Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Matthews Out

Angry Matthews Out

I think its time Jim Hanley opened his eyes and saw that its time to give matthews the boot.
    Its so obvious that his EXTREMELY frustrating long ball tactics dont work, even a 10 year old girl that was sitting beside me at the game tonight could realise that.
    These tactics are driving the fans away. There were 900 at the Bray game and id say not much more tonight. Whos going to pay the players wages if theres nobody coming through the turnstiles?
    At least from a financial point of view, Hanley should give him the sack........
    we are going up

I've been wondering myself why longford persist with the long ball game- there are some quality players in the side, but its always hoof hoof hoof with longford.

Quote Originally Posted by RockofGibraltar
    I think its time Jim Hanley opened his eyes and saw that its time to give matthews the boot.
    Its so obvious that his EXTREMELY frustrating long ball tactics dont work, even a 10 year old girl that was sitting beside me at the game tonight could realise that.
    These tactics are driving the fans away. There were 900 at the Bray game and id say not much more tonight. Whos going to pay the players wages if theres nobody coming through the turnstiles?
    At least from a financial point of view, Hanley should give him the sack........
    You must be annoyed that he signe a two year contract a few weeks back so?!!

I heard on the grapevine that he has agreed to the contract alright but has yet to actually put pen to paper.
    I tell you, i dont know how the other town fans are feeling but to say that i am frustrated would be an understatement.
    I dont think you will ever come up against 2 bigger centre halves than Dave Rogers and Jamie Harris, but yet Matthews persists with playing it long up from the back..to make matters worse, its dessie baker that he is playing it long to!!
    Every player on the longford town team is suited to a short passing game, not hoof hoof hoof
    we are going up

I often get the impression that Longford don't have many creative players in midfield when doesn't play Baker wide so just Kirby in midfield alongside Martin, Fitzgerald & whoever else...

Used to be a time when ye passed the ball but not seen much in last 2 years.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RockofGibraltar
    Met Lavine at the match in the Brandy and he went on a five minute rant about Matthews, long ball tactics, not being picked because he wasn't a "Matthews man" etc etc
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Met Lavine at the match in the Brandy and he went on a five minute rant about Matthews, long ball tactics, not being picked because he wasn't a "Matthews man" etc etc
    Avril isn't being picked because he's a untc who's more interested in his social life than training.

I agree, Matthews out - I mean it's not like we'll ever win anything with him. We need someone who'll bring trophies in, someone to bring us to our most successful period in our history. Matthews is clearly a spoofer and not the man to do this.

I wouldn't sack him but his tactics were bizzare to say the least. Shels were, frankly, awful last night and were there for the taking but pinging long balls at Jamie Harris, probably the tallest centre half in the league, is not exactly a good way to break us down. When you did pass the ball, very briefly, you got some joy and created a good first half chance by doing just that and it took an excellent Williams save to keep you out.

Rock of Gibraltar - are you for real? Were you watching the game last night? At every opportunity to play the ball out from the back we tried to take it, but as they should Shels were making sure we couldn't do it too often.

So you think the Town should get a new manager? - What would his brief be- "well the last guy got sacked cause he only won 2 out of the 3 trophies available last season, so the new manager would have to win all three trophies just to keep his job" - get real, we lost, we played some good football and some bad football, and we played a very good team, the league champions who'll be there or thereabouts at the end of the year again.

Matthews out is a load of bullsh1t.We didn't play well last night and it was a great chance to take shels but what shels did do was get men behind the ball and made it difficult.One or 2 changes on the pitch is what's needed not sacking the manager.Last night we would have beaten a lot of teams but not Shels.They got 2 chances and took them.Jason Byrne's goal was special but was preventable because 1) it was no free kick and 2) he got between 2 defenders.Richie Baker only scored because Sean Dillon slipped.It wasn't a great performance but the heart was in it.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Rockoff I hope you are joking.

Did anyone else notide that after we beat Bray there was no thread about it - Whats the story, do we only get on here and moan when we lose?

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie
    Did anyone else notide that after we beat Bray there was no thread about it - Whats the story, do we only get on here and moan when we lose?
    Certain people just wait for the excuse, afterall he's not the "great" Stephen Kenny...

112 Posts
    Ok ive been in London since Christmas, so ive no real right to comment, but this Mathews out lark is really getting on my tits. People were getting on his back last season as well around this stage, and oh we ended up winning two trophies. Fair enough, we're off to a bad start, but calling for Mathew's head at this stage of the season is outrageous.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT ........ NoW, NOW, NOW .

The Section O lads have the banners ready for the game on Monday night. Matthews will need a Garda escort.
    Words fail me.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7
    Words fail me.
    Is this turning into the most sarcastic thread ever, or is it just to early for you Pauro?

Ah yes Macy the great Stephen Kenny, the legendary figure who walked out on us....

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Is this turning into the most sarcastic thread ever, or is it just to early for you Pauro?
    Far too early man.... rumours of my demise have been exaggerated..... completely off topic but the times we have won this season, ive been wearing my Town kit over here at the time they are playing, so maybe theres a theory. Pauro Out!

It dosn't matter how good your midfield is if every ball is kicked over their heads. While I do not agree with the Matthews out extreme, I do believe that Jim Hanley should tell management (Alan and Arron) that he wants football played. I do not accept that we are the only team in the premiership that every other team can totally close down to such an extent that the ball must be hoofed in the air. The reason we are closed down is because the ball is not released quick enough. Diggers first instinct should be to release the ball to a defender or midfielder however as he has not done so for the past three years it does not happen automatically.
    I firmly believe we have the players who can play football if given the encouragement to do so.

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7
    completely off topic but the times we have won this season, ive been wearing my Town kit over here at the time they are playing, so maybe theres a theory. Pauro Out!
    The same used to happen when I was in Oz back in the 2000/01 season. Didn't wear it for the Cup Final . . . .

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast