24. THE STONE ROSES - The Stone Roses
    25. SIMON AND GARFUNKEL - Bridge Over Troubled Water
    26. BJORK - Debut
    27. THE DOORS - The Doors
    28. ABBA - Arrival
    29. MICHAEL JACKSON - Off the Wall
    30. DURAN DURAN - Rio
    31. SEX PISTOLS - Never Mind the ******** Here's the Sex Pistols
    32. DAVID BOWIE - The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars
    33. THE BEACH BOYS - Pet Sounds
    34. JOY DIVISION - Closer
    35. THE ROLLING STONES - Let It Bleed
    36. BLUR - Parklife
    37. BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN - Born to Run
    38. BILLIE HOLIDAY - Lady Sings the Blues
    39. THE WHITE STRIPES - Elephant
    40. BLACK SABBATH - Paranoid
    41. THE SPECIALS - Specials
    42. THE ROLLING STONES - Exile on Main Street
    43. FRANK SINATRA - Songs for Swingin' Lovers!
    44. THE CLASH - London Calling
    45. THE PRODIGY - The Fat of the Land
    46. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND - The Velvet Underground and Nico
    47. DIRE STRAITS - Brothers in Arms
    48. PIXIES - Doolittle
    49. ARETHA FRANKLIN - I Never Loved a Man the Way I Love You
    50. THE LIBERTINES - The Libertines
    51. HAPPY MONDAYS - Pills 'N' Thrills and Bellyaches
    52. PATTI SMITH - Horses
    53. THE WHO - Tommy
    54. LOU REED - Transformer
    55. BOB DYLAN - Blood on the Tracks
    56. PRINCE - Sign 'o' the Times
    57. DIDO - No Angel
    58. AIR - Moon Safari
    59. ELTON JOHN - Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
    60. THE JAM - All Mod Cons
    61. JEFF BUCKLEY - Grace
    62. FLEETWOOD MAC - Rumours
    63. MOBY - Play
    64. RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS - Blood Sugar Sex Magik
    65. THE POLICE - Synchronicity
    66. JONI MITCHELL - Blue
    67. CURTIS MAYFIELD - Superfly
    68. ELVIS PRESLEY - The Sun Sessions
    69. OUTKAST - Speakerboxxx/The Love Below
    70. PULP - Different Class
    71. KRAFTWERK - Trans-Europe Express
    72. MASSIVE ATTACK - Blue Lines
    73. BECK - Odelay
    74. STEVIE WONDER - Songs in the Key of Life
    75. KATE BUSH - Hounds of Love
    76. TALKING HEADS - Fear of Music
    77. EMINEM - The Marshall Mathers LP
    78. MARVIN GAYE - What's Going On
    79. GEORGE MICHAEL - Faith
    80. SATURDAY NIGHT FEVER - The Original Movie Soundtrack
    81. PRIMAL SCREAM - Screamadelica
    82. JOHN COLTRANE - A Love Supreme
    83. LOVE - Forever Changes
    84. PAUL SIMON - Graceland
    85. NICK DRAKE - Five Leaves Left
    86. MEAT LOAF - Bat Out of Hell
    87. DUSTY SPRINGFIELD - Dusty in Memphis
    88. DE LA SOUL - 3 Feet High and Rising
    89. THE STROKES - Is this It
    90. MADNESS - One Step Beyond...
    91. ROBBIE WILLIAMS - I've Been Expecting You
    92. NEIL YOUNG - After the Gold Rush
    93. PUBLIC ENEMY - It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back
    94. BLONDIE - Parallel Lines
    95. THE EAGLES - Hotel California
    96. JAMES BROWN - Sex Machine
    97. THE STREETS - A Grand Don't Come for Free
    98. DEXY'S MIDNIGHT RUNNERS - Searching for the Young Soul Rebels
    99. ROD STEWART - Every Picture Tells a Story
    100. The HUMAN LEAGUE - Dare!
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Ok, I've scanned the list twice, but I still can't see Loveless.

At least Robbie Williams didn't win.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

smacks of a Q magazine poll to me.

how did sex pistols get there???? metallica should be ahead of them and i couldnt find them anywhere on the list.

Very pop and then indie thereafter. OK Computer suprises me though. I'm not a radiohead fan but I'd have thought The bends which is much farter down would've been ahead of it.

No sign of Deep Purple, Fat Boy Slim -and an over representation of current acts and bands from the last 10-15 years. I mean -The Libertines, the Streets, Dido...

then -microcosmically -it was the same with the hot press one for irish bands and albums a couple of months back. I seriously don't believe anyone but the most wet knickered 15 year old thinks Bell X1s album (i don't even know what its called ) is the 10th or 11th best irish lp ever.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

100 Posts
    48. PIXIES - Doolittle
    Should be number 1!

As with Poll after Poll left up to the wider public audience to decide, you will never escape the Robbie Williams entries or the likes. I could go through the poll and ask questions as to the absense of 100 + albums, but its all about taste and how people "think" they should answer. Polls on this scale also get people who probably never listened to the albums but vote anyways. Unless everyone in the voting public have listened to every album in the world then this poll is invalid and only takes a picture of the most commonly distrubited record, not necessarily the best. Albums are also rated based on the impact at the time (EMINEM - The Marshall Mathers LP, OASIS - Definitely Maybe ) , some are pure jems (PINK FLOYD - Dark Side of the Moon , THE SMITHS - The Queen Is Dead ,LED ZEPPELIN - Led Zeppelin IV ) and some are pure muck voted by musically retarded people (ROBBIE WILLIAMS - I've Been Expecting You)

All I can say is don't get upset your fav album didnt make it, its not worth it, just be happy in the knowlegde you think its great

P.s Do you feel there should be a 5 year old age on an album before it can be voted for, proving longevity and lastabiluty rather than flash in the panness)

It's a good thing I don't like that much mainstream music!

84 Posts
    Watched it last night, was surprised to see OK Computer grabbing top spot although it is a great album.

Couldn't belive COLDPLAY - Parachutes finished as high as No. 14, a mean every album from it up to 100 with they odd exception is better by far
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    how did sex pistols get there????
    This album changed music for ever, but then you weren't around in 1977 were you?

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    This album changed music for ever, but then you weren't around in 1977 were you?
    There were much more influential records from that tiem for that genre I feel, however, that's the one that everyone knows, so I supposed it had to be there.

Tripe and rubbish.....
    Marvin Gaye, Joni Mitchell, Kate Bush down in the nether regions and middling fair stuff like Coldplay, Radiohead, Oasis and f*cking SH*T like Alanis Morrissette in the top 20.....

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    I seriously don't believe anyone but the most wet knickered 15 year old thinks Bell X1s album (i don't even know what its called ) is the 10th or 11th best irish lp ever.
    It's called Music in Mouth, IMO it's one of the best Irish albums in the last ten years straight away, which automatically put's it up there. It's an example of how current acts that are fresh in people's minds get into these charts in the same way that 'Astral Weeks' always does well too because people think they should be voting for it (I think most of the people who consistently vote for that album have never even heard it by the way, it's not that bloody good when it comes down to it).

There's never been a top ten or top one hundred music poll I've agreed with. I'd be a pretty big Radiohead fan, but OK Computer isn't their best album, nevermind the best album ever made.

As I'm ranting, how Sgt. Pepper's gets ahead of revolver and especially ahead the White album is completely beyond me.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    It's called Music in Mouth, IMO it's one of the best Irish albums in the last ten years straight away, which automatically put's it up there. It's an example of how current acts that are fresh in people's minds get into these charts in the same way that 'Astral Weeks' always does well too because people think they should be voting for it (I think most of the people who consistently vote for that album have never even heard it by the way, it's not that bloody good when it comes down to it).
    There's never been a top ten or top one hundred music poll I've agreed with. I'd be a pretty big Radiohead fan, but OK Computer isn't their best album, nevermind the best album ever made.

As I'm ranting, how Sgt. Pepper's gets ahead of revolver and especially ahead the White album is completely beyond me.
    Okay we'll agree on Astral weeks in any event. I thought it might have shown a bit of professionalism, otherwise absent on all evidence, on Vans bass players part to tune the fcukin thing up before a recording session -but heh it was the 60's.

On the Bell X1 thing ...I've only heard a couple of singles -which didnt impress me and still sounded like feckin Juniper with someone else singing. Someone mentioned a 5 year exclusion order which i think would serve these polls well as it would take out out the wet knickers factor and any other trend slaves that create such laughabilites (IMHO) as the artsists formerly known as Juniper managing a 10th or 11th place while their erstwhile singer finished 2nd was it.

Yes the give the 15 year olds five years to change knickers and cop on a bit while they're at it.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

3,488 Posts

Music in mouth is indeed a class album. They've just come back from a short tour of the states, including the South By Southwest festival in Texas, and were on a documentary about it on Channel 4 last week. They've been used in the OC twice AFAIK, and are about to do a few dates around Ireland this month.

I prefer Sgt Peppers's to the White Album, St Pepper's gets so much recognition because it was such a massive departure for the Beatles, they'd gone from "I Wanna Hold Your hand" to "Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds" in only a few years. I'm a big fan of the White Album but it does have a lot of negative connections to Charles Manson.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    I prefer Sgt Peppers's to the White Album, St Pepper's gets so much recognition because it was such a massive departure for the Beatles, they'd gone from "I Wanna Hold Your hand" to "Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds" in only a few years.
    I don't know, I can as easily point to 'I wanna Hold you hand' -vs- 'When I'm 64' or 'With a little help from my friends' as being a not very massive departure at all.

I also think that on Sgt. Peppers the fab four get found out a little in terms of their ability to actually play their instruments.

Having said that, it does contain 'She's leaving home' which is my favourite beatles track (alongside strawberry fields forever), and it still p!sses over most other albums on that list.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

3,488 Posts
    I don't know, I can as easily point to 'I wanna Hold you hand' -vs- 'When I'm 64' or 'With a little help from my friends' as being a not very massive departure at all.

I also think that on Sgt. Peppers the fab four get found out a little in terms of their ability to actually play their instruments.

Having said that, it does contain 'She's leaving home' which is my favourite beatles track (alongside strawberry fields forever), and it still p!sses over most other albums on that list.
    A Day In The Life is my favorite track off the album (and one of my fav songs of all time)

Also it's generally recognised as the first concept album
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 19/04/2005 at 12:37 PM.

I prefer CNN's all-time top-50 rock compilations. My favourite band, Echo & The Bunnymen, was surprisingly at nr 1 with "Songs to learn and sing" which the CNN team named 'the ultimate best of which sounds as good as a regular album". Speaking of a compliment !

My album list would be:

1) PLACEBO - Without you I'm nothing
    2) ECHO & THE BUNNYMEN - Ocean rain
    3) MANIC STREET PREACHERS - Forever delayed
    4) MARILYN MANSON - Mechanical animals
    5) HEATHER NOVA - Siren

though I find single songs easier to judge than full albums.

Too many Beatles in there btw... I still don't like it too much, after years of listening to my father playing Beatles records I am still not convinced. Overrated.

The Reason the White Album does not rate highly is the experimental stuff like
    Revolution #9 .... I mean that would have been a great and weird B-side, does it merit a place on an album ?

245 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    Too many Beatles in there btw... I still don't like it too much, after years of listening to my father playing Beatles records I am still not convinced. Overrated.

Overrated ? I don't think so. Practically invented pop music as we know it, and recorded in the space of just seven years a remarkable body of work which still sounds fresh today. Class is indeed permanent.

As to the list itself. Revolver is definitely a better album than Pepper, stronger songs all round. And my pet moan, no Elvis Costello Outrageous. Get Happy, This Years Model, King of America, Blood and Chocolate, Imperial Bedroom. Majestic albums all and better than 90% of the list.