Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: More Cork Thuggery

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    You Cork lads will really go out of your way to defend Cork City FC wont you
    of course!

When George made the dive in the shels game you all defended him when he was clearly in the wrong. At the time I found it rather amusing that you could twist it into him being a saint.
    I think you'll find that a number of City fans (myself included) accepted that what George did was cheating, and was wrong.

Would you look at the threads on here after such incidents. You talk yourselves around into actually thinking your being the victims... Someone posts a BUT or an IF and you all agree then others come on to and say 'yeah thats right' and before you know it you have twisted it around to the FAI the EL Ollie Byrne Shels and the new Pope are all out to get you.
    Some people take things a bit too far, that happens at all clubs- but we're fans, of course we'll defend our club. Thats one of the reasons I was so angry with the bottle being thrown at Connor, is that it damaged our reputation.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    He kicked the ball at the wall and hit a fan- FACT.
    Sorry Éanna but there was nobody hit by the ball that day. I was standing about two yards from where it hit the wall and went flying up in the air. If it had hit someone it would have done damage but it didn't. Personally I find it amazing that people get so upset over Connors, he winds up the opposition fans so what. I'd love to see a few more CCFC players do the same it's part of what makes the game enjoyable. I find it amazing that fans are well able to give out grief but any bit given back and it's blue murder.
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

Quote Originally Posted by The Good Son
    Sorry Éanna but there was nobody hit by the ball that day. I was standing about two yards from where it hit the wall and went flying up in the air.
    My apologies then- I was told by somebody who was standing down there that he had hit somebody.

Quote Originally Posted by The Good Son
    Sorry Éanna but there was nobody hit by the ball that day. I was standing about two yards from where it hit the wall and went flying up in the air. If it had hit someone it would have done damage but it didn't. Personally I find it amazing that people get so upset over Connors, he winds up the opposition fans so what. I'd love to see a few more CCFC players do the same it's part of what makes the game enjoyable. I find it amazing that fans are well able to give out grief but any bit given back and it's blue murder.
    Post of the month from the good son.the fact of the matter is that if hated characters like in corks case Dan Connor weren't in the game it just wouldn't be as enjoyable.

the person who threw the glass bottle as soon outed by people around him and carted off by the guards.
    Wrong again eanna just been reading this mornings paper which said the person who threw the bottle got away,was he outed by people around him or protected by people around him.

Quote Originally Posted by D2 Red
    Wrong again eanna just been reading this mornings paper which said the person who threw the bottle got away,was he outed by people around him or protected by people around him.
    And the papers are always right are they? The stewards and a guard came up into the Shed and took the guy away. From what I heard afterwards, they couldn't get anyone who could swear they had seen him throw it, so they were unable to press criminal charges- that doesn't mean he got away with it. He's not welcome back in the Shed, and if he has any sense he'll not show his face at turners cross again- there are a lot of people very angry with him

This story is in this mornings Irish Sun on page 51 on the far right of the page,the story is by Stephen Finn i quote"although the Gardi attempted to make an arrest, it is understood the culprit was not apprehended".

There is no reason to believe that the papers are not telling the truth but from what i can gather a few people posting on here seen the culprit could they not help the Gardi identify him and that way Cork could be sure he never enters the cross again.

Quote Originally Posted by D2 Red
    This story is in this mornings Irish Sun on page 51 on the far right of the page,the story is by Stephen Finn i quote"although the Gardi attempted to make an arrest, it is understood the culprit was not apprehended".

There is no reason to believe that the papers are not telling the truth but from what i can gather a few people posting on here seen the culprit could they not help the Gardi identify him and that way Cork could be sure he never enters the cross again.
    Yeah, I saw it in the Sun alright. Straight up D2 Red, this is what happened:
    I was a few rows down from where the bottle came from, I saw it out of the corner of my eye, and then saw it hit the crossbar. Myself and several others saw it hit the crossbar. We turned around and there was a guy standing there, looking very guilty. There was a gang around him- all his buddies, drunken little scuts. The guard and the stewards came up and grabbed one fella, but it was the wrong guy. A few people went over, and spoke to them, and they carted another fellow off- I was told by a couple of people that the guards had got the right guy. I spoke to the head guard and the event controller after and both told me that they couldn't get any witnesses who had actually seen him throw it, so he couldn't be charged.

So to sum it up- we're sure we know who did it, but we didn't actually see it, hence we can't give statements saying we did.

Lads, I'm a drog who was at the match and to be honest I dont know eanna at all, never met the chap but lets be honest hes probably the most level headed cork supporter on here about this incident (even though i dont 100% agree with him!)
    (like i didnt hear him make the childish comment that dan connor was totally to balme unlike one other cork fan )

He's recognised the club should have done better security wise (and hes said the club know this too), he acknowledges Dan is no angel (even though what he did in my opinion was very minimal on this occassion no matter what went on in the past), he acknowledges theres a small amount of teenage scum in the shed, he acknowledges cork should get a fine.

Time to move on in my opinion, lets put this to bed and hope cork will have extra security the next time the drogs are down

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    never met the chap but lets be honest hes probably the most level headed cork supporter on here about this incident
    you've ruined my reputation now- me level-headed

cheers Cosmo

HAha, though sorry to burst your bubble - you're level headed compared to some of the other immature cork lads on here

This throwing things from out of the safety of a large crowd has to be one of the most cowardly and lowest things imaginable, and it seems to be on the increase. Throwing a broken glass bottle onto a pitch shows a low mentality, as does throwing a flare onto the pitch narrowly missing a linesman, as a Cork gombeen did at Tolka last season.
    And in case anyone thinks this is an anti Cork rant, we've had our share of this kind of thing at Tolka recently, mainly young kids, who seem to get away with it.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

you've ruined my reputation now- me level-headed
    With age comes maturity

Can only those people actually AT the games in question post on this topic in future? Therefore no more posts from me.

Quote Originally Posted by The Sheliban
    This throwing things from out of the safety of a large crowd has to be one of the most cowardly and lowest things imaginable, and it seems to be on the increase. Throwing a broken glass bottle onto a pitch shows a low mentality, as does throwing a flare onto the pitch narrowly missing a linesman, as a Cork gombeen did at Tolka last season.
    And in case anyone thinks this is an anti Cork rant, we've had our share of this kind of thing at Tolka recently, mainly young kids, who seem to get away with it.
    yup, its happened at most clubs in the league at one stage or another. The important thing is to find and ban the perpetrators, not to slag one club off when it happens to them, or to attempt to excuse it if it happens to your club.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Lads, I'm a drog who was at the match and to be honest I dont know eanna at all, never met the chap but lets be honest hes probably the most level headed cork supporter on here about this incident (even though i dont 100% agree with him!)
    (like i didnt hear him make the childish comment that dan connor was totally to balme unlike one other cork fan )

He's recognised the club should have done better security wise (and hes said the club know this too), he acknowledges Dan is no angel (even though what he did in my opinion was very minimal on this occassion no matter what went on in the past), he acknowledges theres a small amount of teenage scum in the shed, he acknowledges cork should get a fine.

Time to move on in my opinion, lets put this to bed and hope cork will have extra security the next time the drogs are down
    In all fairness Cosmo if you re-read the entire thread again you'll see that every City fan, with one exception was of the same opinion as Éanna. Nobody tried to defend the stupidity of what happened or tried to blame Connors (again one exception).
    There was some defending of other accusations made against City fans, but nobody with any inteligence could defend the bottle throwing or try to blame anybody except the bottle thrower.
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

Apologies so - good to see!!

To be honest some people made it blow all out of proportion . Its not the first time it happened and it won't be the last time either (we've had incidents with drogheda in the past as im sure every club in the EL has had- and im sure we'll have 1 or 2 incidents in the future - but theres no point in dweling over it - club gets fined, warned of future security, etc and just get on with it).

It's very boring now - thats my last post on the topic

My apologies then- I was told by somebody who was standing down there that he had hit somebody.
    So were you told about all these other accusations you made as to why Dan Connor is a scumbag or did you actually witness them Eanna???

Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    So were you told about all these other accusations you made as to why Dan Connor is a scumbag or did you actually witness them Eanna???
    I saw him spray his water bottle at the crowd, I saw him stick his fingers up at the crowd, I saw him gesture at the crowd- ok

I also find Eanna to be very level headed and is always a fairly honest judge of a situation but you did try to aportion too much blame to Dan Connor on this occasion.

You are one of the better fans to have an argument with and always try to remain unbiased and can nearly always see a situation for what it is but to wade into this one even slightly on the Cork City side is wrong. Nobody is out to get you or Cork City, you and others get so defensive too quickly and in this case are wrong.

He kicked the ball at the wall and hit a fan- FACT.
    Not sure where you pulled that FACT out of

Dan Connor did nothing ( ie NOTHNG ) to deserve a bottle being thrown onto the pitch ...

Your mad even trying to partly defend this
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Dan Connor did nothing ( ie NOTHNG ) to deserve a bottle being thrown onto the pitch ...
    I agree.

The fact that he was acting the ****** doesn't mean what happened was justified. And the fact that what happened was not justified, doesn't mean he was justified in acting the ******

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast