Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: More Cork Thuggery

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Absolute and utter bull**** that is. Who the **** do you think you are making ridiculous allegations like that? Its bad enough that some young scumbag has blighted our reputation by throwing a bottle at Scum Connor, without some fool who wasn't even there making unsubstantiated allegations. Cop yourself on. I've stood in the Shed for most of the last decade and only 2 or 3 times have I heard anything racist, and on each occasion the person who did it was challenged by those around him. Last night there were a few things thrown at Scum Connor, but the person who threw the glass bottle as soon outed by people around him and carted off by the guards.

I replied to one of your colleagues already on this and I have no intention of repeating myself. Witnessed it ... enough said

I usually dont get involved in these silly threads but after reading some of this rubbish i must post..first of all Higgins you should be ashamed to be starting a thread like that

We are all(well most of us)grown ups here..why all this petty rubbish?..there are scumbags involved with everyclub in this country..most comments made are mostly wind-ups but for you COMIC BOOK GUY..i am not a aggressive sort of person but i would give you a good kick up the ho*e for thoses comments you made about Tony O Dowd..the only time Tony O Dowd was ever mocked about that as he himself said in an interview was in a Bohs-Rovers game..you are a scumbag for even bringing it up..some of you lads on here are stepping over the line..this is a sport..a bloo*y football game..i love the rivalry with everyclub but some of you must have no lives to be bringing arguments to this level..

I can only speak from personal experience and I'm going back a few years but in my time with Athlone, Cork City fans were always welcome visitors to St.Mels. Win, lose or draw, they were always great crack. On our trips to Bishopstown or The Cross, we always got a warm welcome and enjoyed our stay there - we usually lost but I never encountered any arrogance when we did, just sportsmanship. I know it's a while back but that's how I found it. Yep, there are clowns at all games, we've even had few up our way but they seem to have crawled back under their stones now.

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    I can only speak from personal experience and I'm going back a few years but in my time with Athlone, Cork City fans were always welcome visitors to St.Mels. Win, lose or draw, they were always great crack. On our trips to Bishopstown or The Cross, we always got a warm welcome and enjoyed our stay there - we usually lost but I never encountered any arrogance when we did, just sportsmanship. I know it's a while back but that's how I found it. Yep, there are clowns at all games, we've even had few up our way but they seem to have crawled back under their stones now.

Isnt it always nice to hear an honest decent fan leaving a good message..fair dues to you sirhamish..by the way i will never forget our cup game in Athlone a few years back..great craic with the local people and fans..maybe we might be back this year if we can get past the 1st round..

Thanks for the nice compliment RedX - takes one to know one! Yeh, I was at that Cup semifinal, City gave us a right going over that day but it was great to see 6,500 at the game. Great atmosphere - I think the City took up most of the "main" stand and, Jesus, did they make a racket, felt like a fcuking away game!!!!!

sir hamish

I have travelled from Dublin to support Cork City in Europe on numerous occasions. I have been to games against Cwmbran Town , and Lausanne to name just two. So would I do that if I did not respect the club and the vast majority of it's supporters? No way . I went to Cork on one occasion in preference to having to stomach St.Pat's V Celtic in Dublin where 75% of the locals would have been cheering for the visiting side. :

Ah, Jesus, CollegeTillI Die, don't start geting annoyed with me (was that a sarcastic logo from you, of all people) especially since you've given me so much data and advice over quite a few posts. I have absolutely no doubt of your good intentions and support of LOI football and apologies if I appear patronising - it's the age thing maybe. I wasn't having an indirect swipe at you or the other blokes commenting on the Shed End affair. I just simply wanted to state my personal experiences of Town v City occasions, nothing more, honestly. I have no problems with people criticising bad behaviour from ANY club's fans. Maybe I'm just naive about all this but I have great memories from all the games in the League when I was involved and I just get a little sad when I hear/read about incidents like this and the resulting criticisms and counter criticisms. Ahh, maybe I'm a little too old and sensitive to deal with you Foot.ie hard chaws. (Yep, that's violins you can hear in the background!). Cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by D2 Red
    Everybody knows this not just Dubs,btw no one else in the league has a problem with dan conner.
    That may well be the case. But if he had booted the ball into the crowd, made offensive gestures to spectators and sprayed the contents of his water bottle at a child at YOUR ground, you might not like him either.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I'm not the longest or most knowledged eL fan by any stretch but why is it that Connor is considered scum?

"Its bad enough that some young scumbag has blighted our reputation by throwing a bottle at Scum Connor"

Is it just me or does this sentence really look odd?
    See above. The guy has indulged not only in massive amounts of time-wasting every time I've seen him, but he deliberately winds the fans up as well. Maybe its only at Turners Cross he does it, but he should have been done for incitment to riot by now.

How in the name of **** does
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Dogs abuse heaped at Jason Sherlock (when he was with UCD) and it was monkey chanting et al.
    (btw, I heard Sherlock receive a number of racist comments, but NEVER monkey chants)
    equate to:
    The shed end again I take it?
    They are among the most racist gobdaws in the el as well!
    You provide ONE example of ONE incident, and use it to tarnish the repuation of approximately 1,000 people. What the hell are you playing at?! I played a 5-a-side match against some UCD fans a few years back, and one of them accidentally tripped me up during the game- should I go around telling everyone that UCD fans are thugs? Get a grip and cop on to yourself. And next time we're playing a european match and you feel like coming down- stay in Dublin. We have one or two scumbags of our own to try and root out, we don't need the likes of you to deal with as well.

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    i am not a aggressive sort of person but i would give you a good kick up the ho*e for thoses comments you made about Tony O Dowd..the only time Tony O Dowd was ever mocked about that as he himself said in an interview was in a Bohs-Rovers game
    In fairness RedX, there were comments sung at O'Dowd about that by one or two idiots a few years back. They weren't in the Shed though, they were in the corner, and the rest of the corner boys turned on them and shut them up very quickly.
    Last edited by Éanna; 23/04/2005 at 11:27 PM.

176 Posts
    That may well be the case. But if he had booted the ball into the crowd, made offensive gestures to spectators and sprayed the contents of his water bottle at a child at YOUR ground, you might not like him either.
    The guy has indulged not only in massive amounts of time-wasting every time I've seen him, but he deliberately winds the fans up as well. Maybe its only at Turners Cross he does it, but he should have been done for incitment to riot by now.
    Are there people on here working for the press? A bottle was thrown at a goalkeeper, the fan was found, and arrested. That was it. The whole episode has been blown way out of proportion. But it highlights how every incident involving fans at NL games, no matter how trivial, is taken so seriously.

If winding up the fans, and time-wasting means you're called scum, how do you brand a player who fires the ball into the crowd? George O' Callaghan scored once for Cork against Rovers at TC, and promptly ran to the Rovers fans to celebrate. Not the cleverest thing to do, and if it wasn't for the reactions of the Gardai, there WOULD been a riot. It's players who goad opposition fans after scoring, who should be done for incitement, not for time-wasting.

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Ah, Jesus, CollegeTillI Die, don't start geting annoyed with me (was that a sarcastic logo from you, of all people) especially since you've given me so much data and advice over quite a few posts. I have absolutely no doubt of your good intentions and support of LOI football and apologies if I appear patronising - it's the age thing maybe. I wasn't having an indirect swipe at you or the other blokes commenting on the Shed End affair. I just simply wanted to state my personal experiences of Town v City occasions, nothing more, honestly. I have no problems with people criticising bad behaviour from ANY club's fans. Maybe I'm just naive about all this but I have great memories from all the games in the League when I was involved and I just get a little sad when I hear/read about incidents like this and the resulting criticisms and counter criticisms. Ahh, maybe I'm a little too old and sensitive to deal with you Foot.ie hard chaws. (Yep, that's violins you can hear in the background!). Cheers.
    I have no problems with you sir hamish whatsoever ok?

you provide ONE example of ONE incident, and use it to tarnish the repuation of approximately 1,000 people. What the hell are you playing at?! I played a 5-a-side match against some UCD fans a few years back, and one of them accidentally tripped me up during the game- should I go around telling everyone that UCD fans are thugs? Get a grip and cop on to yourself. And next time we're playing a european match and you feel like coming down- stay in Dublin. We have one or two scumbags of our own to try and root out, we don't need the likes of you to deal with as well.
    It was every time he played there but enough of that.
    I am really surprised at your attitude to my response. In the words of Jack Nicholson in one of his movies " You Can't handle the truth". I was trying to present a balanced portrait with my European games in Turner's Cross Comments. But if the extra support from other clubs when ye play in Europe is not appreciated then fine ! I won't bother going to the extra expense of overnight accomodation to support an Irish team in Europe some of whose supporters clearly don't see the bigger picture.

Cork doing well in Europe or Shels or anyone else for that matter= better coefficient = easier draws for the rest of us in years to come if and when we eventually qualify for the competition..
    A win-win situation for the el.

Racist comments from any supporters at el games no matter how small in number is bad for all us . A lose-lose situation for the el when we are trying to attract families and larger attendances to games !

30 Posts
    ...and I thought of C'a'wkies as a fluffy and cuddly bunch.

seriously in my time heading down to the X, I have never seen one ounce of trouble coming from the lads behind the Shed. I love going to the X and my visit on the Bank Holiday weekend is eagerly anticipated by all along Suirside. I drink with the lads in the Horsehoe and never detected any bit of animosity shown towards us. A sure there is the usual pre-match slagging (alleged bestial sex practices performed on our livestock, superiority complex, blah blah) but its all laughed over a few prematch beverages.

I'm looking forward to X game since we will be in the Derrynane side right next to the pitch so I can give Georgie a good earful.

Looking forward to seeing ye all down in the RSC in 3 weeks.

I am really surprised at your attitude to my response. In the words of Jack Nicholson in one of his movies " You Can't handle the truth". I was trying to present a balanced portrait with my European games in Turner's Cross Comments. But if the extra support from other clubs when ye play in Europe is not appreciated then fine ! I won't bother going to the extra expense of overnight accomodation to support an Irish team in Europe some of whose supporters clearly don't see the bigger picture.
    My response was due to the fact that you took the comments of a couple of individuals on a couple of occasions, to paint an untrue picture of approximately 1,000 people. Of course there are idiots in the Shed, there are idiots everywhere in every football ground, and wherever possible they should be found, kicked out and banned if their actions merit it. I myself have only ever heard 3 incidents of racist abuse in the Shed- once with Sherlock, once with Eric Lavine and once with Wes Charles. With regard to Lavine I was standing close to the fellow who said it, and I ****ed him out of it for his behaviour as did many others around me. I can "handle the truth", I acknowledge that some people in the Shed are no angels, and I fully support any action against them when they indulge in scumbag behaviour. I just object to tabloid-esque, sensationalist re-writing of what has happened and the blackening of the reputation of an entire group of people based on the actions of a few idiots.

I think all eL grounds have had monkey chants or racists comments but been a good while since i've heard any. I don't think i've ever heard a large group of supporters chanting either.

There have been a few incidents of supporter trouble in recent years but each time CCFC has acted decisively which is more than be said for some other clubs. If we get the biggest crowds it stands to reason that will have more idiots than other clubs.

You may say i'm biased but Turners Cross is by far the most professionally run match day in the eL. Supporter segregation, more stewards, no people on the pitch, no loose surfaces...

In fairness Pete, cork should've been on the ball and had more stewards behind the goal for the second half - i remember thinking it at half time and i couldnt believe the lack of stewards at the start of the 2nd half - they should be fined for that stupidity and warned to have more security behind the goal dan connor is in for future matches - nothing more than a small fine though, these things happen.

Just a bit of cop on next time

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    In fairness Pete, cork should've been on the ball and had more stewards behind the goal for the second half - i remember thinking it at half time and i couldnt believe the lack of stewards at the start of the 2nd half - they should be fined for that stupidity and warned to have more security behind the goal dan connor is in for future matches - nothing more than a small fine though, these things happen.
    Why should we have to fork out money to have extra stewards behind the goal just because some average goalkeeper who can't control himself happens to be playing.
    If Dan Connor could conduct himself properly and not try and act the hard man and take on the Shed every time he comes down, then incidents like these wouldn't happen.
    Being honest, if a fella incites a crowd that much on a few different occasions then it's to be expected that quite a few people are going to lose the plot.

It's Dan Connor who should be fined for his stupidity. You can't blame our stewards if your keeper is a knacker.
    Perhaps he should be banned from playing at the Cross or, if not, Drogheda should pay for any extra security costs City incur due to his presence.
    Champions!

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Being honest, if a fella incites a crowd that much on a few different occasions then it's to be expected that quite a few people are going to lose the plot.

It's Dan Connor who should be fined for his stupidity. You can't blame our stewards if your keeper is a knacker.
    Perhaps he should be banned from playing at the Cross or, if not, Drogheda should pay for any extra security costs City incur due to his presence.

That must be one of the most bizarre, ridiculous posts ever! And that's saying something!

To pick one of the easiest-to-put-down "arguments" - security costs should cover every eventuality, not just the games where everyone gets on well. If your security wasn't up to the job, something needs to be done. That's with your security, not with the visiting club, who have nothing to do with anything...

No, it was all Dan Connors fault, everyone else is blameless, didn't you hear?

3,491 Posts
    Sorry, my mistake! Forgot to leave my sense of logic at the forum entrance on the way in...!

The anti-Cork conspiracy now extends to Drogheda and Scotland.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast