Etc etc etc
    etc,"

Little Duffer....

It being close to the Holy Land and all that what about this to the tune of Little Donkey :

Little Duffer Little Duffer
    On the dusty road
    Keep on scoring Little Duffer
    We are almost there ........

Ring out your bells tonight
    Da-mi-an Duff Da-mi-an Duff
    Score us a goal tonight
    Da-mi-an Duff Da-mi-an Duff

etc etc

The best song from Paris could be a good one:

"There's only one robbie Keane
    He's proud to wear the Green
    He wont f**k off like that Kn*cker from cork
    Walking in a Keano wonderland"

Made me smile anyway

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    The best song from Paris could be a good one:

"There's only one robbie Keane
    He's proud to wear the Green
    He wont f**k off like that Kn*cker from cork
    Walking in a Keano wonderland"

Made me smile anyway
    one of the best babysis i have to say....
    the first 2, great, i will be listening out for them

Quote Originally Posted by millwallfc
    WE ARE GREEN
    WE ARE WHITE
    WE AINT GOT NO DYNAMITE
    Your a brave one...

Do you not think that a song that unites us rather than divides us woudl be the best
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Do you not think that a song that unites us rather than divides us woudl be the best
    Excellent point, it seems some of us wish to dwell on the past rather than support our team.

It is only a song. Certainly didnt do any harm getting people behind the team in Paris.

I refused to sing it in Paris even tought everyone else did

But it was funny a whole train singing it in the subway.. just a bit of fun.. But still I wouldn't sing it

Thats fair enough. Everyone has their views on what happened, and thats not what this thread is about. This was a good song, and one i will have no problem singing when we go to the Faroe's but there will be some im sure who wont. Each to their own and all that

Quote Originally Posted by millwallfc
    B0ll0cks each to their own.This is what the English fans do,slate off their own players because they're from a different club or whatever,exactly the same as you're doing with Roy Keane.If you can't get behind the whole team don't bother supporting them then.

So beacuse Im not in the Roy Keane fan club Im not entitled to support Ireland??

I dont like him. I dont like, I dont like the way he picks when he is worthy to grace the team with his presence. This is not a thread on roy Keane, its a thread on songs.

This is not a thread on roy Keane, its a thread on songs.
    Yes and songs of support not derision. Whatever Roy Keane has done in the past should be set to one side when he wears the green jersey. We should be singing songs in support of the team that Brian Kerr picks, either support the whole team or protest in silence. Hence the term "supporter".

Of course you have the right to hold whatever view you wish on R keane but an important away match is not the place to express such opinions.

Lets all sing united for at least 90 minutes and help our team get 3 points.

Ok, its not just me starting some mass movement against Roy Keane. I support ireland whole heartedly and give my all. I dont agree with him being in the team, nor the disruption he has caused, nor the disgusting things he said about 2gs. But all of that aside, Its a harmless little song, so fair play to Che for singing it outside the Stade du France.

What did he say about 2gs,

I think the point is that songs about Ireland should be supporting the team and not supporting one player over the other. We should be united in our support for the team and the songs we sing express that.

i am all for a bit of craic and songs like we all dream of a team of gary breens is good fun

but calling someone a knacker from cork in a song is not song of support.

I would feel the same about any player it just happens to be roy keane in this case.

Maybe the reason you find it funny is becuase you carry all those views in relation to Roy keane
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    What did he say about 2gs,

I think the point is that songs about Ireland should be supporting the team and not supporting one player over the other. We should be united in our support for the team and the songs we sing express that.

i am all for a bit of craic and songs like we all dream of a team of gary breens is good fun

but calling someone a knacker from cork in a song is not song of support.

I would feel the same about any player it just happens to be roy keane in this case.

Maybe the reason you find it funny is becuase you carry all those views in relation to Roy keane
    Fair Point.

I don't think that song should be sang at Ireland matches cause it is putting down a member of our team.. Is the point of singing and cheering not to get behind your team and if possible intimidate the other team... Not pick on one of our own...
    He is in the team wether you like it or not.. and He does work hard for the team and I don't think we'd be doing as well as we have been without him...

Have a solution though
    you can sing
    "There's only one Keano"...
    Both sides can sing this one

Likewise booing opposition players does nothing for the support of our team but still we'll have 33,000 (minus a handful) doing it to Pires in September or when the next Rangers lads come along for a kick about in Lansdowne or indeed cheering Christiano Ronaldo for that matter as has happened recently but alot of us still do it

For christ sake - all the fun has been taken out of football - you can't boo, you can't sing a funny song, you can barely scratch yourself these days!

One thing that has been great about Irish fans for years is the tone in which we sing our songs! They are not agressive, they are fun filled and (heaven forbid) we'd even make 'god save the queen' sound not even slightly agressive. It's football, not a night at the opera - give the opposition stick if they cheat, sing funny songs, have a drink, cheer the football - just enjoy yourself and don't cross the line into serious personal abuse.

having heard the Keane song in Paris I am in no doubt as to the context it was sung in. If 30,000 Irish lads are singing (as in Paris) it can give the team nothing but a lift. I'd be more worried about guys who booed and abused an Irish manager at Lansdowne Road than the singers of a song in jest.

rant over

apologies!
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Its as good as any i guess

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    Have a solution though
    you can sing
    "There's only one Keano"...
    Both sides can sing this one
    excellent, an Irish solution to an Irish problem

how about..
    to the tune of one road

We're on the one road,
    sharing the one load
    We're on the road to Germany
    We're on the one road, it may be long road
    but were wining all the way..
    Duffer, Keano, Given and all!
    Dublin, Galway, Cork or Donegal!
    We're on the one road, singing along, singin' Irelands song

Waiting for the complaints about it being a republican song
    but I think it has a good tune to it, could be worded better but I'm no Phil Coulter

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast