Thread: Norwegian court convicts first woman for rape

Norwegian court convicts first woman for rape

Norwegian court convicts first woman for rape:

OSLO (Reuters) - A Norwegian court has sentenced a woman to nine months in jail for raping a man, the first such conviction in the Scandinavian country that prides itself for its egalitarianism.

The 31-year-old man fell asleep on a sofa at a party in January last year and told the court in the western city of Bergen he woke to find the 23-year-old woman was having oral sex with him.

Under Norwegian law, all sexual acts with someone who is "unconscious or for other reasons unable to oppose the act" are considered rape.

The court sentenced the woman on Wednesday to nine months in jail and ordered her to pay 40,000 Norwegian crowns (3,300 crowns) in compensation.

"This is a very harsh sentence," the woman's lawyer, Per Magne Kristiansen, told the Norwegian news agency NTB. The woman argued the man had been awake and consented.

The prosecutor had sought a 10-month sentence and argued the court should not be more lenient with a woman than a man. It was Norway's first conviction of a woman for rape.

Norway has long traditions of equality -- 40 percent of the cabinet of Prime Minister Kjell Magne Bondevik, for instance, are women.

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/050428/325/fhhkw.html
    -----------------------------------------------

the amount of times thats happened me and they have gotten away with it, i should have sued like him!!!!

I must remember that if I ever happen to fall asleep drunk at a party in Oslo
    MOT

Whens the next plane to Oslo and are they serving drink.

I must remember that if I ever happen to fall asleep drunk at a party in Oslo
    you mean, you must remember to fall asleep at the next party you attend in oslo

in fairness though ( unless she was a right minger) surely you wouldnt at worst put her up for rape?!?!?! in this sorta situation you can just go what the fook are ye at...though as hard as i try to think i still dont see how you(or I) could say that

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    you mean, you must remember to fall asleep at the next party you attend in oslo

in fairness though ( unless she was a right minger) surely you wouldnt at worst put her up for rape?!?!?! in this sorta situation you can just go what the fook are ye at...though as hard as i try to think i still dont see how you(or I) could say that

Why the hell would she want to do that to a guy who was sleeping? She must've been totally plastered/on drugs/out of her mind/desperate

She must've been totally plastered/on drugs/out of her mind/desperate
    ya but she is still more than welcome to knock on my door

kerrs, i reckon it was that she was a right minger hehe

It's an odd one really. There could be background to it. She may of been on drugs or had serious mouth ulcers or somesuch thing. I am sure its more to it than your lying on a couch and a girl decides you look like a handy option!! I think 99% of guys I know would be telling the story in the pub the next week of some gal who did that to him whilst at a party instead of being in court on rape charges. So I imagine there was a little more to the story than sweet girl decides to kiss the boy of her dreams but got the wrong head!!

gareth stop being logical and ruining it.

im sure there was more to it, its funny how you said she must have had mouth ulcers or something though, that really is hilarious as though it would have been ok only for she had mouth ulcers LOL.

hmm thats nice, oooh you never told me you have mouth ulcers, thats rape!

Too right. Too right.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    ya but she is still more than welcome to knock on my door

kerrs, i reckon it was that she was a right minger hehe

Maybe she injured him somewhat

must ave been one helluva minger that r yer man is married an de wife found out
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

that r yer man is married an de wife found out
    classic.

Mmmmm

Aye, looks like a case of the Mrs finding out.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dortie
    Mmmmm

Aye, looks like a case of the Mrs finding out.

Or when he woke up, this is what he saw
    Last edited by strangeirish; 28/04/2005 at 8:29 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Paul might still want her knocking on his door......

I do think it's somehow right that she gets a punishment, though I highly doubt the male victim was traumatised by it...

Question is though if we should only judge unwanted sex as being rape IF the victim is traumatised...

In Holland a man was caught while doing this sort of things to a horse, but he got away with because unvolunteered sexual acts were only punishable there when the victim can have a trauma because of it: "moral damage". And according to the judges, you cannot prove a horse can get traumatised, so the man was not convicted.
    Because of this rather doubtable law though, the Netherlands changed their laws, after this trial they created a law that makes bestiality punishable.

In Belgium the law says it's only punishable when there is penetration, no matter which part of the body and no matter how... I think this is not very right, cause a victim can get just as traumatised even if the real act was not committed, just an attempt of any violence (including sexual) can be a very shocking experience that leaves traces.

I am trying to react to this thread as a serious matter, but one scene keeps repeating itself to me. This went to court, right? (All agreed). So the guy went to the cops, presumably. (Heads nodding sagely). Can you imagine the "victim" making his statement in the local cop shop? I can see the cop behind the desk, trying to keep a straight face. Or maybe it was a Norweigan bean garda, soothing him with the odd "Shocking, boy, shocking" kind of answer.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    had serious mouth ulcers or somesuch thing.
    Is that how you're supposed to get rid of them?

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    I am trying to react to this thread as a serious matter, but one scene keeps repeating itself to me. This went to court, right? (All agreed). So the guy went to the cops, presumably. (Heads nodding sagely). Can you imagine the "victim" making his statement in the local cop shop? I can see the cop behind the desk, trying to keep a straight face. Or maybe it was a Norweigan bean garda, soothing him with the odd "Shocking, boy, shocking" kind of answer.
    True, but imagine her having to explain her criminal record to an employer etc now!!!!

Is that how you're supposed to get rid of them?
    why, you sound worried, are you looking for answers??

kerrs, maybe she would have to give a _demonstration_ of how she got a criminal record at the interview??? cos interviewers always like examples to demonstrate things

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast