Thread: Rovers Crest

Rovers Crest

Is there any rovers fan there who can enlighten me on the significance of having a cow on our crest. From the jersey it looks like a dog but from that big painting going into the showgrounds i have been able to distinguish that it is actually a cow. One of me mates figures that its to do with that quenn maeve bull****

Yeah it's quenn maeve bull but the one in the Showgrounds are done very bad. I think the shell is their because Sligo means Shell or something like that in Irish

Here is a good quality new Rovers crest and this is the old Rovers crest
    Last edited by 1 9 2 8; 19/04/2005 at 6:44 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by in_da_red
    the significance of the bull isnt really to symbolise anything. it was added becuase other people were using the club crest to make money AFAIK. so they just added the bull and deemed anything else to be unofficial merchandise.
    That was the thinking at the time but has anything changed??
    I don't think so.
    The practice still continues today as there is more money being made outside the club than inside. Example; where do you buy a replica jersey and how much from the sale do the club receive.
    The original crest was by far a better emblem to have, by placing a bull over it was just another way to express how the club is perceived by certain people.
    'Don't dream - to dream is to be disappointed'

Have to agree fully with In da red. I have said this before,but i have to repeat myself Rovers have to start running the club as a professional business and that involves appointing a commercial manager.

Look at Pat's who have just appointed Bernard O'Byrne as CEO and Galway (heaven help us!) who have given the job to Nick Leeson. ( i'd say the banks can't wait for him to approach them for sponsorship).

I'm keen to wait and hear more before commenting on the Sean Flannery situation,but it sounds very bad.

However if we are okay and stay in contention for promotion then the club has to start planning for next season.

Sean Connor and the lads are doing their stuff,but the squad would have to be strenghtened in order to compete in the Premier division.

The voluntary stuff is brilliant and fair play to all who give and collect but We need someone to be out there generating funds for the club through the local business and the national/International businesses.

I must take my hat off to the trust and their excellent website and it seems to me that the best way for fans to get things done is through the trust.

And while it is good to hear about plans to re-build the shed,i think it would be far better if the attention was focussed on building a decent clubhouse.

It's a revenue earner that is being ignored. Could also build a gym in it...

The land is there and the goodwill is there.

Is there a proper car park in the showgrounds now, and if not do the police still have to cordon off church hill on match days?

Quote Originally Posted by in_da_red
    There's currently no car park, although there will be when the outside wall is knocked in and pushed back. I think the guards corden off church hill, but alot of people park in rosehill and in the various other housing areas. The residents dont complain so fair play to them
    I was just thinking, sureley the policing costs might be a fair old expenditure, unless the guards do it for free.

Redrov2005 i'll have to disagree with ya on that point about putting off rebuilding the shed until theirs a clubhouse built. Im sure that the clubhouse will generate alot of income but so will the shed if its repaired. 100 to 200 of the old gaurd are certain to come back if the sheds opened again. But also the shed is the heart of the showgrounds and with the shed in full voice we are sure to collect a good few more points. Remember the sheds alot more than just a stand.

totally agree with you da real rover. we need the shed back as soon as possible

Bring back our Shed!
    Keep on keepin' on.

My guess re: the cow?

Your ground is "The Showgrounds"- Was it historically the venue for Spring Show type event? These events involve cows!!!

The reason for this strange post is that in Sydney, "The Showgrounds" are owned by the people that run the Spring Show (or "Easter Show" as it is here)/ These grounds are also used by a rugby team as their home pitch.
    Here is a picture
    http://www.scpconsult.com.au/JobSheets/JSshowground.htm

BTW- The construction work on the right of this picture is the 2000 Sydney Olympic Stadium (so the pic is a bit old).

Quote Originally Posted by LondonRover
    Bring back our Shed!

Why doesn't someone start a petition and hand it in to the board when there is enough names collected, along with a couple of quid (which would help swing there thoughts on the shed). Its better to do something rather than just talk about it amoungst yerselves !!!

its not a cow. its a bull from the brown bull of cooley and the story of queen maeve who is burried in sligo. Not a bit obvious?

Look lads i done my time in the Shed and i am fully aware of it's significance,but i also think that building a clubhouse is very important and should be a priority.

That's not to say that i don't want the Shed re-opened.

Howver ( and i could be wrong on this) but to get a Uefa A licence don't you have to have an all seater stadium ?

Quote Originally Posted by redrov2005
    Look lads i done my time in the Shed and i am fully aware of it's significance,but i also think that building a clubhouse is very important and should be a priority.

That's not to say that i don't want the Shed re-opened.

Howver ( and i could be wrong on this) but to get a Uefa A licence don't you have to have an all seater stadium ?
    I think this UEFA Licence idea is nothing but an Irish joke!!
    All the criteria that's laid down as to how a club qualifies etc. One of the most important is a Tax Certificate to prove all outstanding taxes are paid in full. Shams owe something in the region of one million plus to the tax revenue and yet they qualify for a Premier Licence
    As I say a total Irish joke!!
    'Don't dream - to dream is to be disappointed'