Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Dublin/Cork

Quote Originally Posted by Corky
    when I speak to Cork people is that there still seem to be a lot of small minded people in Cork, who just wish things would never change. (Rule 42!!) As for this Peoples Republic of Cork stuff, go for it.
    Corky check your facts before you speak!!!!!

The rule 42 thing was a board decision (or a Frank Murphy decision).Almost all the clubs in the county wanted to change the rule but the board decided not to take a vote which was a joke,prob because the the lads at the top knew it would be defeated.thats only a handfull of small minded people.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Quote Originally Posted by ollie
    Corky check your facts before you speak!!!!!

The rule 42 thing was a board decision (or a Frank Murphy decision).Almost all the clubs in the county wanted to change the rule but the board decided not to take a vote which was a joke,prob because the the lads at the top knew it would be defeated.thats only a handfull of small minded people.
    Ollie, point taken, it was the first example that came to mind and woe betide anyone on here without an example Suppose what i'm getting at is the whole Peoples Republic thing and that attitude which I agree is probably a minority, but a large enough one as far as I can gather. I find it strange that one place in the whole of Ireland pertains to be so unique and different (better??) than the rest of us that it should be a republic. But from what i'm reading here that attitude probably p155e5 of a lot of Cork people as well.

Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
    Is your definition of scumbag someone who likes a likes a town they’ve visited many times ? In all seriousness I’m not really too bothered what people call me over an internet forum. However as an aside, does calling a member a scumbag, no matter how subtly its done, set a good example of attacking the post not the poster ?
    Easy... it was a dig at Bray, not you. Pretty much like a lot of the thread has been a dig at some area or other. I'll stick to slagging it for being South County Dublin instead to avoid offence...

200 Posts
    ok fair enough

Quote Originally Posted by Corky
    Ollie, point taken, it was the first example that came to mind and woe betide anyone on here without an example Suppose what i'm getting at is the whole Peoples Republic thing and that attitude which I agree is probably a minority, but a large enough one as far as I can gather. I find it strange that one place in the whole of Ireland pertains to be so unique and different (better??) than the rest of us that it should be a republic. But from what i'm reading here that attitude probably p155e5 of a lot of Cork people as well.
    The same thing is in Spain with cataluna and the basque region.they look at themselves as a different country.
    the whole peoples republic of cork(proc) thing is just a bit of fun for most of us any way.(as the tayto ad says there is always one)
    If you look at the proc website its just havin a laugh.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    I wouldn't go that often cos it is much further than other big towns, so it is ok...
    Jaysus KT - Letterkenny is not a big town !! Not even in Irish terms !

Sligo - now that's a big town. So too Athlone, Omagh, Enniskillen,Tralee etc. Letterkenny is just a main street, with a looping weird one-way by-pass type thing round the side of it and a load of naff housing on a hill to the other side ! It's barely the size of Strabane....!
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 26/04/2005 at 3:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve

Sligo - now that's a big town. So too Athlone, Omagh, Enniskillen,Tralee etc. Letterkenny is just a main street, with a looping weord opne-way by-pass type thing round the side of it and a load of naff housing on a hill to the other side ! It's barely the size of Strabane....!
    It has the atmosphere of a big town cause all the Derry muckers come in for the night out and the good exchange reate on the sterling ...

Rare huures the lot of them

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar

Sligo - now that's a big town. So too Athlone, Omagh, Enniskillen,Tralee etc. Letterkenny is just a main street, with a looping weord opne-way by-pass type thing round the side of it and a load of naff housing on a hill to the other side ! It's barely the size of Strabane....!
    I meant that there are big towns close to me so i would not go beyond them(to letterkenny) that often. I did not mean that it was a town on a scale of Omagh, Enniskillen, Monaghan, no way!

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    It has the atmosphere of a big town cause all the Derry muckers come in for the night out and the good exchange reate on the sterling ...

Rare huures the lot of them

It does get very busy for a small place that is why it can be good. A lot of the Fermanagh gang invade also.

430 Posts
    Ah Donegal actually has a city Raphoe

Raphoe city

Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Quote Originally Posted by joey B
    Ah Donegal actually has a city Raphoe

Raphoe city

Full of planters though

430 Posts
    Also the famous Frank Mc Bearty's home city

and Frankies night club

430 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    and Frankies night club
    Fecking kip

Fecking kip
    yep just like the town its in..

430 Posts
    I cannae argue with that Eire06.

PS. Its a city
    Last edited by joey B; 26/04/2005 at 3:52 PM.

PS. Its a city
    Joey B - the person who told you that had a speech impediment.

They were actually saying "it's sh!tty"....

PS. Its a city
    Raphoe for European city of culture!

Boom boom!

430 Posts

Feck your original steve
    Raphoe is a city FACT!

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast