Thread: Dundalk 1 Limerick 0

Quote Originally Posted by The Derrynane 1
    Take it from me, I've played under Noel, he is most definately not a hoofmeister a la Houllier.
    Well he'd want to start proving that so, because all I've seen so far is hoof. I agree he has to be given time, the season at least. But the football has been so bad so far that questions have to be asked. If we put three passes together against Galway, I suggest that the crowd do a mexican wave in celebration.....

Glad to see a more restrained approach to posting on your part Willie john, long may it continue.

As for the overall points being made above I think it's far too soon to talk about getting rid of Noel O'Connor (besides with the five year contract who's paying to pay to sack him if he doesn't deliver?) I don't think anybody should be pushed after 7 games.

That said we're not playing particularly well overall. We're averaging less than a point a game and we're second bottom in the table. I think that a little criticism of our season so far is to be expected. We've flattered to deliever for the most part.

Most of the points being made (the reluctance to utilise players like Cosgrave, Ahearne and Hartnett, the seeming lack of any overall shape and tactical direction) are valid enough. I don't think I could do a better job than Noel can. But I am a football fan and have been for a long time. I can appreciate the difference between good and bad football and at the moment we're tending more towards the latter.

Noel deserves more time certainly and I think the team will improve (they have been unlucky enough overall). At the moment though things aren't particularly rosy on the pitch and people have every right to make that observation.

less of the "ye" pailface

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    i thought this was the answer to all ye're prayers having noc come in and take over .

im sure ye know why mick aherne wont get in the team while noc is in charge & he wont get sacked since he owns some of the club , which will lead to a lot more problems the 2 should be seperate owners cant be managers it does nt work .
    i think you'll find that the takeover maybe was the answer to our prayers but most on this were of the opinion that Noel was a good coach, we were not so cool on him being manager as we did finished last as well as guiding the team to the league cup the previous time he was in charge. My vote was for John Gill as were many others. The removal of Mike Kerley didnt go down well either so maybe it was just the removeal of the previuos regime (off the field) that you may be correct on.

Spot on Gael 353. It's amazing how some can easily forget what was actually said.

The new owners have been good for the club as we stated. .

NOC has us playing poor football. Something which was also stated here.

That said what was the thinking behind giving someone who finished bottom in Division 1 the last time round a 5 year contract? The mind boggles....
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    i thought this was the answer to all ye're prayers having noc come in and take over .

im sure ye know why mick aherne wont get in the team while noc is in charge & he wont get sacked since he owns some of the club , which will lead to a lot more problems the 2 should be seperate owners cant be managers it does nt work .
    While I agree with Gael's response to the above post the return of anto1208 to gloat over our poor start under our new management team after some of the riducle he recieved on this board did bring a smile to my face

Jaysus, there's nothing like Limerick fans for moaning. There is a problem on the pitch - we are not taking our chances. Simple as that. There is talk of changing things around and I think some marginal changes could be warranted. Bringing in Ahearne wouldnot make much difference IMO. Hartnett could be given a try - at first even as sub in centre mid. And why not try Barrett up front? Apparently he got goals for View last couple of seasons and from midfield for us he is scoring - he obviously knows where the net is.

I don't think we are hoofmeisters (as it was so eloquently put) - both NOC and Kerley put out teams that try to play football - as opposed to the Monaghan and Dublin City style of play we saw this season. There is nothing wrong with a long ball if you have pacey front men - the problem is when it is aimless long balls like we saw Dublin City play in Rathbane. I know they are top of the league but they would win no prizes for the quality of their football or their tackling.

We were unlucky by all accounts in Sligo. We should have taken 3 points at home to Monaghan. Those extra 4 points would have us in fourth or so. There is very little between the teams as it is and I think panicing at this stage and talk of O'Connor out at this stage is premature. There are some here that are talking their own book. they were critical of NOC at the start of the season and are taking the poor current form (after 7 games to say 'I told you so').

We are unbeaten at home - we need to keep that going.
    Last edited by LFC in Exile; 25/04/2005 at 2:53 PM.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

All I see here is people calling it as it is. Nothing wrong with dealing in facts and voicing opinions. Very few are calling for NOC's head. I couldn't care less if Mary Poppins was the manager, as long as the football is watchable and a decent standard. As I've already said, I'm not too bothered about the defeats, it's the football on show that I'm not happy with. As someone quite rightly said, even though we are second bottom, we're still only a win or two from the top. However, we are playing quite poor stuff at the moment. Generally, when teams play poor stuff, they get criticised, and that's all that is happening here. Lets hope NOC turns it around, starting friday night.

Would we be so low in the league if Mike Kerley hadn't been sacked? Obviously ifs and buts will break your butt...but still! we did well the season before last with him.

Quote Originally Posted by the ox
    Would we be so low in the league if Mike Kerley hadn't been sacked? Obviously ifs and buts will break your butt...but still! we did well the season before last with him.
    Well if we had the same players as well...
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

He had a summer to bring in players. Forcing Fyffe out is still beyond me. According to the lads in charge "mooney is the best goalkeeper in the first division". if thats the judgement of the guys in charge...!!

Add my vote to that!
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

71 Posts
    Who is Jimmy Fyffe with now?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Who is Jimmy Fyffe with now?
    Was talking to Jimmy the other day actually. he's not playing football at all at the moment which is some loss to the First Division anyway. He said that he'd no interest in playing 'for some team like Cobh or Athlone because I hate them anyway'.

It was always gonna be Limerick (or Bray who made him an offer but he felt it was too far) or nothing.

The terms that were offered, and refused, by Jimmy obviously didn't suit him. Maybe competition, and not being guaranteed a first team spot contributed.
    Maybe he didn't want to play any more.
    Maybe he thought that the training, and travelling to matches would clash with his music career, which is quite lucrative to him.
    The fact is, he chose not to sign, so maybe it should be portrayed in black and white, not as if he was 'forced' from the club.

Quote Originally Posted by the ox
    He had a summer to bring in players. Forcing Fyffe out is still beyond me. According to the lads in charge "mooney is the best goalkeeper in the first division". if thats the judgement of the guys in charge...!!
    In fairness - Mooney was brilliant against Dublin City.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    The fact is, he chose not to sign, so maybe it should be portrayed in black and white, not as if he was 'forced' from the club.
    No real argument from me there Joe but I don't think it's as black and white as you're portraying things. Not to mention that for something you're trying to portray as black and white there are a hell of a lot of 'maybe's in your post!

I think the fact is that, like Dave Conway and James Sugrue, Fyffe felt he was being significantly undervalued by Limerick. He certainly chose not to sign but I do think it's important to acknowledge that he wanted to sign for Limerick this season. The question of whether he was offered fair terms is totally relative and could be debated to death. Likewise the question of whether Fyffe is as good (or bad) as both he and Noel O'Connor would believe is just two more opinions. Everybody will hold one.

Personally I think he's a huge loss, Noel Mooney is a smashing guy but nowhere near as capable a keeper. He made 2-3 good saves against Dublin City but conversely he dropped at least one cross that he shouldn't have. He was adequate on the night but hardly brilliant I would have thought.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    Noel Mooney is a smashing guy but nowhere near as capable a keeper. He made 2-3 good saves against Dublin City but conversely he dropped at least one cross that he shouldn't have. He was adequate on the night but hardly brilliant I would have thought.
    I haven't seen Mooney away from Rathbane - he was really good in those games. I think you are being unfair on him in relation to the Dublin City game - it was more than 2-3 good saves - one in particular was outstanding. Another was excellent even if he did play up the dive. Against Mons he had little to do but did it well.

I don't doubt for a minute he had a howler in Cobh. As you say whether he is better than Fyffe or not is a moot point. Opinions are like assh oles - everybody has one, but if Fyffe chose not to play for the terms on offer then given Mooney's ability I think Limerick were right not to get involved in negotiations to keep him - with the possible efect that might have had on other players' demands.

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    I don't doubt for a minute he had a howler in Cobh.
    And in Athlone let's not forget. I fully respect your opinion because I believe that you know football. That said, I don't agree with you. Based on what I've seen of Noel Mooney thus far I'm not convinced that he's good enough to keep goal for a side hoping to finish in the top half.

He made one excellent save against Dublin City, anything else he did I'd expect from a keeper at this level. I don't think he's bad as such but I think he's a definite step down on what we had last season. Again I'll stress that this is an opinion only but I think that anybody who reads this board will have to see that I'm not alone in this view.

I think people should forget about Jimmy Fyffe for now. If nothing else it'll depress you at times after another dropped cross... more seriously though I can't see Jimmy Fyffe being anywhere near a Limerick side this season. I think he's a big loss to us on the playing side of things and I also don't think he was either particularly well treated or offered a particularly good contract by Limerick. That's the managers perogative. Come the end of the season he'll be judged on such decisions. So be it.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    Come the end of the season he'll be judged on such decisions. So be it.
    Will he though??

So, Jebus. Tell me what your expectations for the club were for the season last December.... Then perhaps you could tell me if you expect miracles to happen overnight....then perhaps you can explain to me how a new squad is supposed to automatically gel together in the first quarter of the season...then you can explain to me just what Noel O'Connors many faults are and why we're not running away with the league already...it is a simple game after all...

Not only do you want your cake and eat it....you want everyone elses as well.A little reality check from time to time might be in order..The club is learning to walk before it can run both on and off the field of play. Mistakes are going to be made by everyone. Support is whats required, nothing much to ask I'd say, plus a little faith in the regime. A little longer than some are prepared to wait perhaps....
    Last edited by joeSoap; 27/04/2005 at 12:15 PM.