Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Murphy has go at Cork City supporters

Tactics

Shels played 451 yesterday and since they've got a more experienced midfield than us to try and go through them would have been futile. The long ball is often necessary when a team comes and tries to clog up the midfield. Against Set Peice Ath. we didn't rely on the long ball because they played a more open game and used the wings to attack.
    We're not like the European Super Clubs who have the luxury of a squad rotation system. When you have a team of what you consider to be the best players for your tactics you need them to be able to play a different type of game when the need arises.
    You can have from plan A all the way down to plan Z but they're worth nothing if you don't have the players.

I do think that Liam should avoid the press though.

Re: Tactics

Originally posted by Peadar
    I do think that Liam should avoid the press though.
    IMHO avoiding issues gets nothing done, in gfootball or in life. It is beter to have things out in the open and up for discussion rather than creating the impression of a behind-closed-doors, secret society-type secnario.

Re: Re: Tactics

Originally posted by joe
    It is beter to have things out in the open and up for discussion rather than creating the impression of a behind-closed-doors, secret society-type secnario.
    That's not what I meant, I just think that the club should have someone more equipped to deal with the press answering questions and giving statements.
    When a manager is annoyed after losing a game it's the worst time to speak to the press.

Re: Re: Re: Tactics

That's not what I meant, I just think that the club should have someone more equipped to deal with the press answering questions and giving statements.
    When a manager is annoyed after losing a game it's the worst time to speak to the press.
    fair enough, but it looks like everyone in the club is running for cover these days

Re: Re: Re: Murphy has go at Cork City supporters

If we had one quality player with experience next to O'Grady in the centre of the park we could have very different results. The inexperience of CP is telling in the amount of times he gets caught offside. ...................................
    Except now it's the home side who are intimidated not the visitors. It's embarrassing.
    agree with you 100% Peadar. BUT:
    Did flanagan and herrick not have experience?! Who sold them? Ans: Liam Murphy.
    Why is CP playing so much if he makes so many mistakes? Who has O'Flynn and Welch down in th u-21's? Ans: Liam Murphy.

He has to start taking some of the blame for this!

Re: Re: Re: Tactics

I just think that the club should have someone more equipped to deal with the press answering questions and giving statements.
    we did wasnt that the role of Greg Cantillon...and who got rid of him..the board..

This club is a fcuking mess
    life is random

If a manager in Italy or Spain came out with the likes of that, he'd have his car stoned or worse. Liam murphy is a very lucky man that he's at a club whose fans have put up with so much crap without losing it completely. There are very few fans in the world who would put up with this. WE pay his wages, whether he likes it or not- without us there would be no Cork City and he should bare that in mind the next time he wants to go abusing people like that.
    Also, he could have some balls and go to a supporters club meeting to face (some of) these critics instead of mouthing off in the press. Or he could even write something in the programme telling us his plans.
    If he could actually convince me that he has plans for City and detail, I mightn't be so hostile.

Also, if he gets sacked he could go work as a liquidator, because he's doing a bloody good job of stripping cork city FC of it's assets: experienced players flogged at knock-down prices, customers/fans isolated and abused to the point of no return.............

AND to think Derek Mountfield got sacked cos someone stabbed him in the back- what a joke

ok lets not turn this into a Dereck MOuntfield crusade Eanna..

irrespective of whatever hapened to DM..gunther is doing a **** poor job..and deserves to go... he's had his chance and he blew it..
    life is random

not gonna turn it into that. just putting things into perspective. i'm on record as saying that the DM issue is history. my only point is that you have to be consistent-why is ok for one manager to get sacked and another not, when there are remarkable similarities in performances results etc.,

It's interesting though that Mountfield was sacked for three bad results (losing to Longford in the Cup, then Rovers and Pats), while Gunther has now lost 3 on the trot (including a loss to Limerick) and scored 1 goal at home since Christmas, aswell as being dumped out of the Cup long ago.

My two bobs worth

Well, Murphy (crybaby), has finally cracked. If he had any confidence in HIMSELF, he would not go shouting about the fans being idiots and knowing nowt about football. If he had any confidence in himself he would apportion some of the balme on himself. He has blamed the fans, the players, every referee in the country and god knows who else for such pish results.

Peadar. While your unwavering support is admirable, I just really think you are wearing rose tinted specs man.

Heres an idea!

[SIZE=4]Peadar for CCFC Press Officer![/SIZE]
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

And another thing.

He is damn lucky that the City supporters arent scum. Just look at what Pete Mahon had to go through with Bohs while they were having their rough patch. He is getting away with it lightly as there are no 'real' personal vendettas in this situation.

MURPHY OUT!!!!!

murphy was wrong. full stop. however he's new in the job so he will make mistakes now and again. no need to go on and on and on about it.

Originally posted by goalside
    murphy was wrong. full stop. however he's new in the job so he will make mistakes now and again. no need to go on and on and on about it.
    he's new in his job.. what the fook are you smoking goalside..them an has been manager for over a year and was Assistant manager for years before that to dave barry..

hell if i was in my job for a year and working as poorly as he was .. i know for a fact i'd be fired....and you certainly wouldnt hear people say ahh sure he's got his degree and whatever qualifications so he must be doing good..

,murphy has a UEFA coaching badge and thats doing him fcuk all good cause he's making the same shagging mistakes over and over again...

when is the penny oging to drop with you muppets

he's in a new job tempted to move htis whole sorry mess into the humour section..cause everyone outside cork city must be getting a right old laugh at the debacle we're in ...

its a case of the blind leading the blind..with some of you lot of murphy fans...maybe thats the problem
    life is random

there you go again attcacking murphy. its time to stop and give the man a break. he is new to the job so give him time to settle in

Idiot

Originally posted by Éanna
    If a manager in Italy or Spain came out with the likes of that, he'd have his car stoned or worse.
    You really are an idiot Eanna.
    To think I actually defended you on occasion.
    You should be left in Germany for life, out of harms way.

522 Posts
    there you go again attcacking murphy. its time to stop and give the man a break. he is new to the job so give him time to settle in

How long exactly does he need to "settle in" goalside? Put a date on it please, I'm fascinated.

Re: Idiot

There is no need for that kind of an attack. I'd expect more out of you Peadar. You did after all say earlier in this post:

"I'd be stooping to your level of crassness if like you I composed my postings using course language. If you can't relpy in a civil manner don't expect me to contribute any further to this discussion."

You're defence of the Cork City FC clique knows no bounds.

alright lads settle down ok..
    I know both of ye and its obvious to me that both of ye love the club, as we all do here, so lets leave it at that..

its very easy to get caught up argueing with other supporters who have differing views.. but we should be united in supporting Cork City Football Club at the moment, and supporting whats good for Cork City Football Club..

so I call on everyone .. to unite behind the Murphy Out campagin and save our club..
    life is random

Re: Idiot

Why did you call him an idiot and not me. i said something similar. And what he said was right, but i cant, for a second, see that he, or anyone else would actually do such a scummy act. Point was, [SIZE=4]IF[/SIZE] A spanish manager said something like that, something bad would probably happen.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast