Thread: Newstalk106 and Oisin Langan

Newstalk106 and Oisin Langan

Newstalk 106 and Oisin Langan Anyone listen to Oisin Langan on Sundays on Newstalk106 and wanna tear off their ears and stamp on em?

This guy is awful! I generally listen to Newstalk because of their OFF THE BALL show. Its quite good and I'd say people would have to be begrudgers to say that it wasn't Ger Gilroy and yer man Ken can be a bit annoyin (especially Ken) but its still worth listening to. However. Whats the story with this fella Oisin he's god damn terrible. I work Sinday nights so he's usually on when I'm headin in. Last week he said John Delaney was the man to turn things round at the Fai and this week he said ''jumpin on the bandwankin'' instead of bandwagon. Some town is missing their village idiot me thinks. He's condescending and knows nothing about what he is talkin about and says I'm Oisin Langan your listening to At the end of the day on newstalk106 every 30 seconds because his train of thought is so damn slow. He makes the sports Journalism on the station look really bad when generally it isn't. Anyhoo just wanted to see if anyone else had picked up on the same thiing.

Yeah i have heard him a few times now and he is the village idiot.I can't stand him at all i have to change radio stations as he talks crap.

144 Posts
    Thank God we got rid of him.
    He used to do the Hit the Bar Comp @ Half Time at the Cross and worked for RedFM before his big money move to the Pale. Painful to say the least.
    We used to call him Oisin Lang Ball.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Painful
    Heard him on Sunday a few weeks ago-I think its meant to be a 1 hour phone-in like D.Cahill but he only had 1 caller and had to talk rubbish to himself for the rest of the time "I'm Ois....." over and over

His voice is really annoying too. Is he the same guy on the PA in Cork a few years ago who was shouting [SIZE=3]"Pat Dolan's Rebel Army"[/SIZE] about 5 times during half time? What a prat.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    What a prat.
    There's no need to get so insulting.
    How about a bit of constructive criticism?
    Ryan Tubridy has made a real name for himself by being annoying.

Lads, I'm friendly with the guy since his time working in Cork and I always thought he sounded very well on the radio.

The fact that he's got a thread dedicated to him here shows he's got people listening anyway. He must be doing something right!
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    There's no need to get so insulting.
    Fair enough, see the 'What annoys you?' thread for an explanation but, god, he was driving me mad at that game!
    How about a bit of constructive criticism?
    I could give some but that would probably be insulting too!
    Ryan Tubridy has made a real name for himself by being annoying.
    Ditto for him!

Jeeze he'll be delighted with all the attention. Lads, I haven't really heard him on newstalk, but I know the guy well and he does know his stuff.

He won radio sports journalist of the year last year/year before last?
    So he must be doing something right.
    Haven't heard him since he moved to newstalk....

I didn't know he was from Cork. Not suprised that people on here know him so. But knowing him aside and wanting to stand up for your own an all that the guy is really poor and certainly does not come across like he knows his stuff. He speaks to his audiences as if they were four years of age and had just heard about football. Possibly he came across better on RedFM than he does on Newstalk and perhaps thats why he got hired. Its just strange the gulf in class and talent on the station.

I really don't think he has won any awards? Are ye not thinkin of Ger Gilroy. He won last year I think. He's not the fella I'm thinkin of. Don't want to start a hate campaign here or start slaggin off in a major way. Just can't understand why he's on the radio.

Also I don't think it can be fair to say he is doin something right just because people know of him, and it certainly cant make him happy to know that people think he sucks ass.
    Last edited by onenilgameover; 26/04/2005 at 7:30 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover
    I didn't know he was from Cork.
    he's not.he's from waterford.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover
    I didn't know he was from Cork. Not suprised that people on here know him so. But knowing him aside and wanting to stand up for your own an all that the guy is really poor and certainly does not come across like he knows his stuff. He speaks to his audiences as if they were four years of age and had just heard about football. Possibly he came across better on RedFM than he does on Newstalk and perhaps thats why he got hired. Its just strange the gulf in class and talent on the station.
    He's from Waterford, but he's a city fan. Like I said, I dunno how he comes across on Newstalk, but I can tell you, he does know his stuff. He won some broadcasting award 2 years ago I think- only reason I know is cos the **** is still going on about it

Quote Originally Posted by ollie
    he's from waterford.
    The insults are really flying in now!

newstalk bothers me anytime i listen in. i gave away my LW radio during the off season and nowadays listen to eLeague updates from newstalk. but i often switch off cos if wayne rooney farts, joe cole boasts, or david o leary says 'as i say' the newtalk lads have to have a very long discussion about it

the worst thing is when that guy goes on a rant (can't remember his name, not oisin ) with that high pitched 'who does he think he is farting like that, blah blah blah whine whine whine.......'

i switch off and look for website updates instead. can't see why they don't live stream from whatever match they're covering for a couple of euros
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)