Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Thread: Carew V Westport

I never said that the best team did not win ...I agree that westport were the better team yesterday but they should never have got the replay un sporting they are and as i said i was behind the goals where the westport crowd were and i did not see any plates or anything ..so in future read my posts before insulting me thanks a lot and by the way im not a carew park fan just a football fan it doesent bother me who won or lost yesterday what does bother me is unsporting people like westport setting out to undermine Limerick and there teams

Clownboy, I'll tell you whats unsporting, Playing an illegal player is unsporting,trying to intimidate other teams is unsporting, so grow up

Quote Originally Posted by Leeds
    Clownboy, I'll tell you whats unsporting, Playing an illegal player is unsporting,trying to intimidate other teams is unsporting, so grow up
    Please explain your unfounded claims...Who tried to intimidate teams, there you go again trying to stir up trouble claiming intimidation and the likes and your telling me to grow up..Please get a grip and take some of your own advice

Wink westport v carew

fair play to westport yesterday,n hard luck to carew. its a shame a replay was needed in the first place but its done now. i was happy to see that almost every carew fan at the game did themselves n their team proud.well done lads. best of luck to westport n the final

biggest cup in europe?

It used to always be said that the Junior cup was the biggest competition in Europe (in terms of entry obviously). Is this still the case?

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by balls
    absolute disgrace carew out .fai junior council are a joke. westport are skum. how many were at the match today. was there a big crowd.
    When Westport appealed the last they were dead right. A rule book is sent out to every club participating in the competition. It's up to the managers or secretaries to read up on rules and regulations not depend on written confirmation about suspensions or anything else. They did nothing that any other team with half a brain wouldn't do. You saying WESTPORT are scum is uncalled for. You haven't seen quotes from anyone saying Carew are scum even though there was a child and woman hit by flying plates. A player for Westport, Dessie O Malley was almost hit by a plate thrown from flats near the grounds. Danny Scahill's head was stood on. Martin Geraghty hot a head butt and not that this was bad enough whilst been treated and stitched he was attacked by two no hopers. And you have the bare arsed audacity to call Westport scum. Get a life.

better team won on the day westport did no wrong in the whole thing carew disgraceful!
    one of the carew players went in to the westport changing room to martin geraghty to "give out" to him
    carew disgraceful! up the covies roll on the 19th!

Question Apparent Trouble

It would be up to the FAI to investigate any form of alleged trouble at the game on Sunday, so the best thing is not to make too much judgement at the moment. The arguments are so conflicting from both sides that an independent observer from the game on Sunday would hold a better opinion on matters. Some of the stuff sounds like the Lower Falls Road after an Orange Day Parade on July 12th, and I do not think for one moment that it was a full scale riot. A minor bit of trouble? Maybe, but we need an independent opinion from someone at the game (ie, someone with no obvious connection to both sides or a leaning towards a team). Congratulations to Westport and lets hope Carew Park can bounce back even stronger from all this, as they have done extremely well for a club with little resources based in a socially deprived area where the soccer club is one of the area's main escapes from hardship. Both teams have been through Hell and back over the last nine weeks.

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster
    . The arguments are so conflicting from both sides that an independent observer from the game on Sunday would hold a better opinion on matters. A minor bit of trouble? Maybe, but we need an independent opinion from someone at the game (ie, someone with no obvious connection to both sides or a leaning towards a team). .

Im independent and all i saw was one bottle thrown on to the pitch by some eejit from the railway side ..I was behind the goals where the westport fans were up to 5 minutes after the game and i saw no plates or anything else flying for that matter...ridiculous the amount of bull posted on this site

25 Posts
    1 bottle? It must've knocked you out then because there was a lot more than "1 bottle" thrown on Sunday.

As a total independent on sunday, I must say the scenes were appalling. Bottles, plates, cans all thrown at the opposition crowd and players. Players getting headbutted and then being attacked when first aid was being administered. Oppositions fans attacked outside the ground, an old woman threatened at knife point and her purse nicked of 8 quid and thirsty five pence. Two young fans from westport had their legs broken by baseball bats just outside colbert station. Another man is in cirictal condition with a pitchfork woumd to his throat. A family were savagely attacked by a skinhead with two pitbull terriers. Running riots ensued for 45 mins after full-time. One bunch of away fans had to flee in terror after a hooded individual produced a rocket-propelled grenade launcher and pointed in it their direction. Riot police were called in from 45 neighbouring towns and villages to quell the violence which by some accounts is still raging today , 48 hours later.............

So Westport, the pigs must be f*cked at this stage....................they were flying all over jackman skies on sunday!!!!!!!!!

Stop F*cking moaning and get on with it!

"The sh*t piled up so fast around here, you'd need wings to stay above it"
    - Captain Willard(Apocalypse Now)

OK, before this gets out of hand, a couple of things.
    1. Carew were desperately unlucky. If they had scored just after Westport took the lead then it might have been a different story.
    2. The game was a classic. I was fortunate to be there as a neutral(in the crowd) and i enjoyed one of the best games this year.
    3. Carew's support for most of the game was fantastic, they roared on their team like real fans, it was just at the end when the sending off's took place that the mood darkened.
    4. In talking to a westport fan after the game i was told that plates were thrown, but in saying that in talking to a collegue after the game he didnt see anything(six of one etc).
    and finally, Carew have a reason to be angry and who can blame them. If the roles were reversed and the result reversed I have no doubt that Westport would be just as ****ed off. But the blame falls squarely at the feet of the FAI and the fact that the oldest rule in the book was not adhered to, if you are sent off you miss a game. that has been a FIFA and UEFA rule since the beginning of competition. Even in the world cup in 1930 the same applied. The real tragedy is that these two games were probably the best attended and most exciting of the whole competition and they will never be remembered for that. I hope all fans agree with me on this and that the final will be just as good.
    By the way, any official news on the final and when?

Quote Originally Posted by mullerj52
    2. The game was a classic. I was fortunate to be there as a neutral(in the crowd) and i enjoyed one of the best games this year.

a classic i think not

Quote Originally Posted by pwestport
    there was a child and woman hit by flying plates. A player for Westport, Dessie O Malley was almost hit by a plate thrown from flats near the grounds.
    I am not sayin you are right or wrong - I wasn't at the game. But I know Jackman Park. If the Westport fans were put at the far end of the ground (railway end) as some posters here said - it would be very hard for someone in the flats to be able to through a plate from the flats and reach the wall around the pitch. Never mind hit a player on the pitch. It must be at 200 metres from the wall of the flats to the wall of the pitch. That's some throw.

As for Dessie O'Malley - he wouldn't get too many votes up that end anyway - but having a plate thrown at him is a bit much. Must be one of Groucho O'Dea's lads.
    Last edited by LFC in Exile; 31/05/2005 at 10:02 AM.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Mountains and Molehills

I was at Jackman Park, and the emphasis should be on the game and not the "riot" after. Westport won 2-0 and Carew Park have every reason to be agrieved. Winning a game and then having it revoked is bound to cause frustration. There was minimal violence, a few thumps at the whistle, the game was dead and buried at that stage and Carew Park acted (admittedly unsportingly) like any annoyed side would. we have seen things like this happen at all levels of football, and much worse.
    The "riot" after from my perspective (right beside it) was a lot of abuse and not much violence. I have to say well done to the FAI for having 70 security officers there. They made a difference. I saw one bottle being thrown and it didn't hit anyone. It looked like a token effort, something for the local papers to pick up on and blow out of proportion. Westport had their second chance and took it. It wasn't their fault that Carew fielded a suspended player. Its a basic rule that applies at every standard of the game. They chose to investigate, and if the shoe was on the other foot, i'm sure would have tried to get a replay also.

observation

· Fact 1: Carew Park won the initial tie on the pitch.
    · Fact 2: They played an illegal player.
    · Fact 3: They did this with the permission of a member of the FAI Junior Council
    · Fact 4: The council member had no right to inform Carew Park of this.
    · Fact 5: Westport had every right to appeal as they were beaten by a side who were technically illegal.
    · Fact 6: Carew Park have every right to feel totally gutted by this decision as they only did what they were told all along by the FAI.
    · Fact 7: Due to the amazing balls-up by our governing body, the match had to be replayed.
    · Fact 8: The sad fact is that one team here was always going to lose out, with Carew Park being the more unlucky of the two.

There is nothing that can be done about any of the above facts. It is neither Carew Parks or Westports faults as they were always both going to do whatever they could to ensure their clubs progress in this competition. Nobody can blame Westport for taking it so far, Carew would have done exactly the same if the shoe was on the other foot.

· Fact 9: Our National football body is a pathetic shambles, run by small minded, ignorant men who don’t fully understand the passion, loyalty or commitment shown by junior clubs. They are a disgrace and should be made accountable. The least Carew Park should get now is serious financial compensation for loss of gate revenue in the final, and for being denied the chance to win the greatest junior football competition in Europe. This should not end here, and I hope it doesn’t. Somebodys head should roll, and I think we all know whose it is.

Can the above post either be seriously edited or deleted please? This is a football forum, not a personal insult trading mechanism. Irrespective of what did or didn't happen at that game, I for one take personal offence when somebody new comes on here, not understanding what this forum is all about and has blatant disregard for both my city and this forum.

Go back to whatever gutter forums you've been using for that tripe please.

25 Posts
    ^ You forgot to add, by Madmax age:9

Madmax.....aged 9 and a vegetable. Why don't you give your address and we can discuss it over a pint!!

This is not a forum about one upmanship, anyway. I doubt Madmax would be so loud if his/her club were in the same situtation.
    BTW, I still think it was a classic. missed chances on goal, good football, great goalkeeping by both Stewart and Mcgreal. Both outstanding.
    Credit where its due, if we forget about the last moments, it was a great game.
    Final offically fixed for June 19th. Venue TBC.

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast