Thread: Dolan/Bohemiens

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Is Dolan involved with Limerick?
    No, but AFAIK he is friendly with Danny Drew (Limerick chairman).
    As for Bohs, I'd be surprised at Dolan if he went to a Dublin club given what he's been saying about the "Dublin bias" etc for the last 2 years. Farrelly needs to be given time- Bohs are in debt and have a fairly poor squad, I think they'll struggle this season. They probably have the strongest midfield in the league (when fit) but they're toothless up front and their central defence looked brutal (Aggrey is TERRIBLE!) IMO, bohs will be lucky to finish in the top half of the table this season- no manager can change that

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    As for Bohs, I'd be surprised at Dolan if he went to a Dublin club given what he's been saying about the "Dublin bias" etc for the last 2 years.
    Dolan will say whatever it is he thinks people want to hear. Like while still Cork manager while in Inchicore didn't Dolan say to the Pats fans something like "Cork is just a job, this is my club". Dolan would crawl to Dublin for the chance to manage Bohs.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Like while still Cork manager while in Inchicore didn't Dolan say to the Pats fans something like "Cork is just a job, this is my club".
    true. I'd forgotten that.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Dolan will say whatever it is he thinks people want to hear. Like while still Cork manager while in Inchicore didn't Dolan say to the Pats fans something like "Cork is just a job, this is my club".

If you believe that you'll believe anything.

You shouldn't listen to lies told by bitter and jealous St. Pats fans.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm

If you believe that you'll believe anything.

You shouldn't listen to lies told by bitter and jealous St. Pats fans.
    so he definitely didn't say it? I'd heard from a number of Pats fans that he did- its no big deal really, the guy is entitled to have those feelings for St Pats. He's a passionate football man, of course he's going to love a club that he put so much into.

Of course he didn't say it. I've been assured of that.

Of course he still has feelings for Pats but he didn't say that, you should know better than to listen to that particular group of Pats fans.
    Champions!

By who?

Of course he still has feelings for Pats but he didn't say that, you should know better than to listen to that particular group of Pats fans.
    Fair enough, but its hard to ignore something when you hear it from several different sources, most of which are reliable. You know the guy well and talk to him regularly, so I'll take your word for it

Talking

If Dolan went to Bohs he'd be more likely to take city supporters to Dalymount than players.

By who, your mikman, postman ??

particular group eh... round em up and hang em at dawn I say

Dolan would definitely go to Bohs given the chance. As for taking players from Cork: I just can't see them wanting to leave league contenders for a struggling team at the moment. Bohs have a good name and a credible reputation as one of the eL's finest teams but those will only hold them afloat for awhile. That's not to say they'll be relegated, far from it, but if they don't get their act together soon no player from the top 2 or 3 teams will put pen to paper for them.

starting to think bohs may have to do a st pats over the next few years and get their house in order before they think bout challenging for honours again...

also wonder are the bohs board starting to wonder bout their decision to sack, imo one of the best managers in the league(stephen kenny) and appoint an unconvincing player as his replacement
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Ah sorry, I just thought the way skitz was saying things Dolan was involved there. One difference in the Mahon/Farrelly situations is though that Mahon took over when Bohs were doing well and they had expectations whereas they only had an average season last season and they are in a poor financial state.
    Mahon had control of what in my opinion was the best professional squad that I have seen in Irish football, and failed spectacularly.

Stephen Kenny unfortunately broke up the team and replaced key players with poorer ones, and Bohs are paying the price now after losing key players in Glen Crowe and Simon Webb, and not replacing the likes of Hawkins and Ryan, who although weren't exactly great players were still regulars.

There were three people involved in that incident - Dolan and two Pats fans, Danny (who posts here the odd time I think) and Supernintendo Kev. I've heard Danny and Kev's versions of events and they concur. You've heard Dolan's. His is different from theirs.

Dolan knows that Danny and Kev were involved in the successful Dolan Out campaign a few years back. Wouldn't be hard to, as none of us wore balaclavas at the time. So let's just say they wouldn't all have been catching up on each others' news.

An element of mutual antagonism and mutual wind-up was undoubtedly involved. But knowing the two lads, I've no doubt the incident happened as they described.

As regards us being bitter, why would we be? We wanted him out, so if anything, we were triumphalist at the time. Now though, he's just the bloke who preceeded the manager before the current Pats manager, he brought a (as in singular) league trophy and some good times but he also brought us to the financial position from which we're still trying to recover.

It seems to be part of Dolan's psyche to lurk like the ghost of Xmas past around clubs from which he's been despatched. Since getting the bullet from Cork, he's had that sad farewell do, gone to friendlies, been up to Harps to see them, etc etc. The appointment of Bernard O'Byrne as CEO firmly shuts the door on him returning to Pats in the near future so I'd imagine Cork fans will be seeing even more of him in the weeks to come.

Personally, I think he'd be best off sticking to TV punditry where his natural passion and enthusiasm for the league can shine through and his hyperbole isn't that out of place.

As a manager, I don't think his record amounts to that much - a league win which was got at a horrendous financial price, "Director of Football" when Buckley lead us to the two-in-a-row, conveniently not responsible for the football when he needed rid of Buckley, a possible league win thrown away cos he didn't have the gumption to keep his head down and his mouth shut when the registration fiasco happened. In between times, a few mid-table finishes and a brush with the play-offs.

If I was chairman of any league club, he'd actually be the last person I'd appoint as manager. His track record shows he's a bit too fond of large, expensive squads of less-than-effective players. The only ones who could afford him at the moment are Shels (and possibly Drogs) and they've already got the best proven manager in the league. Cork have the next best squad and I reckon they'll do better under Rico than they would've under Dolan.
    Revenge for 2002

well rico has them unbeaten so far. Last season and the season before cork were very poor starters. Rico is a flair manager and dont forget when he was at rovers they were strong favourites against dundalk three years ago in the cup semi and lost! he is a born winner and I really think that cork city can get their overdue title win!

Surely Bohs can't afford to get rid of GF, and have to pay him off for the next 2(3 ?) seasons....

Just tell him he's not manager anymore and keep him as a player. No bother, and he'd surely be a decent enough footballer for them.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Surely Bohs can't afford to get rid of GF, and have to pay him off for the next 2(3 ?) seasons....
    Bohs would want to cop themselves on. They're utterly deluded. They had 2 or 3 good season with reasonable success and they were swaggering around as though they were european champions. Their fans are notoriously impatient anyway, no surprise to see Farrelly under pressure already Still, if they want to give him the boot and bankrupt themselves, I'm sure we could offer him a spot on the subs bench

Wonderful advice there. We'll have the stadium announcer read it out on Friday. Eanna from Cork sez will yiz ever cop on!. That'll sort us out.
    I think this Bohs fan impatience line is becoming a bit thin. Are we the only crew that give our players and managers ear ache? Does that never, ever happen in Cork?
    As for Dolan, he's a good manager and was unlucky not to lift the league again last year. I don't accept all that my-heart-is-in -Inchicore/Cork baloney: he's a hired gun and he'd at least not be a disaster. But there may be too much water under the bridge for core Bohs support to accept him. That said, Rovers have Roddy and half our current team are hoop sabateurs!

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    I think this Bohs fan impatience line is becoming a bit thin. Are we the only crew that give our players and managers ear ache? Does that never, ever happen in Cork?
    It happens at all clubs, but Bohs fans seem to get on managers/players backs much quicker than any other club in the country. All I'm saying is that Bohs enjoyed 2/3 good seasons in the last decade or so, and have now got financial problems, so expecting brilliant results (as Bohs fans evidently do, judging by the posts on their message board) is out of the question.