Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: More Cork Thuggery

What exactly is all the hatred of Connor for?

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    To pick one of the easiest-to-put-down "arguments" - security costs should cover every eventuality, not just the games where everyone gets on well. If your security wasn't up to the job, something needs to be done. That's with your security, not with the visiting club, who have nothing to do with anything...
    But our security is more than adequate for every other game and is by far the best in the league.

It just seems strange that when Dan Connor yet again causes trouble at a City match that the City stewards and the City fans that get the blame.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Soper
    Too be honest i've kinda forgotten at this stage. I'm sure someone will fill us in but was incident while at the cross for Waterford game a couple of years ago. He also reacts to supporter taunts by taunting the crowd back.

You may also remember he out his knee into the head of a Bohs player when outside his penalty box chasing the ball in Dalymount. Think he did something similar at the RSC last year i think.

Ok, using Colm's logic the Shamrock Rovers 400 club can expect a big bill from Drogheda for the extra cost for extra security last week in united park as a result of their visit last week .

Bohemians one, will reach dalymount in 2 weeks.

I would put that forward for post of the month though I've a better one from Colm from the drogs mb:

'There's nobody to blame here but Dan Connor'

Haha, its just getting more bizarre

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    But our security is more than adequate for every other game and is by far the best in the league.

It just seems strange that when Dan Connor yet again causes trouble at a City match that the City stewards and the City fans that get the blame.
    Yes I'm completley baffled at how after a City fan throws a glass bottle onto the pitch SOMEHOW the City fans get the blame. It is shocking, when will this anti Cork conspiracy end?

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Yes I'm completley baffled at how after a City fan throws a glass bottle onto the pitch SOMEHOW the City fans get the blame. It is shocking, when will this anti Cork conspiracy end?
    Throwing a glass bottle onto the pitch is a bit extreme alright but how come any keeper that comes to the Cross and behaves in a civilised manner doesn't get such treatment?

I'll just ask this question and it should sum up the whole argument, would all the stuff have been thrown if Dan Connor hadn't made gestures to the crowd and wasted time?
    Champions!

Throwing a glass bottle onto the pitch is a bit extreme alright but how come any keeper that comes to the Cross and behaves in a civilised manner doesn't get such treatment?

I'll just ask this question and it should sum up the whole argument, would all the stuff have been thrown if Dan Connor hadn't made gestures to the crowd and wasted time?
    It's hardly the first time Cork fans have thrown dangerous objects onto the pitch, I can think of two other examples from games v Shels alone.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    In fairness Pete, cork should've been on the ball and had more stewards behind the goal for the second half - i remember thinking it at half time and i couldnt believe the lack of stewards at the start of the 2nd half - they should be fined for that stupidity and warned to have more security behind the goal dan connor is in for future matches - nothing more than a small fine though, these things happen.

Just a bit of cop on next time
    There should have been more security, based on past hassle between Connor and the city fans, of that there is no doubt, and anyone I spoke to from the club afterwards admitted as much.

Why should we have to fork out money to have extra stewards behind the goal just because some average goalkeeper who can't control himself happens to be playing.
    If Dan Connor could conduct himself properly and not try and act the hard man and take on the Shed every time he comes down, then incidents like these wouldn't happen.
    Being honest, if a fella incites a crowd that much on a few different occasions then it's to be expected that quite a few people are going to lose the plot.

It's Dan Connor who should be fined for his stupidity. You can't blame our stewards if your keeper is a knacker.
    Perhaps he should be banned from playing at the Cross or, if not, Drogheda should pay for any extra security costs City incur due to his presence.
    Colm, I understand where you're coming from, but I can't agree with you. Our security is normally very good, and Dan Connor was by no means innocent with regard to tensions running so high on friday night, but the fact is Turners Cross is our home ground, and therefore security is our responsibility.

our security has been excellent in recent times, bar this incident and the incident v Rovers last season. On both occasions, security was not quite heavy enough and there was an incident. I'm sure the club will learn from this. Connor may have been responsible for increasing tension, but he can hardly be blamed for the fact that some half-wit tried to take his eye out with a glass bottle.
    Last edited by Éanna; 24/04/2005 at 9:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Soper
    2 years ago, he was playing for Waherfur against us at the cross, and he got some mild slagging "Dodgy keeper" chants etc. He made a number of gestures at the crowd, and when waherfur scored he turned around and celebrated right in front of the fans (sticking his fingers up at the crowd among other things). He then started wasting time (understandable in the circumstances i guess, but still infuriating) and at one stage when he was given the ball to take a goal kick, he booted it back into the crowd and hit a fan. As he was walking off the pitch after the game, he sprayed the contents of his water bottle at some kid in the stand. Basically, he was acting the maggot and wound a lot of people up, which meant a lot of tension inside the ground, and some afterwards outside the ground. On every visit since, he has gestured at the fans, which IMO is just making a bad situation worse. On friday night, he was wasting time, waving at the crowd and at one stage was shouting obscenities at the fans right behind his goal.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Connor may have been responsible for increasing tension, but he can hardly be blamed for the fact that some half-wit tried to take his eye out with a glass bottle.
    The fact remains though that Dan Connor gave people an excuse for throwing stuff onto the pitch. I'm 99% certain it wouldn't have happened if Connor had just got on with playing the game and ignored the Sheds taunts as most other keepers do.

The first time he acted up in the Cross, I though it was the behaviour of a scumbag but a few people said he just got caught up in the moment of Waterford getting a late equaliser having been 2-0 down. If that was the case and he never repeated it, you could say fair enough and maybe let it go.
    The thing is though, he's tried to incite the Shed every time he's come to the Cross since resulting in stuff being thrown on the pitch and on one occasion a fella running on the pitch to try and attack him. He did it in the RSC last year too and a smoke bomb got thrown at him.
    He should have learnt his lesson a long time ago but he hasn't.

The point I'm making is why don't other goalkeepers get this treatment from City fans?
    Dan Connor's behaviour causes trouble at City matches and for that he should be punished.
    However, people like to ignore that and I will just get accused of thinking it's all part of an anti-Cork conspiracy.
    Champions!

The fact remains though that Dan Connor gave people an excuse for throwing stuff onto the pitch. I'm 99% certain it wouldn't have happened if Connor had just got on with playing the game and ignored the Sheds taunts as most other keepers do.

The first time he acted up in the Cross, I though it was the behaviour of a scumbag but a few people said he just got caught up in the moment of Waterford getting a late equaliser having been 2-0 down. If that was the case and he never repeated it, you could say fair enough and maybe let it go.
    The thing is though, he's tried to incite the Shed every time he's come to the Cross since resulting in stuff being thrown on the pitch and on one occasion a fella running on the pitch to try and attack him. He did it in the RSC last year too and a smoke bomb got thrown at him.
    He should have learnt his lesson a long time ago but he hasn't.

The point I'm making is why don't other goalkeepers get this treatment from City fans?
    Dan Connor's behaviour causes trouble at City matches and for that he should be punished.
    I won't argue with any of what you say there. All absolutely spot on. Connor's behaviour is the root of the problem. But it does not give anyone an excuse for throwing anything (never mind a glass bottle) at him. We will get fined for this, and we can have no complaints. But CCFC should also officially contact DUFC and point out Connor's responsibility for the deterioration of the situation, and ask that he behave himself in future. Like I said, I'd like to see a guard behind his goal next game, so that he can be arrested if he incites the crowd.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    I'd like to see a guard behind his goal next game, so that he can be arrested if he incites the crowd.
    That could be the key to solving the problem.
    If Connor was aware there was a cop behind him watching him then he's not likely to turn around and try and incite then crowd which in turn would mean people wouldn't have any reason to throw stuff at him.
    Champions!

That could be the key to solving the problem.
    If Connor was aware there was a cop behind him watching him then he's not likely to turn around and try and incite then crowd which in turn would mean people wouldn't have any reason to throw stuff at him.
    That and an official warning to Connor telling him to wise up. Then put a few stewards in the back of the Shed, to keep an eye on any idiots, and there should be no repeat.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    I have no problems with you sir hamish whatsoever ok?
    Appreciate that, CollegeTillI Die, I don't like to offend anyone or on their points of view. Cheers and thanks.
    Lads, watching the yellow cards given to Varga, Bellamy for celebrating "in a provocative fashion" (???) in front of the Rangers fans this morning, Gary Neville's stupidity v Everton and Di Canio's "salute" in Italy among many others, don't clubs/managers have any sort of code of conduct against this type of thing? I see, too, that there were 150 people in a fracas at a Bristol Rovers game today. I also believe that "away from ground" violence is still a major problem in the UK with the usual damage, fear and policing costs etc involved. Could we take this a little away from just Cork City and Connor - has anyone any comments regarding this worldwide scourge which primarily affects football. I'm always afraid to say this, but is it a social or class thing or is it that football is so big that we get a bigger share of idiots who come to games.
    I've seen cases in the US and Canada where millions of dollars worth of damage have been caused in places like Vancouver after the local (hockey??) team won some North American competition. Also, we had that Cardiff v Leeds problem a few years ago - remember that? I recall a local Welsh journalist stating that the number of arrests for public disorder at an England v Wales rugby match around the same time were in multiples of the arrests that occured for the Bluebirds game. Is it a societal thing reflected across the board in sports - remember the Dublin GAA fans who invaded Dalymount a few years ago and attacked Cork City fans?
    I really do dispair when the main focus on, say RTE's evening news sports, is Bowyer v Dyer, the tapping up cases, soccer violence with the positives hardly ever mentioned.
    Finally, I remember talking to a former Dublin hurler, also quite gifted at soccer, who said "I love soccer, Noel, but there are too many gurriers involved". I found that a bit rich and told him that. Is that the attitude most people have about our game. Every minor or major incident makes me dispair more and more, it really does.

