Thread: More Shel$ Thuggery

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    2. Is it acceptable for any player to hold the referee or pull his jersey?
    Red Card I am afraid. Are you leading the witness Pete .
    Are you really a shels fan?

Ollie & Fenlon will have you kicked out the club for bucking the party line now

Pete, its the lack of consistancy implementing the rule across the board that annoys people. Not the rule itself. You sited Heary for pulling the ref's jersey or pushing him How manys have you been to a game of football and a player commits a foul, yellow card. Opposition does the same and they get none. Or vice versa? Most people miss the point cos they are so far biased on their club they fail to have a reasonable point of view on the situation. Rules need to be followed regardless and if you argue that you shouldn't be punished and the rule clearly states you should then your arguement is baseless.

1. Is it aceptable for players to surround the referee complianing about his decision?
    No, and too many players do it. Shels players dont have premium rights on that one. When any Shels player does it, it annoys me. Likewise any other player. More than likely they get a yellow and I sigh at their utter silliness for getting one.

Red Card I am afraid. Are you leading the witness Pete .

Now you can have a comeback message with multiple examples of it in the past from shels but give me a video recorder and a tape of every game in a season and I guarentee you it pans out evens amoungst teams. They all do it and its annoying. You point is well takne, shame most have blinkers on when it comes to outside Shels!!
    spot on. what are the cork lads tryin to prove?? that shels are evil and city walk on water its not acceptable for any club/ players to behave in this way but its happaning all over and the only reason its being highlighted here is because $hel$ are involved.
    stop with the conspiracy theories
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

There are two rules which I think should be experimented with in soccer.
    1. In Rugby, only the team captain is allowed to talk to the referee. Complaining about a refereeing decision is simply not tolerated and results in a 10 yard penalty.
    2. In GAA a third man into a melee can be shown a yellow card. If there's a row between two players no-one else needs to get involved. If only two men are involved the ref can see quite clearly what's happening.

What does anyone else think?

Monkey Magic, your right, its a football problem not just a shels one. I am all for every team in the league improving and doing well. Even Cork. Its hard to answer constant allegations because I do love Shels and I will at times come across biased and the moment you do, you have every Shelshater come down on you.

Hawkins got sent off and justifiable so. Baker protests too much, I as a Shels fan fully agree. The Cork Red was touch and go, but O'Callaghan made sure of it.

Cork City possibly had the worst offender for hassling refs in the history of the world of soccer in Caufield. The man was a 1000 times worse than Baker.

anyway I will let you get back to your rants.

And Skippy, we both have that in common he was giving loads to everyone..
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

Unhappy

Quote Originally Posted by monkey magic
    spot on. what are the cork lads tryin to prove?? that shels are evil and city walk on water
    Well i think already proven shels are evil. Will need to wait til rainy season to prove city can walk on water.

Reason i started this was because Fenlon said he'd be disappointed if his players didn't harass & shove the referee.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Reason i started this was because Fenlon said he'd be disappointed if his players didn't harass & shove the referee.
    Thats the main point. Fenlon actually defended the thuggery of the Shels players. I don't like to see ANY team do this kind of thing, but IMO Shels are the worst at it- thats why it keeps coming up

Eanna, it keeps coming up cos corkies keep bringing it up. Are you in tolka every second week and travel to the away games for shels?? Fair play if so .

I think shels rep is slowly but surely being blown massively out of proportion. Just like the way we werre being talked up before the season.

I think Eanna your postings relating to shelbourne can be taken with a pinch of salt as I view your location......

67 Posts
    Eanna, it keeps coming up cos corkies keep bringing it up. Are you in tolka every second week and travel to the away games for shels?? Fair play if so .

I think shels rep is slowly but surely being blown massively out of proportion. Just like the way we werre being talked up before the season.

Are you in Tolka every week? Do shels play at home every week?

I edited it immediately as I posted. Post on topic lad, rather than jump to a silly error on my part.

67 Posts
    I edited it immediately as I posted. Post on topic lad, rather than jump to a silly error on my part.
    No problem LAD

Anyways if we could get back to the topic at hand....

As a Cork fan Eanna, do you have a problem with any other teams discipline? Do you feel that Shelbourne get away with what you precieve as thuggery even though we have the number of yellows and reds that we do?

Anyways if we could get back to the topic at hand....

As a Cork fan Eanna, do you have a problem with any other teams discipline? Do you feel that Shelbourne get away with what you precieve as thuggery even though we have the number of yellows and reds that we do?
    Do I have a problem with other teams? absolutely. There's far too much ****-kicking goes on in this league for my liking.
    Do I feel shels get away with it? yes, quite frankly I do. I think Shels put far more pressure on referees than any other club and get no punishment for it- maybe the cards this season are an indication of change, I dunno.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Thats the main point. Fenlon actually defended the thuggery of the Shels players. I don't like to see ANY team do this kind of thing, but IMO Shels are the worst at it- thats why it keeps coming up
    Fenlon defended them in public, it's called good management. I douibt he defended them in private given the amount of red cards we've gotten this season.

Simple Questions for shels fans: (Yes/No)
    1. Is it aceptable for players to surround the referee complianing about his decision?
    1no
    2no

Quick question for Cork fans: (Yes/no)

1. Is it acceptable to fake injury in a match with the sole intention of getting a man sent off in one of the most pathetic displays since the 2002 world cup?
    2. Is it acceptable to bring the game into disrepute by publically and very blatantly accusing opposition teams of cheating when fixture lists don't go your way?

But no, Shels do something bad and we're obviously the only ones who do it.

Here's some stuff you may not know Cork lads for future posts

-Jason Byrne was Hitlers tactical adviser in WW2 and recommended he invade Poland
    -Steve Williams was the man on the grassy knoll
    -Dave Rogers killed elvis
    -Ollie Byrne and Stalin have never been seen in the same room together, coincidence?
    -Wesley Hoolahan cancled star trek

and yes, Shelbourne are responsible for all the evil commited in the world ever, EVER, but luckily Cork are here to save the day with their entire team of good and have never commited a sin in their entire (short) existence.

Give me a bleedin' break.

In fairness I think a lot of what went on after Hawkins red would have been replicated in any team in the country.However I do have to take issue with one of the Shels players and he is fast gaining a reputation for being a little **** who thinks he can do what he likes.His name?Richie Baker!He went steaming into that row and was out to do anyone.You would think after his own red for blatnantly punching a Waterford player he would be trying to keep his head down.

Small man syndrome me thinks!!!!

Bohs Till I Die!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

You have a point about Baker alright, no doubt about it. One red card already, could have been sent off against Portadown and running halfway across the pitch to get involved in the incident on friday, he'd want to cop himself on alright.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Quick question for Cork fans: (Yes/no)

1. Is it acceptable to fake injury in a match with the sole intention of getting a man sent off in one of the most pathetic displays since the 2002 world cup?
    I actually think that to a degree, yes it is, although there's nothing worse than when it happens against you. Its part of the modern game (unfortunatly).

2. Is it acceptable to bring the game into disrepute by publically and very blatantly accusing opposition teams of cheating when fixture lists don't go your way?
    NEWS FLASH, Pat Dolan was sacked!
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
    I actually think that to a degree, yes it is, although there's nothing worse than when it happens against you. Its part of the modern game (unfortunatly).
    By that logic what Shels did was exactly the same

NEWS FLASH, Pat Dolan was sacked!
    Thats true, but I don't remember the high horses of Cork logging on here blasting their then boss at the time, do you?

The Cork Red was touch and go, but O'Callaghan made sure of it.
    I think

TOUCH and GO

is the best description of the event yet.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast