Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Dublin/Cork

Quote Originally Posted by rebs23
    National Stadium... Surely somewhere in the middle of the country with ease of access to rail and road to the South, North and West and still only an hour awway from the airport.
    I'm not part of the 'Dublin lobby' you mention, but where for the love of God are you going to find a location with the transport criteria you mention, that isn't Dublin??
    In case you hadn't noticed, all (rail)roads lead to Dublin, as well as most of the best roads, not to mention an airport with flights to 5 or 6 regional airports.
    Where would you suggest? Cork , Galway , Athlone ???

On the other hand, I do think that other places should get some international games. We could have played the Faroes in Cork !

71 Posts

2 examples National Stadium why is it being located in Dublin. Surely somewhere in the middle of the country with ease of access to rail and road to the South, North and West and still only an hour awway from the airport.

There was a similar point made in Slovenia by Slovenia's "Cork" Maribor. They always complained that the national football stadium was located in the capital Ljubljana and now the new stadium is at a town called Celje between the two cities and attendences have dropped massively.

Quote Originally Posted by crc
    I'm not part of the 'Dublin lobby' you mention, but where for the love of God are you going to find a location with the transport criteria you mention, that isn't Dublin??
    In case you hadn't noticed, all (rail)roads lead to Dublin, as well as most of the best roads, not to mention an airport with flights to 5 or 6 regional airports.

On the other hand, I do think that other places should get some international games. We could have played the Faroes in Cork !
    I honestly would suggest somewhere in the Midlands with ease of access to the Galway-Dublin Road&Railline and the Cork-Dublin Road&Railline. Anyone from the Midlands help me out here! How about Portarlington. A bit of imagination please everyone.
    As you have said all roads/railways currently lead to Dublin which is part of the problem. Lets give everyone in Ireland the same oppurtunities to take advantage of national institutions. Dublin is not the easiest place in Ireland to get in and out of at times and a location in the midlands would certainly be more accessible for the vast majority of people.
    Part of the problem is continuosly basing national institutions in the capital.
    Also part of the problem is that people like me just cannot convince Dubliners that for the sake of Dublin and Ireland we need to radically re-examine development centres in this country to ensure our current level of development is sustainable.
    What is happening in Dublin at the moment is unsustainable and cannot last forever.
    Cork City FC

Why can't we all just get along?

As far as i can make out Dublin gets completely shat on by everyone else. A few things.

It's funny that, while you don't tend to hear 'Dublin is great' rubbish being thrown around by Dubs, there is this urge to pick on the Dubs like they are asking for it. It's more likely that pro-'where-i'm-from' rants are intiated by the lads from the South from my experience.

Getting uptight about being called a culchie is wahey over the top especially given that almost everywhere else has names for places outside their own: j@ckeen, townie, l@nger, etc.

Dublin gets more media attention because it is the administrative/transport/educational/capital of Ireland. About 30% of the population live here. It's like the sports results on the radio. Unless an exceptional event is being reported, usually the most popular sport is reported first. That's the aim of the media - to satisfy the most amount of people as quickly as possible. (BTW, if you think traffic reports are inaccurate elsewhere in the country, you're experiencing the same problems as faced by Dublin road users and I don't know why you would assume that that just happens outside Dublin.)

Too many people not orignally from Dublin will p!ss and moan about it till the proverbial cows come. And it's always about the characteristics associated with any comparable city (house prices, traffic, crime, concrete jungle) but at the end of the day, culchies (ahem) as a group still insist on gravitating towards the place.
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

Quote Originally Posted by crc

well think of towns with big stadiums like thurles and killarney.it doesn't matter that the place is small or not near a city,just that it isn't a pain to get in and out of.they get full houses every year.
    if it was a national stadium the traffic wouldn't be all coming from the same direction which wouldn't make the traffic that bad..?fair enough an airport might be a bit of a problem but not unmanagable
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

The one stereotype true about dublin people is that most have little idea whats beypond the pale. When living in dublin there can be often little use for interaction with outsaide the pale. However these days they a lot more familiar with Wicklow, Kildare, Meath & Louth as all dubs living there.

Funniest thing for years was when dublin GAA folks made trip to Thurles to play Kerry & discovered motorway stopped at Naas (at the time)

Quote Originally Posted by Magoo
    Getting uptight about being called a culchie is wahey over the top especially given that almost everywhere else has names for places outside their own: j@ckeen, townie, l@nger, etc.
    jackeen is a name for Dubs. "Townie"- I thought that was in Missisippi or something?! As for l@nger- well thats our word, and it was stolen by the dubs another reason to hate them

Face it lads,we have far more famous people from Dublin than yous have or ever will,how many Cork football players have worn the Irish shirt a small percentage compared to the Dubs

(runs for cover)
    MOT

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    jackeen is a name for Dubs.
    And Dublin 'is a place outside your own'

"Townie"- I thought that was in Missisippi or something?!
    Now who doesn't get stuff from outside where they're from?

As for l@nger- well thats our word, and it was stolen by the dubs another reason to hate them
    P!ssed off for not being included and p!ssed when included... l@nger
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

COME TO CORK IN 2005!
    I vote Cork to be our new capital

(Most of which are patethic trying too hard attempts to show Dublin as a trendy cosmopolitan city)
    cosmopolitan
    /kozmpollit’n/

• adjective: consisting of people from many different countries and cultures: a cosmopolitan metropolis.

Theres a fairly diverse mix of nationalities and cultures in Dublin, including, god bless us all, the culture that promotes the wearing of county jersies to nightclubs. See 'trendy' below

trendy
    informal

• adjective (trendier, trendiest) very fashionable or up to date.

Guess its a matter of opinion on this one but while Dublin isnt exactly Paris or New York, its a fairly up to date city in terms of shopping, eating, theatre, music etc. Thats not to say Cork isnt by the way...

The Gov wanting to waste our money on a metro for Dublin which by all international comparisons does not have the population density to justify one. Buses are far more efficient.
    Have you ever used Dublin Bus?? I've found that most cities I've been to with a population of 1mil+ have indeed got metro/underground systems. Also when you say 'our money' I presume your referring to taxpayers money, a large proportion of which is collected from Dubs and those living here.

Dublin Port Tunnell - Why build such an expensive tunnel for trucks using Dublin Port. Surely the more economical solution is to expand Drogheda, Dundalk, Waterford or Arklow ports?
    Excellent point.

Dublin has been and is, changing dramatically. Its a different city compared to what it was 20 years ago. Perhaps its lost some of its charm and people are in more of a rush and arent as courteous. Maybe too much money (or more to the point people with too much money) floating around these days has irreversibly changed what was always a generally poor city.
    Either way, its my home and Iove it. Theres plenty of good here: Genuine Dubs have a great wit and sense of humour. There are a lot of honest, hard working people living here, both born here and moved here. Yeah, theres scumbags and crime and drugs but name me a city without that.

Ive only been to Cork a couple of times and thought it was a good spot. Its a nice City, smaller version of Dublin but with a more relaxed attitude. Has all the shops, restaraunts etc. you get in Dublin. But it lacks the openess to change, and the live and let live attitude of Dublin. Maybe i'm wrong but the impression I get when I speak to Cork people is that there still seem to be a lot of small minded people in Cork, who just wish things would never change. (Rule 42!!) As for this Peoples Republic of Cork stuff, go for it. Throw up the walls and ban the rest of us. We'd miss Roy Keane and Liam Miller but I think we'd survive........

Quote Originally Posted by fenabhoy
    There should be long-term decentralisation from Dublin,though it's still in the process of developing itself 'fully',so that's a long way off yet.
    That only works if people want to go. Quite clearly they don't (the only locations that have the numbers are towns that are in the Dublin Commuter belt already). Decentralisation will achieve nothing bar splitting departments/agencies between 2 (or more) locations at a massive cost to the state.

It's clear that decentralisation is nothing but a political plaything for certain ministers.....

Start decentralisation with the Oireachtas....

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Start decentralisation with the Oireachtas....
    It'll have the knock-n effect that rotests won't be Dublin anymore to hold up the traffic even more.

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by Corky
    cosmopolitan
    /kozmpollit’n/

• adjective: consisting of people from many different countries and cultures: a cosmopolitan metropolis.

Theres a fairly diverse mix of nationalities and cultures in Dublin, including, god bless us all, the culture that promotes the wearing of county jersies to nightclubs. See 'trendy' below

trendy
    informal

• adjective (trendier, trendiest) very fashionable or up to date.

Guess its a matter of opinion on this one but while Dublin isnt exactly Paris or New York, its a fairly up to date city in terms of shopping, eating, theatre, music etc. Thats not to say Cork isnt by the way...

Have you ever used Dublin Bus?? I've found that most cities I've been to with a population of 1mil+ have indeed got metro/underground systems. Also when you say 'our money' I presume your referring to taxpayers money, a large proportion of which is collected from Dubs and those living here.

Excellent point.

Dublin has been and is, changing dramatically. Its a different city compared to what it was 20 years ago. Perhaps its lost some of its charm and people are in more of a rush and arent as courteous. Maybe too much money (or more to the point people with too much money) floating around these days has irreversibly changed what was always a generally poor city.
    Either way, its my home and Iove it. Theres plenty of good here: Genuine Dubs have a great wit and sense of humour. There are a lot of honest, hard working people living here, both born here and moved here. Yeah, theres scumbags and crime and drugs but name me a city without that.

Ive only been to Cork a couple of times and thought it was a good spot. Its a nice City, smaller version of Dublin but with a more relaxed attitude. Has all the shops, restaraunts etc. you get in Dublin. But it lacks the openess to change, and the live and let live attitude of Dublin. Maybe i'm wrong but the impression I get when I speak to Cork people is that there still seem to be a lot of small minded people in Cork, who just wish things would never change. (Rule 42!!) As for this Peoples Republic of Cork stuff, go for it. Throw up the walls and ban the rest of us. We'd miss Roy Keane and Liam Miller but I think we'd survive........
    Corky some good points. By the way I and a lot of Cork people cannot stand all that Peoples Republic Rubbish.
    While we have always had a lot of people from outside Ireland living in Cork due to trade links with Europe etc and currently 8% of the cities population was born outside Ireland, we are still a bit too parochial for our own good at times and don't promote ourselves as well nationally as say Galway does but that is changing and we are on a National charm offensive at the moment!!
    So be warned!!
    Cork City FC

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Letterkenny's hardly the most sophisticated night-out you'll ever have, but it's alright as a one-off for a laugh I guess.

But what is it with nightclubs in these country places playing the anthem at the end of the night ?!?! All a bit Hicksville USA/Communist China for my liking. Wouldn't be so bad if most of the people there actually knew the words....
    I wouldn't go that often cos it is much further than other big towns, so it is ok, I wouldn't dream of putting Donegal and sophistication in the same sentence anyway sorry joeyb

We always went out a lot in Monaghan cos it was the closest big town with a nightclub, they always played the anthem at the end, hilarious and weird! Don't know if they still do, haven't been out there for a few years, full of 17/18 year olds!

430 Posts
    In fairness there are'nt that many places in the whole of Ireland that are that sophisticated
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Quote Originally Posted by joey B
    In fairness there are'nt that many places in the whole of Ireland that are that sophisticated
    Fermanagh is in a word 'sophistication' (with wellies)

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ollie
    a lovely radioactive sea front you mean.
    Sea is nice shade of off green, glows in the dark and is warm all year round - its Marbella without the Sangria

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Well pete, you should move to Wicklow - they dump all their scumbags in Bray...

Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
    I think deep down lots of people are just jealous of Bray... the whole Dub-Cork thing is just a smoke-screen. In the space of 20 mins you can have a walk along the lovely seafront, do a spot of shopping off Main Street, and then climb Bray Head for spectacular views of the coast up to Killiney and Dalkey. There are few towns in Ireland that have such a mix of things to do, and once they take the trollies out of the Dargle then it really will be top draw.
    Is your definition of scumbag someone who likes a likes a town they’ve visited many times ? In all seriousness I’m not really too bothered what people call me over an internet forum. However as an aside, does calling a member a scumbag, no matter how subtly its done, set a good example of attacking the post not the poster ?

430 Posts
    Sure most of Fermanagh is a fecking lake
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Quote Originally Posted by joey B
    Sure most of Fermanagh is a fecking lake
    Yeah, great way to secretly get rid of the mother-in-law! That's a terrible joke

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast