Thread: Atmosphere

Atmosphere

Im sick to death of posting threads about the atmosphere on the other forum and getting no response so i'll try here.There seems to be a bit of a crisis with our atmosphere at the moment.Matthews has asked section o to move into the stand.I think its been established that this isnt really going to happen.So any ideas on improving it.
    1)Numbers in section o
    To be honest there is feck all in section o in comparison to what other clubs have and I cant see that changing soon.Its never going to be at all impressive or taken seriously unless we get numbers in.Ideas?

2)Flags,Flares,smokebombs
    Any plans for new flags?There is only one being used at the moment,surely theres others lying around somewhere.Whatever happened to the collection for funds going towards the above?

3)Organisation at away matches
    I've allready posted this somewhere but the atmosphere at away matches is **** poor.Anyone interested in any sort of atmosphere should stand at the back of the away support.
    Any other ideas?
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    Im sick to death of posting threads about the atmosphere on the other forum and getting no response so i'll try here.There seems to be a bit of a crisis with our atmosphere at the moment.Matthews has asked section o to move into the stand.I think its been established that this isnt really going to happen.So any ideas on improving it.
    1)Numbers in section o
    To be honest there is feck all in section o in comparison to what other clubs have and I cant see that changing soon.Its never going to be at all impressive or taken seriously unless we get numbers in.Ideas?

Any plans for new flags?There is only one being used at the moment,surely theres others lying around somewhere.Whatever happened to the collection for funds going towards the above?

3)Organisation at away matches
    I've allready posted this somewhere but the atmosphere at away matches is **** poor.Anyone interested in any sort of atmosphere should stand at the back of the away support.
    Any other ideas?
    1. well section o tried to go to the stand and that didnt work! how about the lads in the stand that want a bit of atmosphere come over to our end and join us -the more noise the better! we can be heard if we want to be!we are very short of a decent drum at the moment and anyone at the moment that is a decent drummer please come and join us!

2. adrian massop is currently ordering a new longford town flag with Section O says hello! the collection never really took off!we have a lot on our plate at the moment trying to get funds together for andy myler!

3. i personally would be prepared to go to the back of any stand for the away games! any one else care to join me? we have to bring our flags to the away games and need a few heads to tie the flags to seats!

Quote Originally Posted by MARTINHO II
    1. well section o tried to go to the stand and that didnt work! how about the lads in the stand that want a bit of atmosphere come over to our end and join us -the more noise the better! we can be heard if we want to be!we are very short of a decent drum at the moment and anyone at the moment that is a decent drummer please come and join us!

2. adrian massop is currently ordering a new longford town flag with Section O says hello! the collection never really took off!we have a lot on our plate at the moment trying to get funds together for andy myler!

3. i personally would be prepared to go to the back of any stand for the away games! any one else care to join me? we have to bring our flags to the away games and need a few heads to tie the flags to seats!

(1) yeah exactly the stand are giving out saying we look stupid and stuff but at least we are trying wat i think would be a good idea is if the club put a roof over section o that would attract more people but i dont see that happening for some reason.

(2) yeah collection on thursday oh yeah marty where can ya order a flag from and how much?

(3) ill join ya at the away games to sing always do and ill have that blow horn thing and a bodhran(adrians or yours dunno who owns it) im not to bad at it but not great
    Will ya touch it.

well finny adrian massop is ordering the flag from a dutch website but you have to ask him yourself how much it will cost for it cos tbh i havent got a clue on it!

ah rite man cheers ps i like ur new myler chant
    Will ya touch it.

The thing about section O is they look act and sound like a bunch of …..
    They have no imagination in their selection of songs. They have no conviction in their songs. There are many of nights I have sit through one liner songs repeated over and over driving me nuts. No wonder they were kicked out of the stands I say go back. More instruments that’s what you need and less of the old country rip offs.

I think a point your missing is the reluctance of other fans to join in. Even at away games if the crowd is not close together its a disaster. At least in section o they give it a try, sure the plenty of people on that side already and they don't join in, why would the stand be any different.

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by franz
    The thing about section O is they look act and sound like a bunch of …..
    They have no imagination in their selection of songs. They have no conviction in their songs. There are many of nights I have sit through one liner songs repeated over and over driving me nuts. No wonder they were kicked out of the stands I say go back. More instruments that’s what you need and less of the old country rip offs.
    Childish baiting. Please dont rise to it.

Numbers is all you need to improve the atmosphere, flags make it look a lot better, flares and smokbombs are banned in most grounds. But the more people there the louder it will be. A roof over your area would amplify the sound, but that probably wont happen soon.
    www.braywanderers.ie (Club)
    www.braywanderers.com (supporters club)
    Sharks are as tough as those football fans who take their shirts off during games in England in January, only more intelligent.

Long time since I've been accused of underage drinking.

Very few of the section O lads are underage anyway (if only we were). And I can only think of one, not even regular section O head who is underage that was hammered at the cup final. There were plenty of youngsters outside the 51 singing section O songs who I'd never seen before.

No one in section O is insisting on segregation - any of the singers from the stand are welcome to join us over in Section O anytime they like. Section O has given the stand a go, it didn't work, so maybe it's now time for the stand singers to move the other way to enhance the atmosphere? Or, as ever, does this inititative only work one way?

If not, can we please drop this pathetic squabbling and let things lie and let both areas concentrate on what they want to do without this blame game attached.

It would be handy if you were allowed to use them!!!
    The TIFO flags are allowed in every other ground in Ireland and really add to the occasion,last time we were in Flancare we had a flare but that feckin steward was onto us like a whippet(what a waste of €10)!!!
    The flags issue I just don't understand,I see where they are coming from with the flares but surely they could allow them in some circumstances with strict guidelines put in place regarding their use!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Macy

Very few of the section O lads are underage anyway (if only we were). And I can only think of one, not even regular section O head who is underage that was hammered at the cup final. There were plenty of youngsters outside the 51 singing section O songs who I'd never seen before.

No one in section O is insisting on segregation - any of the singers from the stand are welcome to join us over in Section O anytime they like. Section O has given the stand a go, it didn't work, so maybe it's now time for the stand singers to move the other way to enhance the atmosphere? Or, as ever, does this inititative only work one way?

If not, can we please drop this pathetic squabbling and let things lie and let both areas concentrate on what they want to do without this blame game attached.

yeah but twas a joyest occasion at the final i was mental underage at the time not anymore though feel old. and macy we all know your only 14

And i agree with you if every1 in the stands wants section o so much then they should join us would be a better atmosphere altogether.

But i still dont get one this conversation keeps coming up every season
    Will ya touch it.

What has under-age drinking at the cup final got to do with section o?Thats the problem,people presume things?I asked a friend of mine recently,who wouldnt be the most knowledgable in terms of football but tries his best to get to town games,would he fancy coming over to section o.He says "Sure isnt that where they all go drinking".Its rare enough that you will see anyone drinking in section o unless you are really looking hard.Maybe at big games,there are a few but they are all of legal age,can hold their drink and keep it to themselves.I have never seen anyone noticably drunk in section o.
    Cop on,no one has been kicked out of the stand for drinking,everyone in section o is their by choice and I dont see the point in mentioning the fact that there are people who attend section o that were involved in under-age drinking at the cup final.Are you saying that if you went to the stand tommorrow night you would not see other individuals who were also involved in under-age drinking that day.Christ most of the drunken teenagers from that day dont even go to town matches.Atleast the few you see around flancare have an actual interest and pay their money in every week.
    I find it very ironic that you say that section o would ask for segregation at away games?Surely you meant the other way around.Were you among the stand goers that: in derry instead of staying in our segregated area and supporting our team together,decided to sit in the derry section,so they could get a better view .Or in drogheda 2 seasons ago when instead of standing in the away stand,people once again opted for comfort to sit in droghedas "luxurious" stand.If section o were actually to come over to the stand,would you have standed and chanted with them or were you just going to sit in your normal seat and stare like last time.I dont know what you mean by why are we refusing to go to the stand,surely the same can be said for you refusing to go to section o.Why do presume the stand is the place to be.Section o were there well before the stand even existed(were obviously not called section o).I've allready posted on the other forum that it would be great if the stand started their own group of singers situated standing in section A.There are more people in the stand then the far side of the ground,so surely it would be possible to round up 10-15 people to stand at the back of section A and sing and let it get bigger over time or do you not want to be looked at funny,the same way section O were looked at when they crossed over.I really think it would be great if this could happen.Or ye could join us.Section o allready did the stand a favour by coming over,so why dont ye repay us.Section o is an intimidating place for people to come over for some reason.The small numbers means its the same people every week,so people are afraid incase thay'll be noticed.Dont be.Section o are craving for bigger numbers so everyone is welcome.Its been allready said that numbers is all thats needed,so are any of ye actually interested in improving the atmosphere or are ye just happy to let others(section o) do it.Come on over and bring flags drums and anything else you have.Its not like your needed in the stand,there'll always be some mucker who will shout "LANGFART" once to get them all going after a goal is scored.Section o could be great if we got good numbers in.

www.tifo.it is a good place for getting flags flares etc by the way
    Last edited by Bosco; 20/04/2005 at 7:00 PM.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

I love every word in that rant its 100% true. people do be ashamed though they think people will point the winger and laugh if they come to section o i say if people do stick one back just not in as nice a fashion.
    Will ya touch it.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy

the stand is a way better option for you section o lads. lets face it you cant be heard.whoever is complaining about you guys singing in the stand let them f*ck off.that is there problem.the stand will as the bray fan said enable you to be heard.rovers game two weeks ago aside the away games are normally good for singing cause we are together.i understand some people in the stand are grumpy fools who dont have a clue but if they dont like they can go over to the other side.tbh the section o lads are stubborn and are not gonna give in and the people in the stand even more stubbiorn so we are at a dead loss.you guys better decide something,anything cause lets face it there is more noise at 7:30 mass saturday nite than there is when we are flansiro

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    What has under-age drinking at the cup final got to do with section o?Thats the problem,people presume things?I asked a friend of mine recently,who wouldnt be the most knowledgable in terms of football but tries his best to get to town games,would he fancy coming over to section o.He says "Sure isnt that where they all go drinking".Its rare enough that you will see anyone drinking in section o unless you are really looking hard.Maybe at big games,there are a few but they are all of legal age,can hold their drink and keep it to themselves.I have never seen anyone noticably drunk in section o.
    Cop on,no one has been kicked out of the stand for drinking,everyone in section o is their by choice and I dont see the point in mentioning the fact that there are people who attend section o that were involved in under-age drinking at the cup final.Are you saying that if you went to the stand tommorrow night you would not see other individuals who were also involved in under-age drinking that day.Christ most of the drunken teenagers from that day dont even go to town matches.Atleast the few you see around flancare have an actual interest and pay their money in every week.
    I find it very ironic that you say that section o would ask for segregation at away games?Surely you meant the other way around.Were you among the stand goers that: in derry instead of staying in our segregated area and supporting our team together,decided to sit in the derry section,so they could get a better view .Or in drogheda 2 seasons ago when instead of standing in the away stand,people once again opted for comfort to sit in droghedas "luxurious" stand.If section o were actually to come over to the stand,would you have standed and chanted with them or were you just going to sit in your normal seat and stare like last time.I dont know what you mean by why are we refusing to go to the stand,surely the same can be said for you refusing to go to section o.Why do presume the stand is the place to be.Section o were there well before the stand even existed(were obviously not called section o).I've allready posted on the other forum that it would be great if the stand started their own group of singers situated standing in section A.There are more people in the stand then the far side of the ground,so surely it would be possible to round up 10-15 people to stand at the back of section A and sing and let it get bigger over time or do you not want to be looked at funny,the same way section O were looked at when they crossed over.I really think it would be great if this could happen.Or ye could join us.Section o allready did the stand a favour by coming over,so why dont ye repay us.Section o is an intimidating place for people to come over for some reason.The small numbers means its the same people every week,so people are afraid incase thay'll be noticed.Dont be.Section o are craving for bigger numbers so everyone is welcome.Its been allready said that numbers is all thats needed,so are any of ye actually interested in improving the atmosphere or are ye just happy to let others(section o) do it.Come on over and bring flags drums and anything else you have.Its not like your needed in the stand,there'll always be some mucker who will shout "LANGFART" once to get them all going after a goal is scored.Section o could be great if we got good numbers in.

www.tifo.it is a good place for getting flags flares etc by the way
    some excellent points made bosco!

Foot.ie! Bring o'er the Section O!

You Section O lads should be over in the stand where ye can be heard.... and quick at that. The majority of the main stand is occupied by a flock of dry, uneducated, parochial nobodies who know as much about soccer as they do about chanting. Our first season in the premier division saw a great atmosphere in Flancare but it's been on a constant downward spiral since that. With the exception of the cup finals where the bandwagon/sunshine supporters came out in force, the support has been very poor and that continues to be the case. It's a crying shame given the swift and dramatic change in this small club's fortunes. We should all be extremely proud of Longford Town FC- the only thing worthwhile the county has to offer.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    You Section O lads should be over in the stand where ye can be heard.... and quick at that. The majority of the main stand is occupied by a flock of dry, uneducated, parochial nobodies who know as much about soccer as they do about chanting. Our first season in the premier division saw a great atmosphere in Flancare but it's been on a constant downward spiral since that. With the exception of the cup finals where the bandwagon/sunshine supporters came out in force, the support has been very poor and that continues to be the case. It's a crying shame given the swift and dramatic change in this small club's fortunes. We should all be extremely proud of Longford Town FC- the only thing worthwhile the county has to offer.

Hey what about leuigis. i dont see us going to the stand so why dont ye come over to section o I formally send ye all an invitation to join us at section o for tomorrow & monday nyts games vs shelbourne & glentoren(we need to be very vocal in both games to inspire the team especially monday)c'mon da town
    Last edited by Finny; 20/04/2005 at 10:56 PM.
    Will ya touch it.

Dont know much bout section o but it would make alot more sense if yee were in the main stand and not at a different section of the ground where yee are basically isolated. As for people who look at you like you have two heads or tell you to shut up, **** them, you are there to enjoy yourselves, enjoy the game and try and give your team a bit of vocal support, same as every soccer supporter in the world who goes to watch their side play. I guarantee you that if you went and sat in the main stand it would only be a matter of weeks before all the other supporters who are too embarassed to sing or afraid that for some reason they will make a fool of themselves will be joining in.

P.S who came up with the chant
    "na na na na na na na na na,
    vinny vinny perth vinny perth,
    vinny vinny perth."

without a doubt the most catchy song ive ever here at a football match. I even sang it to non longford people who know sweet fa about the eircom league and it has become there chant on a drunken night out!! Pity you wont be singing it any more!!

Quote Originally Posted by silentbob
    P.S who came up with the chant
    "na na na na na na na na na,
    vinny vinny perth vinny perth,
    vinny vinny perth."

without a doubt the most catchy song ive ever here at a football match. I even sang it to non longford people who know sweet fa about the eircom league and it has become there chant on a drunken night out!! Pity you wont be singing it any more!!
    Erm, I can lay claim to introducing that to Longford, but it's an old Nicky Butt one (from when he used to be good, and at United).