It'd be interesting to see what was said about the incident when Rovers(?) were in Bray, and someone threw the bottle on the pitch. Just to compare and contrast the reactions...

I did a quick search, but haven't the time to find the inevitable "throw them out of the league" thread...

164 Posts
    [QUOTE=pete]You may also remember he out his knee into the head of a Bohs player when outside his penalty box chasing the ball in Dalymount./QUOTE]

Ah come on. That was fairly innocuous, couldn't be sure if it was accidental or not. I reckon Bohs fans forgot that by the end of the night whereas for some reason Cork fans are still upset by it. I don't even need to defend him anymore since we're rid of him, but some of the stuff said on this thread is ridiculous. Yeah, he is a gouger and winds ye up, but that doesn't excuse physically attacking him, throwing bottles and smoke-bombs at him and then wanting the Gardai to arrest HIM. We don't need that kind of attitude in the League. Cork have great support and are above that.

Can I just warn ye that our current goalkeeper's red hair is in no way a slur on Cork nor a sarcastic jibe at ye and shouldn't be judged as an incitement to riot. Ye'll just have to vent your frustration on your former great Rennie instead on May 13th.

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie
    Can I just warn ye that our current goalkeeper's red hair is in no way a slur on Cork nor a sarcastic jibe at ye and shouldn't be judged as an incitement to riot. Ye'll just have to vent your frustration on your former great Rennie instead on May 13th.

Dan Connors no angel but some of the nonsense being spouted here about him is complete and utter ****e!!!

That may well be the case. But if he had booted the ball into the crowd, made offensive gestures to spectators and sprayed the contents of his water bottle at a child at YOUR ground, you might not like him either.
    Talk about exaggerations,lads come on now the ball was kicked at the perimeter wall in front of the shed and the spraying of water took place out in the center-circle how the Christ do you make out he sprayed it at a child???
    Granted he made gestures toward spectators,what team doesn't have at least one player who has made a gesture toward opposition supporters???Your own beloved Georgie and John O Flynn have gestured at us in the past,only this season Paul Keegan got a bit of stick at us and made gestures at us in Flancare Park.
    That didn't give us reason to throw objects at them,so why do ye say Connor brought it on himself,Connor deserved it,Connor is scum,etc???????????

You Cork lads will really go out of your way to defend Cork City FC wont you

No matter what seems to go on you always have some sort of way to twist things around and come out on the good side. Everyone else is evil and out to get you ??

When George made the dive in the shels game you all defended him when he was clearly in the wrong. At the time I found it rather amusing that you could twist it into him being a saint. Now we have a totally different matter of people throwing stuff onto the pitch and you are saying Dan Connor is the problem This has gone on before with backing up Dolan and using his twisted version of events, like fixture lists and so on. You really cn turn any situation around cant you

Would you look at the threads on here after such incidents. You talk yourselves around into actually thinking your being the victims... Someone posts a BUT or an IF and you all agree then others come on to and say 'yeah thats right' and before you know it you have twisted it around to the FAI the EL Ollie Byrne Shels and the new Pope are all out to get you.
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    Talk about exaggerations,lads come on now the ball was kicked at the perimeter wall in front of the shed and the spraying of water took place out in the center-circle how the Christ do you make out he sprayed it at a child???
    Granted he made gestures toward spectators,what team doesn't have at least one player who has made a gesture toward opposition supporters???Your own beloved Georgie and John O Flynn have gestured at us in the past,only this season Paul Keegan got a bit of stick at us and made gestures at us in Flancare Park.
    That didn't give us reason to throw objects at them,so why do ye say Connor brought it on himself,Connor deserved it,Connor is scum,etc???????????
    He kicked the ball at the wall and hit a fan- FACT.
    He sprayed water at a kid as he was walking down the tunnel to the dressing rooms- FACT.
    He is a scumbag- FACT.
    What happened on Friday was inexcusable- FACT.
    We will get fined for it, and deservedly so- what part of me saying that can you not understand.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast