Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: More Cork Thuggery

Again, not saying that he deserved to be hit, but what he says here is lies; he was not hit by a broken bottle, the goal post was and he was a good bit away and did not even look back when it happened, but while he says "I probably won’t create a massive fuss about it" he then says "a broken vodka bottle came from behind me and stuck in my leg,” said Connor. “It was pumping blood and I had to get treatment" which is a crock of $hit. He's such a cnut
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

I'm in no way defending the throwing of anything but didn't the injury occur before the bottle was thrown? The first missile looked more like a coin or bit of metal to me - I had a good view from near the front of the shed - and I didn't see any blood pumping from a wound.
    What happened was bad and City should/will be punnished I,m sure, but Connor should stick to the facts.
    don't worry, they couldn't hit an elephant at this dis......

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    2 years ago, he was playing for Waherfur against us at the cross, and he got some mild slagging "Dodgy keeper" chants etc. He made a number of gestures at the crowd, and when waherfur scored he turned around and celebrated right in front of the fans (sticking his fingers up at the crowd among other things). He then started wasting time (understandable in the circumstances i guess, but still infuriating) and at one stage when he was given the ball to take a goal kick, he booted it back into the crowd and hit a fan. As he was walking off the pitch after the game, he sprayed the contents of his water bottle at some kid in the stand. Basically, he was acting the maggot and wound a lot of people up, which meant a lot of tension inside the ground, and some afterwards outside the ground. On every visit since, he has gestured at the fans, which IMO is just making a bad situation worse. On friday night, he was wasting time, waving at the crowd and at one stage was shouting obscenities at the fans right behind his goal.
    he's generally a dirty player too. having seen him play for ireland and for waterford v rockmount, in both games he was a disgrace. after a rockmount player scored against waterford, alan reynolds began screaming at the ref and while he was distracted, an embarressed dan connor ran out and punched the scorer, mid celebration.
    its the most vile thing ive seen a human do, let alone an oposition goal keeper.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Smith
    I'm in no way defending the throwing of anything but didn't the injury occur before the bottle was thrown? The first missile looked more like a coin or bit of metal to me - I had a good view from near the front of the shed - and I didn't see any blood pumping from a wound.
    What happened was bad and City should/will be punnished I,m sure, but Connor should stick to the facts.
    the bottle hit the cross bar, his leg was struck by either a coin or a bottle top some time before that.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Ignorant comments? I witnessed it myself boy on numerous occasions.
    Dogs abuse heaped at Jason Sherlock (when he was with UCD) and it was monkey chanting et al. I witnessed it myself. Perhaps it is not as prevalent now as it was in the mid to late 1990's, but friends of mine who are City supporters who sit in the stand were embarrassed by the behaviour.
    ok, so instead of being misinformed youre just bloody lying.
    i've never heard a large group of people in the shed making monkey noises. i dont beleive ive heard any SMALL group of people making monket chants.

i had the unfortunate experience of inviting an acquiantance to his second game versus saint pats and the gob****e shouted at one point "osam ya monkey". said gobhite got abuse from everybody including myself and ive never brought him to another game or associated with him since.

if you go to any soccer game you'll hear indiviual biggotry. "**** the dubs". "i follow cork city and i can drive a tractor". "trevor molloy is a junkie midget".

ive never heard ouright racism being a shed-wide thing, and unless we're invaded by some race, i dont think it ever will.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

he's generally a dirty player too. having seen him play for ireland and for waterford v rockmount, in both games he was a disgrace. after a rockmount player scored against waterford, alan reynolds began screaming at the ref and while he was distracted, an embarressed dan connor ran out and punched the scorer, mid celebration.
    Thats bull**** and you know it Gavin,if you recall correctly it was Vinny Sullivan was sent off for that offence.Connor came out for a cross missed it and clattered into one of their players,he never threw a punch!!!

Again, not saying that he deserved to be hit, but what he says here is lies; he was not hit by a broken bottle, the goal post was and he was a good bit away and did not even look back when it happened, but while he says "I probably won’t create a massive fuss about it" he then says "a broken vodka bottle came from behind me and stuck in my leg,” said Connor. “It was pumping blood and I had to get treatment" which is a crock of $hit. He's such a cnut
    So how do you explain him needing stitches in his leg?????

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    Having mulled over what heppened and having been there (quite important), he was hit with a coin on the right calf but it didn't seem to bother him, then Webb approached him and picked up a coin off the grass and showed it to him, then he went down and the physio came on.
    When he got up it was his left leg that was bandaged.
    It was after he went down that the glass broke off the crossbar.
    I think the only stitches were the ones tryin to stitch up CCFC.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    Thats bull**** and you know it Gavin,if you recall correctly it was Vinny Sullivan was sent off for that offence.Connor came out for a cross missed it and clattered into one of their players,he never threw a punch!!!
    unless vinie borrowed the goalie jersey, then yes, connor did punch him and remained on the park.

as has been said, apparantly he was bull****ting, and not out of character either.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    yup, its happened at most clubs in the league at one stage or another. The important thing is to find and ban the perpetrators, not to slag one club off when it happens to them, or to attempt to excuse it if it happens to your club.
    Truly the most level-headed statement of the whole thread.

What clubs should do ( seeing as Goalkeepers are the easiest targets ( ie don't move around much and always near the edge of the pitch ) is put up netting behind the goal. If the netting has to start at 6ft up then fine ( to prevent Heysel type Disaster ).

Were there Cork fans at the AC Milan vs Inter Milan game? Just kidding!!!

Seriously though, there should be a standard punishment for

(a) Players goading fans and
    (b) Fans throwing objects onto the pitch

This is what happened to Inter:

http://www.uefa.com/competitions/UCL...Id=295903.html

UEFA's Control and Disciplinary Body has ordered FC Internazionale Milano to play their next six European club competition matches behind closed doors as a result of the disturbances at the abandoned UEFA Champions League quarter-final second leg against AC Milan on Tuesday.

They were fined too.

So should a club be punished for the action of one fan? It seems a little unfair initially but then each club must be able to guarantee the safety of the players, officials and fans. If Cork can't stop fans throwing objects onto the pitch I don't think it's unreasonable to make them do someting about it and punished if they don't ( and yes, before the Corkies pipe up, that should apply to ALL eL clubs, YES INCLUDING SHELS!!!! ).

I know some Cork fans will reply that this is an isolated incident but should we really have to wait until it happens again before precautions are taken???

Sure why wear your seatbelt if you're never going to crash!?!

How did a fan manage to get a glass bottle in anyway? I've been to some Dublin Derbys before ( Bohs v Rovers in particular ) and you would often be checked at the turnstiles by the stewards ( with Gardaí to hand ).

Quote Originally Posted by Shelsman
    How did a fan manage to get a glass bottle in anyway? I've been to some Dublin Derbys before ( Bohs v Rovers in particular ) and you would often be checked at the turnstiles by the stewards ( with Gardaí to hand ).
    ive often been checked on the way into the cross, and if i have my college bag with me im always checked. however, you cant have a cavity search and an xray scan for every fan, and unfortunately, if every 3rd fan is patted down and theres a 50/50 chance that you'd get away with having a bottle down your sock or something, then the chances of catching the one langer who throws the bottle are remote
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Yes but putting up a net behind the goal would work.............

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Having mulled over what heppened and having been there (quite important), he was hit with a coin on the right calf but it didn't seem to bother him, then Webb approached him and picked up a coin off the grass and showed it to him, then he went down and the physio came on.
    When he got up it was his left leg that was bandaged.
    It was after he went down that the glass broke off the crossbar.
    I think the only stitches were the ones tryin to stitch up CCFC.
    So he went and got stiches in his leg just to try and dirty the good name of the Cork fans?

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    So he went and got stitches in his leg just to try and dirty the good name of the Cork fans?
    Speaking as someone who was there, he did not get any stitches during the game and there was no sign of blood on the bandage at the end of the game. So if he did get stitches (and his version of what happened quoted above is somewhat counter factual which should be borne in mind) then he should try and sue someone for unnecessary medical treatment or something
    don't worry, they couldn't hit an elephant at this dis......

144 Posts
    So he went and got stiches in his leg just to try and dirty the good name of the Cork fans?
    The only people who reported these "stitches" were Drogheda Utd staff. It is more than possible there were no stitches and that these "stitches" (non existent ones)were used to dirty the good name of City
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Another red card

Did you see Murphy and his thug army at it again today? How much longer will it be before the league stands up to them and does something about it

how many red cards have shels this season again?

Murphy having been red carded against Rovers on the walk across to the dressing rooms had another go at O'Connor.

Quote Originally Posted by soylent green
    Murphy having been red carded against Rovers on the walk across to the dressing rooms had another go at O'Connor.
    O'Connor had a go at Murphy (to entice reaction) & Murphy like an idiot took the bait.

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    The only people who reported these "stitches" were Drogheda Utd staff. It is more than possible there were no stitches and that these "stitches" (non existent ones)were used to dirty the good name of City

I've been thinking about this too and the number of "stitches " has always varied somewhere between 2-4 but never an exact figure. If Webb hadn't of pointed it out to him I doubt he would have even gone down and there was no blood, as usual theres an awful smell of #### coming from Dan Connors ugly head.

Quote Originally Posted by soylent green
    How much longer before the league do something about Cork? But I forgot, sure the rules don't apply to them

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast