Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Roy Keane and chips

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    It also depends on what day of the week it was, if its the day before the match you seriously nned to watch what you are eating but it if its a few days before that is ok. THe most important meal is the one you hare going to have the day before that match. I doubt this was on saturday afternoon.
    I agree with you - just like in Saipan a drink with the press two weeks before the matches began shouldn't have been a problem.

But we won't go there again I just wanted to flag this (Keane included)to those who attacked my hero Jack for his chips escapade - the man who rescued both Ireland and Sheffield Wenesday from the doldrums. Ni feicimid a leithid aris.

Ferguson is spot on there. It'll fill them up, especially after water rafting in freezing wales.
    After I've had me fill of porter, a nice piece of cod and a bag of piping hot chunky chips....drenched in salt and vinegar goes down a threat
    Never eat yellow snow!!

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    As a once-off it won't harm them. If anything, the Utd players eating fish and chips will make them look a bit more like normal lads. (Apart from the Nevilles who are both Satan personified).
    i believe SHrek Rooney went for the unhealthier choice of sausage and chips! naughty boy!

200 Posts
    Wonder if Rio Ferdinand tried sniffing the salt.

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic
    Defo Harry Ramsdens on Naas Road.
    Jack had shares in the place or something.
    Before Austria match - players complained their legs went in the last twenty minutes. Never mind Jack got a few quid from Harry.
    Well what accounts for the fact that Ireland have not been able to beat Austria for more than 50 years then?

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Well what accounts for the fact that Ireland have not been able to beat Austria for more than 50 years then?
    i'd say the fact that we dont play them too often! but sure its nearly ten years since they last beat us

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Longer than that, Austria had a great side in the Thirties - the WUNDERTEAM.

Yeah Owlsfan, a bag of fish and chips is exactly the same as trying to do the Harry Ramsden Challenge...

Quote Originally Posted by galwaygirl
    Whatever they all ate, it seemed to have worked well for them.

Man Utd 4-1 Newcastle
    Very true!!!!! Come on you reds.
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Fish and chips are high in carbohydrates and protein.
    Just what you need before a big game.
    The fat isn't a problem for people who are so active because it's a source of energy. (to a certain extent)

No food is bad food!
    It's when you over indulge that you run into problems.
    Very true, St. Pats order a load of pizzas directly after every match for the players to load up on carbs, was so funny seeing about 10/15 4 star pizzas being delivered to the carlisle for them

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Yeah Owlsfan, a bag of fish and chips is exactly the same as trying to do the Harry Ramsden Challenge...
    The Harry Ramsden challnge: A bumper portion of haddock, chips, mushy peas and a round of bread and butter.

Sounds yummm. Obviously not enough people ate them since the place went bottom up.

But with Keane now promoting eating at fish and chip shops, maybe they should consider re-opening

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    I agree with you - just like in Saipan a drink with the press two weeks before the matches began shouldn't have been a problem.

But we won't go there again I just wanted to flag this (Keane included)to those who attacked my hero Jack for his chips escapade - the man who rescued both Ireland and Sheffield Wenesday from the doldrums. Ni feicimid a leithid aris.
    I'm open to correction on this but wasn't Roy complaining about the fact that they had no nutritional balance in their diet and were allowed to eat and drink what they wanted, it was actually pushed upon them and an example was Jack bringing them to that fish and chip place before a match..

I would say the Man U thing was a once off because they have numerous nutritionists at the club and every player has a specific diet..
    So therefore he is not going back on what he said.. And not saying one thing and doing another.. Quit the Roy Bashing
    Last edited by Eire06; 19/04/2005 at 12:24 PM.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Very true, St. Pats order a load of pizzas directly after every match for the players to load up on carbs, was so funny seeing about 10/15 4 star pizzas being delivered to the carlisle for them
    I would imagine most pizzas are as much fat as carb, probably worse
    than fish and chips.
    Edit - Well maybe not as bad as fish and chips, but its a high fat rather
    than a high carb food. Actually in terms of saturated fat, the stuff which
    is meant to bad for you its a really unhealthy food as its packed with the stuff
    and fish and chips would be better.
    Actuallly I just checked some cheese I got from the supermarket and it only
    quotes the total fat not the saturated fat figures, obviously trying to hide
    the fact its really unhealthy. Naturally the products which are relatively low in saturated fat (vegatable oil) does have the figure quoted.
    It's nice to know Sainsburys use their nutrition information as marketing to deceive the public and even nicer that the government allow them to do it

Opps I seems to have steered a little off topic
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 19/04/2005 at 3:55 PM.

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    Quit the Roy Bashing
    Poor Roy.

Didn't the Man U and Arsenal guys "exchange" pizzas at the end of the last game in Old Trafford or was it just the Arsenal guys passing them on to Fergie. Surprised that Keane didn't reply with a Haddock and large fries
    Or maybe it was just soup:

http://www.soupfight.co.uk/soup.html

I thought this thread was gonna be about a new dinner choice in the Chipper ''A Roy and chips''

or it could be...

''A Langer and Chips''

''A Battered Alfie and Chips''

''A Prawn Sandwhich and Chips''

" a chipper on the shoulder"

Lol

A Mick Mac Sandwich and chips available at Roys Rolls..

794 Posts
    Well that would put him in his plaice

Lads has anybody seen todays Sun they actually carried this story from the Website. Saying that fans on the website foot.ie were giving out about the double standards of Roy Keane. Shows what a load of rubbish that paper is and they are certainly strugglin for stories. Owls Fan you should ask for payment

neil
    In Trap we trust

794 Posts
    Fame at last. Are they making a cod of themselves by printing that ?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast