Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: new pope

200 Posts
    Should have kept his original name IMO, nothing wrong with the name Joseph, was that not the name of Jesus's dad ? Changing it Benedict seems a bit pointless. Take some getting used to as well, being called by a different name etc, espcially when he's been called Joseph for 78 years.

30 Posts
    Me neither Dancin but like Nostradamus, its probably a load of old malarky by an 11th century Irish saint who was probably out of his tree on magic mushrooms picked by St Cambrenisis and cooked by St. Ignatius.

I think the Panzer's appointment is a sign by the Church that they do not want someone to emulate JP2 so soon. Its a stop gap as one of the posters said or a transition period. I think Herr Ratzinger's appointment will give the Church time to prepare to make the Great Leap into the 21st century.
    His ultra-conservative right wing views on sensitive issues like homosexuality, contraception, women, abortion and Protestants is just shocking.

Ratzinger will be gone in a few years to be replaced by the 'anti-Christ'
    MMMMMUUUUUUUUHHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHRRRRRRR.

I can just imagine the Swiss Guards goose stepping.

flip!

Basically Malachy predicted the popes since his life in 1100's. He predicted all of them and described there acts etc etc.

Best read a link rather than me waffle on about it.

http://www.bibleprobe.com/last10popes.htm

Interesting parallells.

230 Posts
    Did he predict any lottery numbers?.................I'll have to look into that one
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Loads of debate going on it's seems so rather than reading through four pages i'll some up my LEGENDARY evening of watching the whole thing live but quoting the banner now hanging out of my window under the Papal flag (which incidentally I will be wearing into college tommorw),

LONG LIVE THE POPE!

and may John Paul the Great live on trhough our new Pope-divinly represented by God, and now my friends I will leave you with a wee song,

There are many many Priests my friend-and that is the truth,
    There are many kings and queens upon this earth,
    But i'll tell you one sing and i'll sing it to the roof,
    There's only one Pope AND HE IS GOD ON EARTH!!!!!

Long live the Pope and goodnight!!!
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    and from what I've read about him, his views on homosexuality etc wouldn't have been out of place there at all.
    So in this democratic world of free speech can others not have a differing opinion to you, the fact is many people dont agree with homosexuality just like many do....i for one dont and am not afraid to say it. And i couldnt give a feck if i get labelled homophobic.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dortie
    So in this democratic world of free speech can others not have a differing opinion to you, the fact is many people dont agree with homosexuality just like many do....i for one dont and am not afraid to say it. And i couldnt give a feck if i get labelled homophobic.
    Bigotry is alive and well on the Bogside......and ye have the cheek to lambast Paisley ffs.

Homosexuality, abortion, divorce or advocating to treat women as human beings is not a sin. Ratzinger is a nasty piece of work. Try tell that to those who are dying of Aids in Africa or living in dire poverty across the world that the Holy Father really cares for them.,

Oh his record on paedeo priests isnt exactly astounding either.

I'll take Karl Marx and James Connolly any day please over any 'pope'.
    Last edited by Partizan; 19/04/2005 at 9:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan
    and listen to the bible thumping catholic Provo bigot homophobic nationalist.

Jeez, if it wasnt for the wee matter of the Macartney family I'd say Uncle Gerry would be stepping out onto the worshipping masses in St Peters and be on the fast track to sainthood.

Actually you got one thing right, Im catholic, but i stopped voting for the provisional movement about 7 years ago when they joined stormont.

As for the McCartney family, they are of no concern of mine.

So get back to reading your cobweb editions of marxism.

71 Posts
    The former Cardinal Ratzinger has been talked up in very negative terms by the media for sometime. I honestly do not know what to expect from him. I must admit my own view had been warped by the media and I was surprised to see he didn't have cloven hooves and a tail when he lead Pope John Paul's funeral mass but in fact found him to be a normal human. I'm not going to make any wild uninformed comments about him. His previous job in guarding doctrinal orthodoxy was not his choice so his repatuation as the Panzer and enforcer may not be so accurate, he had a given job and he did it. We shall see how he does as pope. God bless him.

71 Posts
    Gents, some of you are threading down contraversial and potentially bitter argumentative paths here. I suggest you take the sting out of this as when Adam sees it he's sure not to be impressed.

Bigotry is alive and well on the Bogside......and ye have the cheek to lambast Paisley ffs.

Homosexuality, abortion, divorce or advocating to treat women as human beings is not a sin. Ratzinger is a nasty piece of right-wing excrement. Try tell that to those who are dying of Aids in Africa or living in dire poverty across the world that the Holy Father really cares for them.,

I'll take Karl Marx, Vladimir Illich Ulyanov Lenin and James Connolly any day please over any 'pope'.
    Dont understand were your coming from in terms of treating women as human beings, what the feck are you on about ? I dont blame Aids on the Catholic Church at all, i blame it on mans sexual activity, a disease caused and spread by man. As for poverty try looking deeper into the old soviet unions history for some classic examples.

Just out of interest - what exactly would people clamoring for a "liberal" pope, expect him to do?

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Just out of interest - what exactly would people clamoring for a "liberal" pope, expect him to do?
    Inform the Youth of today to go get as many sex partners as they can as long as they wear rubbers, invite women into the priesthood regardless of what was written in the bible, terminate any pregnancy that will interfere with your current lifestyle, inform same sex partners that what they are doing is morally correct and 'normal'.......oh and get married as many times a you like if you get bored

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    I have a huge problem with people preaching against something completely normal as homosexuality.
    You a bit of an uphill gardener aswell, Gerrit?

Those who criticise the Catholic Church for preaching against contraception in relatio to aids in Africa are being unnecessarily restrictive in their view of the Church. The Church also preaches against sex outside marriage. If you were so religiously obedient as to not use contraception, I think you probably wouldn't be having sex with someone other than your husband / wife!

Ratzinger has spoken out about the equality that is being afforded to homosexual acts in relation to heterosexual acts, as if the two are just options, like whether you buy a Toyota or a Nissan. Clearly heterosexual acts provide a greater function. This is not the same as discriminating against homosexuals, or even homosexual activity - simply recognising that pro-creation is a priority, over and above intimate relations with someone you love.

But what if there is no God, and all that faith and old doctrine was a waste?

Quote Originally Posted by Soper
    But what if there is no God, and all that faith and old doctrine was a waste?
    But what if there is a God, and you go to hell?

Quote Originally Posted by town73
    they said on Sky News that his new nickname among Romans would be Papa Ratzi .....
    Even if that is not true, it is a priceless invention, and so quick too!
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Good to see the Rc Church went with youth this time

The worldwide interest in the RC Church in the last few weeks has a lot of similarities about the interest in royalty - no bad words heard at first when discussing the legacy, lots of pomp & cerimony for funeral (substitite wedding for royals) & then an undemocractic "election" of the successor to the throne.

Of 115 off votes Europe had 53 votes! which is almost more than the combination of the rest of thw world. Italy had more than 20 votes! Forgive me for being cynical but the Vatican is just like a Parliament for political clergy.

The average person on the street knows nothing about the new Pope & i would suspect makes little difference to your average Catholic.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete

The average person on the street knows nothing about the new Pope & i would suspect makes little difference to your average Catholic.
    Funnily enough I'd say Catholics have never known so much about the new pope prior to his election.

Source, please.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast