Thread: Universities and Institutes of Technologies

Universities and Institutes of Technologies

Lads, just wondering .... are there any universities and institutes of technologies out there that have supporters clubs/societies set up for eircom League clubs ??

It would be a very good idea to set them up to try and subsidize student tickets for eircome league games.

Does anyone know of any effort made to set anything like this up ??

Nothing like that in UCD as far as I've seen, not even for UCD FC, despite the fact that there seems to be a very healthy amount of EL supporters of various clubs on campus. It seems like a good idea though.

Liverpool FC have a supporters club at UCD Campus, they got a website as well. I'll try to retrieve the URL for you.

No fanclubs of EL clubs as far as I know... As usual, English soccer comes first

So do Celtic Gerrit afaik, and I'd imagine, just a guess, that Man U have one too.

Well that is one thing where eL club supporter have over the other groups .... Fans of local teams come before English, definitely ... the others wouldn't have a leg to stand on really, obviously not being domestic.

This would be a perfect way to get a captive audience and subsidice games for eL student fans.

I know that CIT in Cork, each society gets circe €600 a month which would be more than enough to subsidice games (i.e. two home games a month = €300 a game and €5 per student would mean a potential 60 students subsidiced which is a good start. If it were taken up then something else could be worked out to improve it, i.e. the club could chip in a bit to bring it up to 100 fans.

Just an idea !!

Has anyone tried it before though ??

The problem would be what exactly would the society do? Going to matches together as a group wouldn't really work as you have supporters from all the different clubs who would only want to see their own clubs play. The only thing you could do is have soceitys for individual clubs that goto home and away games together but there wouldn't be as much interest if you limited it like that and every club would want their own one.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    The problem would be what exactly would the society do? Going to matches together as a group wouldn't really work as you have supporters from all the different clubs who would only want to see their own clubs play. The only thing you could do is have soceitys for individual clubs that goto home and away games together but there wouldn't be as much interest if you limited it like that and every club would want their own one.
    Well a good way to look at this is ..... where goes an sets one up would then deserve to have one. If a collective of fans got together and put their proposal to the guild and got accepted then fair play and that would be the decider tbh.

What would they do .... facilitate students to go and support local sport in their community and get to know people in their community.

Allow students carry out projects i.e. take a cross section of the student population and find out why the general public choose english football over domestic football ??

Give students a chance share their interests in a local sporting product via photo competitions, article competitions and have them featured in the student magazine(s) thus developing their journalistic abilities, etc.

Allow student so particpate in college radio, giving match reports and interviews etc.

Give students a chance to socialise in an environment where drink isn't the main attraction and in a catered environment i.e. safe stands, stewards, policing ... proper facilities (UEFA license ensure this)

Allows students to connect and engage with a sporting organisation who work within the local community and support local talent piling their trade in their home town. Achieve a sense of community and pride for their team.

Support and encourage domestic sporting business who provide a product locally over business abroad.

There must be loads of reasons ..... and there would be at least 4 months in which to compile that various reasons, benefits and potential advantages to students that these clubs would provide ..... share the knowledge !!

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    There used to be one in DCU. But the guy that ran it is now lecturing in New Zealand, so I don't know if its still going.
    And did no one take it over then ??

There is an opening for whoever is interested !!

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Nothing like that in UCD as far as I've seen, not even for UCD FC, despite the fact that there seems to be a very healthy amount of EL supporters of various clubs on campus. It seems like a good idea though.
    We did one for UCD for a couple of years. Very little interest unfortunately. Same old problem of people being eL fans/Manchester United fans/not interested in football by the time they got to college.

Derry City have a supporters society up in Queen's
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

89 Posts
    The Queens University Belfast Derry City Supporters Club was formally established in 2004 after several years operating unofficially.

We have 40+ members and run buses to all the games. Members appear on the Uni radio to talk about the eL and we are involved in a number of cross community ventures with the Northern Ireland SC lads up here.

Like other supporters club we sponsor players and matches and have recently bought shares in the club. We also tend to supply a few free drinks for those travelling on our buses

If any other lads are interested in getting something sorted at their college I can supply copies of our constitution to give you some ideas etc.,
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Kev, will you send me a copy of that - it's something I was thinking of looking at for our lads in Letterkenny...
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    If any other lads are interested in getting something sorted at their college I can supply copies of our constitution to give you some ideas etc.,
    Yup ... i'd be interested in that .... can you send it onto ifgrounds@o2.ie

harpskid@hotmail.com if ye get a chance Kev, cheers
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

There was an attempt to start one in UCC last two years (CCFC Supporters Club) but Societies and Guilds bods knocked it on the head.

I think an alternative approach would be to set up eircom League United clubs in campuses. That means lads can join to support the eL rather than specific clubs - would be particularly useful for Dublin colleges. Also could have one umbrella group - Students Unions like that kind of thing (cross college societies).
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    I think an alternative approach would be to set up eircom League United clubs in campuses. That means lads can join to support the eL rather than specific clubs - would be particularly useful for Dublin colleges. Also could have one umbrella group - Students Unions like that kind of thing (cross college societies).

Maybe alright elsewhere but one society in Dublin is no where near enough ... you'd have to go with specific clubs for it to be of any benefit.

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    There was an attempt to start one in UCC last two years (CCFC Supporters Club) but Societies and Guilds bods knocked it on the head.
    ucc set up some sort of a football society this year i think,mainly based on cork city.maybe others can clarify this?
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    you'd think there'd be a Shel$ or a Boahs club with the stadia only down the road.
    Cop on .... i am not being funny here .... but i'd put money on it that the reason there isn't one is because no one has tried it. And the thing is, there probably are enough fans there already, if more come along then fair enough but i would put money that there would be at least 30 fans there for Bohs or Shels each straight off the bat.

And it makes perfect sense for them to join, if they get a cut on the ticket price and more besides.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Cop on .... i am not being funny here .... but i'd put money on it that the reason there isn't one is because no one has tried it. And the thing is, there probably are enough fans there already, if more come along then fair enough but i would put money that there would be at least 30 fans there for Bohs or Shels each straight off the bat.

And it makes perfect sense for them to join, if they get a cut on the ticket price and more besides.
    Student societies are almost always run by Student Unions, with very clear rules on how a group of people can get together, set-up a registered club and qualify for funding.

If Eircom League supporters clubs don't exist at southern Unis/colleges it's because no-one has got off their arse, understood how the Clubs system works at their own college, and set-up one up that would gain recognition. Crying about Liverpool and Celtic supporters clubs on campus is not the way forward, as they've just shown the initiative that EL fans appear to be lacking here. Clubs do not 'magically' come into existence.

As Maribor mentioned above there's a Queens Uni Derry supporters Club that he looks after. I believe there's also a Derry one at Coleraine Uni as well (just as wlel, considering ti should've been built in Derry in the first place..... )

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    it's because no-one has got off their arse, understood how the Clubs system works at their own college, and set-up one up that would gain recognition.

That is a valid point .... it is understanding what the Guild is looking for and fiting the bill. Actually, the more i think of it .... the more of a success an eL society could be, the events and gigs you could get going would be brilliant. There is loads of stuff you could do and all with a captive audience.