I think that was because Longford were in the final so people were'nt interested in it, so they decided they would go and watch a proper match like Man U gameOriginally Posted by DE TOWN
Lads, Dunno if anyone else has noticed this yet, but the Setanta Cup final is on the same day as the FA Cup final over in EnglandThis could have a huge effect on the attendance, remember the FAI Cup final last year clashed with Man U v Arsenal, and there was only 10,000 at the Cup Final.
Hopefully Im wrong and that the FA cup final wont take away fom what could be a massive crowd![]()
I think that was because Longford were in the final so people were'nt interested in it, so they decided they would go and watch a proper match like Man U gameOriginally Posted by DE TOWN
eh, we brought 6,500 of the 10,000. I think Waterford were the team that drove the fans awayOriginally Posted by sligoman
Yeah sureOriginally Posted by DE TOWN
Last edited by sligoman; 19/04/2005 at 2:00 PM.
Originally Posted by sligoman
Anyway, dont know what your worrying about anyway, its not as if Sligo are going to have to worry about too many finals in the years to come![]()
Longford brought the majority, but it was still a poor showing from either set of fans - particularly as there would've been up to 1,000 neutrals in attendance as well.Originally Posted by DE TOWN
I do think it's bad plannign to go up against the FA Cup Final - particularly for a competition sponsored by a TV channel. I wouldn't be surprised if Setanta looked to reschedule it - but if they're gonna do so they'd need to move quickly !
also the cork hurlers are playing in thurles the following day. if city make it to the final it'll be interesting to see if they can attract the average sports fan in cork to landsdowne or whether people will make a choice of just going to see the one game that weekend and head to the hurling.
Imagine the future, Woke up with a scream
I was buying some feelings, From a vending machine
Don't all Setanta Cup matches kick-off at 7.15 though?Originally Posted by DE TOWN
It might affect how people travel, but not neccessarily whether they'll travel.
A rumour was posted earlier in the CCFC forum that setanta want the Final at the cross if CCFC get through, because the attendances have been so disappointing.
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
Hey, we'll go further than ye this season. And dont know why your worrying about the attendance anyway cos you wont be there, unless your going to cheer on Glentoran against Cork.Originally Posted by DE TOWN
It was set out at the launch of the competition that the final was to be held in Lansdowne if any Southern team was involved, can't see them moving it to Cork and giving them home advantage, you never know though I suppose.
Last edited by Longfordian; 19/04/2005 at 2:03 PM. Reason: spelling
The hell with the FA cup final. I'm sick of this attitude that we have to move games to suit british football. We should have the confidence to stand on our own two feet and be proud of our league, if people want to watch over-rated thuggery on the box, its their loss, not ours.
Very brave Eanna, but unfortunately, if the game clashes with the FA cup final, we'll lose out.Originally Posted by Éanna
Poor attendance, poor viewing figures for Setanta, only die-hards watching so not attracting any new viewers, it won't even make sports bulletins on radio news during the day if it clashes. lack of interest from the public will mean a lack of interest from setanta down the line.
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
Totally agree. The chances of maybe attracting a few bar stoolers to the final are now probably dead because they will think, Man U v Arsenal or Longford v CorkOriginally Posted by tiktok
, 99 out of 100 barstoolers are gonna pick Man U v Arsenal
eh, you have to be in the competition first to go further than usOriginally Posted by sligoman
Why would I be cheering Glentoran against CorkOriginally Posted by sligoman
I will be cheering Longford against Cork![]()
Originally Posted by DE TOWN
I'm talking about the F.A.I. cup. Do I have to explain everything to you Longford boys
eh this thread is about the Setanta Cup and you said:Originally Posted by sligoman
so how am I supposed to know your talking about the FAI cupHey, we'll go further than ye this season.![]()
Because that's what me and you were talking about at the start of the threadOriginally Posted by DE TOWN
yeah, but this thread is about the SETANTA cup, we were discussing the attendance in the FAI cup final last season. You didnt say in your post what cup you were talking aboutOriginally Posted by sligoman
Suppose youse only have the 2 cups to go after though![]()
we, as a trophy winning club are challenging on 5 fronts this seasonIts the price we pay for being successful
Originally Posted by DE TOWN
And how many of them will ye win? I can tell you now,NONE
Yeah, and how many trophies are you ever gonna win..........NONEOriginally Posted by sligoman