
    Ply Pts
    1 Rockmount 19 45 Champions
    2 Avondale Utd 19 35
    3 Everton 19 32

4 Blarney Utd 19 28
    5 Douglas Hall 19 27
    6 Castleview 19 27
    7 Mayfield Utd 19 26
    8 UCC 19 26
    9 Carrigaline Utd 19 26

10 Tramore Ath 20 11 Relegated
    11 College Corinthians 19 5 Relegated

144 Posts
    Nice wage for match reporters I hear as well...
    Do they have to be impartial?

Last games
    Castleview v Avondale Utd
    Rockmount v UCC
    Carrigaline Utd v Mayfield Utd
    College Corinthians v Blarney
    Douglas Hall v Everton

Blarney are safe cos Carrigaline are playing Mayfield and both cannot finish above them.
    Its gonna be very very tight.
    Last edited by razor; 04/05/2007 at 8:20 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post

Last games
    Castleview v Avondale Utd
    Rockmount v UCC
    Carrigaline Utd v Mayfield Utd
    College Corinthians v Blarney
    Douglas Hall v Everton

Blarney are safe cos Carrigaline are playing Mayfield and both cannot finish above them.
    Its gonna be very very tight.
    If UCC get a result against Rockmount, which I reckon they will, league won and all. Mayfield and Carrigaline draw. It's possible, if Castleview lose to Avondale, they will go down!!

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BillysBoots View Post
    If UCC get a result against Rockmount, which I reckon they will, league won and all. Mayfield and Carrigaline draw. It's possible, if Castleview lose to Avondale, they will go down!!
    Never? Hmmmm, do Mount go for the "undefeated season" honour or will they let UCC win and phone Mayfield and Carrigaline to tell them do a 1990 on it????????

Come on Avondale, they found the goals last night I see, who got em Razor?

Aren't they always with me?

21 Posts
    Great finish to the season even if 3 relegation spots in an 11 team league is a little harsh. I tipped Carrigaline to go down earlier but its very tight now. If Rockmount try to stay unbeaten then they'll beat UCC. Mayfield and Carrigaline to 'Germany - Austria 1990' a draw to keep them both up and relegate UCC???
    Or UCC to draw, Mayfield and Carrigaline to draw and Castleview and Doulas Hall to lose thus setting up a 5 way relegation playoff finishing in October. HAHA!!!