Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast

Thread: Jason Knight (M Bristol City b.2001)

136 Posts
    i love the optimism around knight. no doubting the lads energy and workrate but im yet to see anything other than very average when hes in possession. why kind of midfielder is he? he really needs to nail down a role at some point. being a terrier wont get him far

300 Posts
    Years ago I remember reading an article on the 100+-cap former England international Billy Wright, describing him as 'good at everything, outstanding at nothing'.

I think that seems a reasonably accurate assessment of Knight. He's extremely capable, has few weaknesses, and a terrific engine to go along with it.

136 Posts
    the thing is we already have the terrier type 6/8 in molumby. we really need more players who can help us in possession. either knight can develop those attributes or im afraid he'll just be another run of the mill member of the squad. hes a grand player against say a france or portugal as he'll do a load of the donkey work from an advanced position but against the rest we need some guile and technical ability.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    842 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    the thing is we already have the terrier type 6/8 in molumby. we really need more players who can help us in possession. either knight can develop those attributes or im afraid he'll just be another run of the mill member of the squad. hes a grand player against say a france or portugal as he'll do a load of the donkey work from an advanced position but against the rest we need some guile and technical ability.
    A back up to Molumby is no bad thing considering how often he gets himself booked.

I think overall hes probably going to be better than Molumby. Id rather have 2 like that than having to use Hourihane

549 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    I see a lot of John McGinn in him personally, like McGinn he's a good all rounder. I think he can make it to a similar level too - mid table Premier League, but probably never to one of the big hitters challenging for titles.
    McGinn is a decent player.

549 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    I would never under estimate the upside of a good engine on the football field. It didn't do Roy Keane any harm.

1,092 Posts
    I am a fan but he isn't producing goal contributions and he really should be at League One level if he's going to attract the right attention. He probably needs a little more guile both in and out of possession to achieve the stats that he will need to kick on.

He is very young and he has got a decent dribble and finish in his locker. A little slicker on the interplay and picking up positions with more space to do it are things I see. A good coach would see lots I'm sure.

2,337 Posts
    Lovely goal from Knight today

EDIT: Embedding tweets not working.

https://twitter.com/DerbyCountyLA/st...08702671548417
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 04/02/2023 at 6:48 PM.

3,286 Posts
    That's Derry tweet keeps getting embedded for some reason
    I had the same problem with the Atletico lineup tweet in the Matt Doherty thread

2,337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    That's Derry tweet keeps getting embedded for some reason
    I had the same problem with the Atletico lineup tweet in the Matt Doherty thread
    Think it might have something to do with whatever fix was mentioned in the support thread for quoting Tweets.

416 Posts
    Found himself playing WB again for the last four games but thankfully Derby missed out on the play offs and Knight might finally leave this summer. Even if they managed promotion you'd want him to be pushing for a better move as Derby would be favorites for relegation.

156 Posts
    Derby Co. and their supporters are not too pleased by Stephen Kenny's comment about Knight being 'on the verge' of a move. But Stoke and Sheffield Wed are not very far away.

95 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Demesne Lad View Post
    Derby Co. and their supporters are not too pleased by Stephen Kenny's comment about Knight being 'on the verge' of a move. But Stoke and Sheffield Wed are not very far away.
    He's talented but limited. The quote from Billy Wright a few posts back was well referenced (by Trequartista) - Knight is good at everything but outstanding at nothing. But where he barely scrapes a "good" is composure - he too often seems harrassed/uncomfortable and that (imo) damages his chances of an unlikely shot at EPL. But then again, had he signed for Luton Town last year - a move many would have labelled unambitious - that's exactly where he'd be.
    As for Stephen Kenny - it's more likely he's the one who'll be on the move. He'll be inundated.
    Last edited by Snapshot; 06/06/2023 at 8:14 AM.

416 Posts
    Reports that Bristol City are lining up a move for Knight.

156 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JR89 View Post
    Reports that Bristol City are lining up a move for Knight.
    Knight's versatility had prompted Nigel Pearson's interest, but Derby have turned down two offers, the later one thought to be £1.5m. Bristol City may not be willing to go to Derby's valuation of about £2m and may look elsewhere. (Bristol Live, 20 June).

451 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Demesne Lad View Post
    Knight's versatility had prompted Nigel Pearson's interest, but Derby have turned down two offers, the later one thought to be £1.5m. Bristol City may not be willing to go to Derby's valuation of about £2m and may look elsewhere. (Bristol Live, 20 June).
    Even trying to not have green tinted glasses on 2 millon seems reasonable for a lad with so much first team football at a young age and ability to play different positions

342 Posts
    Heading to Bristol City,fee of 2 million mentioned…
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

156 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Heading to Bristol City,fee of 2 million mentioned…
    "...a package worth £1.75 million... Knight is due to have a medical at the Robins High Performance Centre in the next 48 hours having not joined the Rams squad for their pre-season training camp in Spain." (Bristol Live, 9 July).

637 Posts
    Nice few bob for Cabo/Bray he had a sell on from years ago

156 Posts
    Transfer to Bristol City confirmed, for an undisclosed fee. Knight joins Ireland squad members Sykes and O'Leary at Ashton Gate.

https://www.bcfc.co.uk/news/watch-ja...rst-interview/

Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast